The thousands killed were bad people

Mush is an angel , …

AND , MUST ENJOY THE PAST
YOUR OWN WORDS
EMERGENCY IMPOSED IN PAKISTAN

Re: Musharraf’s treason trial

Part X: “Emergency Provisions” ??

EDIT: This was introduced in 2010?

Actually he “suspended the constitution” in 2007, that means that constitution did not have provision for emergency, correct?y

Same in 1999 constitution was suspended. So the trial should’ve been for both regardless there was modification forced later or not, whether coup was okayed by courts later or not… 1999 was still a coup.

Re: Musharraf's treason trial

Wait... on one hand you are saying CJ declared NRO null and void so how did Zardari benefit from NRO?

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/12/30/world/asia/defiant-pakistani-ex-leader-denounces-treason-trial.html?_r=0

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan — With the opening of a treason trial looming over him this week, the former Pakistani military ruler Pervez Musharraf struck a defiant tone on Sunday, calling the case the worst kind of “political vendetta” and claiming that the country’s powerful military establishment was upset by his treatment.

In a rare interaction with reporters representing foreign news outlets, Mr. Musharraf spoke with a seeming confidence that belied a barrage of legal charges and harsh criticism in the press against him since his return from exile abroad in March.

In those early days, he presented himself as a potential savior for Pakistan’s political woes. But in the months since his return, as his political hopes imploded and as the new government of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, whom he deposed in a 1999 coup, began exploring charges against him, he has instead become a kind of public indicator of how much the country — and, perhaps, the military — might have changed since his time in power.

On Sunday, he insisted that he had been treated unfairly and suggested that the military was on edge over his fate, despite silence from Pakistan’s generals over the past few months.

“After having done so much for the development and welfare of the people, is this what I deserve?” Mr. Musharraf asked in a session with reporters in the dining room of his farmhouse villa on the outskirts of Islamabad.

“I would say the whole army is upset,” he said. “I have led this army from the front — I am not a study-table type of an army chief. The feedback that I have received is that the whole army, they are worried, and they are totally with me, I think, on this issue.”

He added, “Certainly, they wouldn’t like anything happening to their ex-army chief.”

However, he stopped short of commenting on what the new army chief, Gen. Raheel Sharif, might think of the treason prosecution. Mr. Musharraf described General Sharif as a “straight dealer,” and said, “I hold him in high esteem.”

Much of his ire was directed against Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, the recently retired head of Pakistan’s judiciary, whom he described as “an activist chief justice.”

It was Mr. Musharraf’s move as president in 2007 to fire Justice Chaudhry, whom he had promoted to chief justice two years before, that ignited an opposition movement that eventually forced the former general out of power.

Mr. Musharraf said he felt betrayed by his political allies, many of whom owed their fortunes and their positions to his patronage. But he insisted that he did not consider the United States, who once called him a premier ally in fighting terrorism, to be among the ranks of those who had abandoned him.

“I have tremendous support there,” he said. “I have been to United States for my lectures, all over United States. I have been on the Hill also, to the Senate and the congressmen. There is tremendous amount of appreciation of whatever I did in the region, fighting extremism and terrorism. They have not let me down.”

He added, though, that he did not expect the United States to be offering him any kind of public support in his legal troubles. “In the background, maybe on their own, they are maybe doing something,” he said, “but I am not involved in that.”

Mr. Musharraf, who during his stretch in power was fond of emphasizing his credentials as a swashbuckling commando leader, said that nowadays, he felt confined and restless in his home. He has spent much of the past months under house arrest, and is surrounded by guards to protect him from assassination.

It was a such a potential security risk that put off the treason proceedings against him until the new year, after bomb materials and handguns were found along his convoy’s route to the capital for a planned court appearance on Tuesday.

He described his farmhouse villa, a four-bedroom home on five acres of land, as just “a little better than an average house.” It is comfortably, if not lavishly, appointed, and decorated in a mostly marshal theme, including commemorative swords.

Mostly, he expressed a longing to be able to leave it more freely.

“I want to be a free man, to go and come back as I please,” he said. “What is the charge against me? I have not been convicted of anything.”

A circuitous road out of Islamabad leads to Mr. Musharraf’s residence, which is ringed by three security checkpoints. A retired colonel oversees his security, with paramilitary ranger troops positioned alongside the boundary walls and private commandos within the house.

Mr. Musharraf insisted that he was not deterred by the legal challenges against him — not even the impending treason case, which is based on accusations that he subverted the Constitution by firing Justice Chaudhry and imposing emergency rule during that crisis, and could carry the death penalty if he is convicted. But he acknowledged, “I am passing through an important, critical stage.”

In the interview, he defended his time in office, saying that even though his political allies pushed him toward actions that ended up mistakes, he stood on his record of fighting terrorism and militancy by Al Qaeda and the Pakistani Taliban.

He reserved special criticism for Justice Chaudhry and Prime Minister Sharif. And he took pains to insist that he would never cut a deal with Mr. Sharif merely to spare himself the pain of legal proceedings.

In that matter, however, the prime minister would seem to hold the cards. The special court proceedings on the treason charge against Mr. Musharraf are to resume on Wednesday.

Brother, I did explain that in my last post (not in detail, as I believed all know the details). Anyhow, as you asked, than please read carefully:

NRO was not blanket ordinance to withdraw all cases on politicians and bureaucrats. According to NRO, if sitting government (or panel of government lawyers for the purpose) would consider that a case was politically motivated and is going on for years than government can withdraw the case. On this ground, anyone who considered that their case was politically motivated and running for years, could have asked for review of their case. Many such cases were withdrawn. Zardari Switzerland case was also withdrawn by government, declaring that case as politically motivated.

Then Iftikhar jumped in and declared NRO null and void from day one. SC told government that only parliament can pass such law, and if government wants NRO to be valid than they should get NRO presented in parliament and get it passed from parliament. SC also gave a time period to the government for the purpose. I think date given by SC to government for presenting NRO in parliament and getting it approved (by simple majority), was early Nov 2009.

Government did not presented NRO in Parliament as they had no support from MQM for the purpose. At the time, without MQM support, PPP was minority in Parliament. MQM was not in agreement with NRO and had opinion that all cases should be cleared through court in proper manner. You can say that NRO did not become law because of MQM opposition. Once time period given by SC passed, all withdrawn cases got restored.

As for Zardari case in Switzerland, it was withdrawn by Pakistan due to NRO. Iftikhar wanted to restore Swiss case, but was unable to do anything other than request government to write letter to Swiss authority asking them to restore the case.

Government of Pakistan told SC that they would not write letter, and SC told government that not writing letter would be ‘tauheen-e-Adaalat’ (contempt of court). Pakistan government told SC that to ‘go to hell’. In process, Prime Minister Gillani lost his job.

In Swiss law there was time limit to restore case. Pak government kept delaying until time limit passed. After that, government sent a vague letter to Swiss authority and succeeded in not getting case restored.

That is why I wrote that … Zardari benefitted from NRO as initially his case was withdrawn due to NRO.

But I also wrote that (in the end) Zardari did not benefit from NRO ... as SC made NRO null and void, so as far as Pakistan was concerned, Zardari case got restored (and should have got restored in Switzerland also).

Zardari benefitted because corrupt PPP government did not pursue the case, against SC ruling. For that, PPP sacrificed their PM on 'contempt of court' charge, but they did not budged.

just hang him.. will you.. CJP! i say don't even give him a trial.. summary execution will do.. just like he ordered kids to be shot without trial blind-folded and shot by firing squads..

If you mean, kids of two terrorist dens (Lal-Building and Madrasa), then you should know that they were armed terrorists and waged war against the state, Pakistan police, Pakistani citizens, Pakistan armed forces, and even foreigners who were visitors under the protection of Pakistan (as all legal visitors ... not one who entered illegally like A-Q, are guest of state and are under protection of state).

Who ever wages war against state, state uses force to bring them down and in process kill many too, and that is what Pakistan did with terrorists of two terrorist dens.

**brand new by the Traitor
**[RIGHT]
سابق صدر پرویز مشرف نے کہا ہے کہ وہ یہ بات فوج کے سربراہ پر چھوڑتے ہیں کہ غداری کے مقدمے میں ان کیلئے کیا کرتے ہیں، ان کا کہنا تھا کہ انہیں پھنسایا جا رہا ہے، فوج ان کی آخری امید نہیں، عوام ان کا دور آج بھی یاد کرتے ہیں، امید ہےعدالت انصاف کرے گی۔[/RIGHT]
https://fbexternal-a.akamaihd.net/safe_image.php?d=AQCYel8SsnzHG3RN&w=398&h=208&url=https%3A%2F%2Ffbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net%2Fhphotos-ak-prn2%2F1499431_663769093645566_310189638_n.jpg&cfs=1&upscale&sx=0&sy=37&sw=720&sh=376[RIGHT]آرمی چیف پر چھوڑتا ہوں کہ میرے لئے کیا کرتے ہیں، پرویز مشرف | SAMAA TV[/RIGHT]

[RIGHT]سابق صدر پرویز مشرف نے کہا ہے کہ وہ یہ بات فوج کے سربراہ پر چھوڑتے ہیں کہ غداری کے مقدمے میں ان کیلئے کیا کرتے ہیں، ان کا کہنا تھا کہ انہیں پھنسایا جا رہا ہے، فوج ان کی آخری امید نہیں، عوام ان کا دور آج بھی یاد کرتے ہیں، امید ہےعدالت انصاف کرے گی۔[/RIGHT]](http://www.samaa.tv/urdu/urdu-news-12-30-2013-27252-1.html)

Another says

**[TABLE=“width: 680”]

Musharraf to leave Pakistan even if convicted: Rasheed

http://www.samaa.tv/NewsPictures/20131230211952_samaa_tv.jpg

Monday, December 30, 2013 9:18:47 PM
Staff Report ISLAMABAD: Awami Muslim League (AML) head Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed said that former President General (retd.) Pervez Musharraf would leave the country even if he was convicted by treason tribunal. Speaking in SAMAA’s current affairs program, “Nadeem Malik Live” here, Sheikh Rasheed said that China, Saudi Arabia, UAE and USA want Musharraf’s safe departure from Pakistan. He said that conviction or no conviction, Musharraf would ultimately fly out of Pakistan. “If he (Musharraf) has committed anything wrong, it was his 12 Oct 1999 step, which was also validated by corps commanders…

** Brave Billawal says

**[TABLE=“class: mGrid, width: 0”]

[TABLE=“width: 680”]
[TR]
[TD][TABLE=“width: 680”]
[TR]

[/TR]

[TABLE=“width: 680”]
[TR]
Musharraf’s defence in treason case is also treason: Bilawal

[TD=“width: 150, align: center”]

http://www.samaa.tv/NewsPictures/20131230155455_samaa_tv.jpg

پرویز مشرف کی فوج کو استعمال کرنیکی کوشش قابل مذمت ہے، بلاول بھٹو زرداری | SAMAA TV](http://www.samaa.tv/urdu/urdu-news-12-30-2013-27239-1.html)

Monday, December 30, 2013 3:49:15 PM
Staff Report KARACHI: Patron-in-chief of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, says defending former president Pervez Musharraf in treason case is also a ‘treason’, SAMAA reported Monday. Bilawal wrote a message on a social media website: “Musharraf’s defence in the treason case is also treason. Attempts to incite armed forces to come to his aide is desperate & disgusting.” Musharraf on Sunday said that all-powerful military was upset for his trial under treason charges, claiming that army is backing him. The former army chief, who is chief of his party – All Pakistan…

[/TD]
[/TR]

[/TD]
[/TR]

hey did anyone notice .. mushy is really turning UGLY... that is the curse of Allah.. may he burn in Hell for his crimes against muslims. Ameen.

and no wonder all his supporters are ALSO world reknowned UGLY people like Bhai in London.. no "entity" exists that can be UGLIER than that...

He will back soon or later and he is gonna no where AP sahib. Abhi tou moong pakna bhi shuru nahi hui phir ye kesa izterab!! ^_^

AP sahab, aap atna chahak rahay ho, kuch samajh nahi aata.:smiley:

Everyone know that Jiyalas love traitors (that is the perception), so is that the reason you want to call Musharraf traitor? :hoonh:

You should know that your ‘Pir Shaheed‘ Z A Bhutto was not only murderer, but many in Pakistan consider him traitor, architect of breaking Pakistan, and worse is that some even considered that he was non-Muslim, possibly Hindu (because his mother was Hindu converted to Islam), as after he got killed by hanging, doctors stripped him and checked if he was circumcised or not to verify his religious background (It is unbelievable but that is what is there in many reports).

All male children of Bhutto (Murtaza and Shahnawaz) were declared terrorists and traitors. Even BB was considered as security risk (and potentially traitor). Many consider that Zardari is not only thief, but he is traitor too. Who knows, today you are showing so much pleasure in calling Musharraf traitor, but tomorrow Bilawal may get hanged too on charges of being traitor. So, be careful. :slight_smile:

^ I prefer the word of Watan Faroosh for Ppp founder ^ - ^

Have you seen the burka mullah? Btw, lets stay on topic which is Mushy's trial and not his looks.

I don't think military would ever let their ex-chief get hurt in any way.

^^^ Mushy is trying to drag military in to rescue him. He should know better & I hope army stays out of it. Btw, I think Pakistan has change...military coups are things of past (or at least I hope that is the case).

And bloody civilians ,
They shall continue facing end like Liaqat to BB

They are very proud people. Even in this interview, Mush says something to the effect that he is not an average Pakistani but much wiser and patriotic than a common Pakistani.

[TABLE=“class: ts”]

[https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS9VJkbUvOtxVjpfw2j4aKLit5OJoNfOG0vzDTFjWmfZf5xT1AGB5CLcGePgz_meytQXd_C1CF5

Emirates 24/7](President leaves for Pakistan - News - Government - Emirates24|7)

UAE President meets Pakistan Prime Ministergulfnews.com-1 hour ago
Upon his arrival to Rahim Yar Khan, Shaikh Khalifa was received by Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif, Chief Minister of Punjab, and other senior

People say , Visiting for Mush’s help

I believe Musharraf has been successful in creating pressure on Sharif government (Army & Middle Eastern government angle).

I am certain nothing would come out of this case.