Re: Musharraf summoned before SC
I'd read some where, not sure where, that according to the constitution of Pakistan, the president cannot be summoned in the court. Is that true? I need some authentic correction, not just a wild guess.
Technically President is supposed to have immunity from prosecution for his decisions while in power. But you have to remember most don't even consider him to be a legitimate ex-President and still see him as having been a dictator who forced himself upon the nation as a COAS and President at the same time until maybe the last year or so of his tenure before he was forced to resign.
So it becomes a little mirky
C.J. is himself there.What for his actions as a PCO judge.
** GEO Pakistan**** Musharraf seeks experts’ advice following SC notice** Updated at: 2116 PST, Wednesday, July 22, 2009
ISLAMABAD: Former president General (Retd.) Pervez Musharraf contacted lawyers to seek their expert advice following a notice served on him by the Supreme Court of Pakistan.
Pervez Musharraf held consultations with senior lawman Syed Sharifuddin Pirzada and former attorney general of Pakistan Malik Muhammad Qayum in which various aspects of the case being heard by a four-member bench of the Supreme Court came under review.
Malik Muhammad Qayum told Geo News that Pervez Musharraf sought legal advice from him.
Just now after landing at London** Nawaz $hareef** asked S.C. to take action against all the supporters and helpers of Pervez Musharraf.
N$ is quite right, I agree with him. Can we ask S.C. to take same action against the team of Zia
I think Aslam beg was summoned once so it's not unheard off..but i very much doubt if the army establishment will be pleased with one of their own being summoned by anyone let alone a judge
lol nice step taken by govt to make people mind think about Musharaf now.. everybody here as I have read forget Zardari and current miserable situation in Pakistan. Now I know people will comment he was the source.. Fine what after him? Anything got BETTER than before?
babu ji zara dheeray... one baby step at a time. First Musharraf, then his actions including NRO.... once NRO comes under the judiciary hammer Zardari will find himself in hot-waters ;)
i would say bring the bold bragging bas???d in front of the judges and give him what he deserves ...
babu ji zara dheeray... one baby step at a time. First Musharraf, then his actions including NRO.... once NRO comes under the judiciary hammer Zardari will find himself in hot-waters ;)
I dont think so :D
Zardari will use ever green formula.. Fleeing away from country that every President / PM of Pakistan do.
Its funny how certain people who first used to say the CJ will never come back, and then how Musharraf wont ever be summoned are sadly missing from this thread ![]()
p.s. the retarded General is now trying to contact attarni general malak qayuuuum and shareef-ud-din pirzada, his two loyal chamchaz for legal advice. Oh my how the tides have turned. Last night’s Capital Talk featuring Aitezaz Ahsan and Javed Hashmi discussing this issue was indeed a treat to watch.
No there is one braveman there. Now I salute to him. At least he has courage to stay . Musharraf was not fair but this man stands with him.
This is another braveman
Why not try Musharaf on NOv 1999 coup for Article 6? Its just like some one kidnaps a person and kills him and the court is trying him on kidnapping? Original coup was a greater crime.. but wait few justices of the supreme court would have to be tried as they gave indemnity to 1999 coup!!! Its just a selective justice...
I heard Attorney General has refused to take part in this case, and will not be defending Musharraf.
Why not try Musharaf on NOv 1999 coup for Article 6? Its just like some one kidnaps a person and kills him and the court is trying him on kidnapping? Original coup was a greater crime.. but wait few justices of the supreme court would have to be tried as they gave indemnity to 1999 coup!!! Its just a selective justice...
Nov 1999 coup was legalised by 2002 parliament through 17th ammendment. Nov 16th 2007 actions are not endorsed by the parliament, thus in a court of law the ex dictator can be held accountable and punished according to the law of the country. Article 6 can also be invoked if present government takes the matter to the court. This however is unlikely as the present regime was put in to power by a solid understanding with the illegal dictator that they will protect him.
It is however not clear if article 6 can be invoked through a suo moto action by the SC or if any ordinary citizen takes the matter to the court...perhaps Shamraz can answer this being a lawyer!!
That was stamp parliament consisting of lotas and t pickers of dictators. These dictators always picked such bikaou persons to ligitimate their illegal rule like Zia did in eighties. I agree with Degas here, crime of kicking democratic government is bigger crime than what he was called by SC. That seems to be personal rather than cummulative national interest.
Reconciliation and not confrontation is the need of the hour.
Unfortunately our society is treating our institutions as "gladiators in a Roman colosseum". And our estupeed leaders from judiciary, executive, and legislature, all are falling on each other to become a better-than-though gladiator.
Our media and discussion forums like this, encourage and enjoy every cut, and every effort of blood-letting by the so-called gladiators.
Sadly very few people want cooler heads to prevail. And the result as usual will be instability.
CJ got thrown out unceremoniously few years back, and that was wrong. However he should have gone easy on suo moto actions.
Supreme court is the last backup institution for stability.
But our CJ is hell bent on making it front and center of the national "Tamasha". Don't we have enough tamasha in the parliament?
Our mosques that were supposed to be center of spirituality have become tamasha centers.
Our intellectuals were supposed to bring stability, and guess what they are running their bloody games on TV and media.
Aren't we sick and tired of bloodletting game in the Northern areas. Isn't it not enough to fill our lust for blood and gore?
CJ should get out the colosseum! pronto! He is no gladiator. He should stay away from daily tamasha as far as possible.
Otherwise our tamash-been, mujra-baaz, murgh-baaz, and londay-baaz spectators will destroy the SC. And CJ will not be able to stem the madness.
Time to learn from the past mistakes. Time to forgive and move on.
We know you're still bitter about the humiliation Zardari got recently at the reinstatement of Iftikhar Chaudhry, BUT we all supported Musharraf back in 1999 and with the one coup per dictator rule, we can forgive him for that one, and I am sure your beloved mohtarma Benazir Bhutto was pretty happy when the coup in 1999 took place, though she had to wait 10 years for some ghaas from Mushy.
Reconciliation and not confrontation is the need of the hour.
Unfortunately our society is treating our institutions as "gladiators in a Roman colosseum". And our estupeed leaders from judiciary, executive, and legislature, all are falling on each other to become a better-than-though gladiator.
Our media and discussion forums like this, encourage and enjoy every cut, and every effort of blood-letting by the so-called gladiators.
Sadly very few people want cooler heads to prevail. And the result as usual will be instability.
CJ got thrown out unceremoniously few years back, and that was wrong. However he should have gone easy on suo moto actions.
Supreme court is the last backup institution for stability.
But our CJ is hell bent on making it front and center of the national "Tamasha". Don't we have enough tamasha in the parliament?
Our mosques that were supposed to be center of spirituality have become tamasha centers.
Our intellectuals were supposed to bring stability, and guess what they are running their bloody games on TV and media.
Aren't we sick and tired of bloodletting game in the Northern areas. Isn't it not enough to fill our lust for blood and gore?
CJ should get out the colosseum! pronto! He is no gladiator. He should stay away from daily tamasha as far as possible.
Otherwise our tamash-been, mujra-baaz, murgh-baaz, and londay-baaz spectators will destroy the SC. And CJ will not be able to stem the madness.
Time to learn from the past mistakes. Time to forgive and move on.
No reconciliation, no NRO. Make an example out of those that break the law and become stooges, commit war crimes.