Musharraf Nephew Detained by U.S. for 16 Days

What were they doing with him for 16 days, learning how to make tandoori chicken? No respect for Pakistanis. Why should they respect a Paki, after all, we are “yes sir gura saheeb, no sir gura saheeb”. Its not like he didn’t tell them who he was, come on now, he is a desi after all, so he must have read them a history lesson about his relation to Musharraf.

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The nephew of Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf was released on Friday by U.S. immigration officials after being held for 16 days for violating his visa.

Aamir Javed Musharraf’s six-month visa was issued in 1994.

Musharraf was detained on Feb. 19 when he went to register at an immigration office in Memphis, Tennessee. He was required to register under an anti-terrorism program that targets male citizens of a number of countries including Pakistan.

“He reported … on Feb. 19 as required by law and he was detained because he had overstayed his visa,” said Bill Strassberger, spokesman for the Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

Musharraf was released on Friday but his case is still being decided. He could be deported back to Pakistan or allowed to stay in the United States.

He was one of about 1,745 foreigners in the United States who were detained after registering under the anti-terrorism program. The length of Musharraf’s detention – 16 days – is about average, Strassberger said.

As of March 4, 122,510 people had registered under the controversial program that has been criticized for unfairly targeting Middle Eastern men.

The program requires the visitors to be fingerprinted and photographed when they enter the United States. Foreign visitors from the targeted countries who were already in the United States were required to register at immigration centers by specific dates.

the link for this story is as follows:

Re: No Respect for PAKI: Musharraf Nephew Detained by U.S. for 16 Days

*Originally posted by KhanAbadosh: *
Its not like he didn't tell them who he was, come on now, he is a desi after all, so he must have read them a history lesson about his relation to Musharraf.

so you're implying he should get special treatment for being the nephew of musharaf. Bachay its USA, not Pakistan.

yaar khanabadosh.....so what if hes mushis nephew...yaar yahi to ghalat concepts hain ham logon k pak mein reh k. Whosoever is not abiding law should be punished..beshak wo khud mushi hi kyoun na ho.
They in britian put Tony Blairs son in lock-up and niece of Bush has come into trouble quite a lot of times in drugs and drinking case etc.
Kuch din pehlr a son of some PM was put in lock up for some crime(shayad japan tha..yaad nahin..if ne1 remembers do tell plz)
so the pt is no one is above law.
Yahi to hamaari mentality hai pakis kii generally k jo bare admi hai ya even us k rishtedaar hai wo law se barh ker hai...kyoun bhai! hota rahe mushi ka nephew if hes done some wrong he should be punished accordingly!
ThaTS wat is law for! Ham pakis Islamic laws and related waqiaat bhool gae hain..isliyee aisii baatein kerte hain!

Right on :k: no one is above the law, I remember Bush’s neice or daughter was arrested for something don’t remember the details… If he has done something wrong he should be locked up…

Reminds me of Saudi prince driving drunk crashed his brand new top of the line BMW downtown London.. When arrested he started shouting don’t you know who I am! I am a Saudi prince… hehehe they dragged him and threw him in the police van and locked him up latter was convicted with heavy fine…

I know musharraf's brother. do you know he got a parking ticket a few months back!!!!!!! oh my god....how can that happen.

sheesh man, laws applyequally and if not they should apply equally.

Any country where no one is above the law is a beautiful nation which is destined to suceed. Justice and equality are more then concepts, they are pilars of democracy, and America shows itself to be the land of justice once again.

What surprises me most in this affair is that the INS FBi and CIA found out about a Musharaf cousin with a visa that expired in 1994! Come on - they don't investigate every relative of every foreign leader ??? Something is seriously wrong if the only way we can find whether people with expired visas left the country ornot is when they show up for either a visa lottery or for such registration! Are we not able to correlate departure records to visa expiry / renewal records? Come on INS I will be glad to take over your database investigation wing for time & expenses. It will cost you a lot less than paying big 4 (or 3)!

Secondly, I assume because the last names are the same, that Gen.Musharraf and this nephiew are paternally related. Now why did the nephew not seek help from uncle before registering to avoid embarassment to uncle! Come on, he knew he had a invalid visa and walked in to register?

Somethings don't add up.

So what is the big surprise!

He is such an idiot as all ****** are

No wonder he had the nerve to walk in to the INS office to register.

He shouldnt have been released...

I know a Saudi Prince that was caught with a hooker in Las Vegas after his drunk ass caused a huge accident. He was never on the news nor was he detained for 16 days.

The point is that I am teaching bay-izaat log something about izaat, and the replies I got so far don’t surprise me. Reputation of Pakistanis is so bad these days that people have stopped clowning Indians and have started to clown Pakis.

16 days, what where they doing with him for 16 days? Can't the trust the family of Musharaaf the one who is HELPING them in the WAR against TERROR? If it wasn’t such a big issue, or him being Musharaafs nephew, then it would be on the news. They wouldn’t have mentioned his relation to Musharaaf. Obviously it was important, obviously someone wanted to show something or prove something.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
I know musharraf's brother. do you know he got a parking ticket a few months back!!!!!!! oh my god....how can that happen.

sheesh man, laws applyequally and if not they should apply equally.

hey man as long as pakistanis rep is better than afghans, pakistanis are doing okay :)

LMAO!! Honestly we have a better rep than Saudis.

Saudis are just bad news.

They did give about $150MM to Pakistan. Why are Saudis bad new then?

Like uncle like nephew…uncle ruling Pakistan illegally, and nephew living in US illegally… :slight_smile: Musharraf, and his family have surely made Pakistan a laughing stock in the world…

**Nephew of Pakistani president arrested
**Tourist visa expired in 1994

WASHINGTON (CNN) – The nephew of Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf was arrested in the United States on February 19 on a charge of having an expired visa, a spokesman for the Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement told CNN.
He was released Friday but could be deported after a hearing before an immigration judge, the spokesman said.
** :hehe:

And who told you Paki rep is better then Afghans?

$5 says Mushy 2 (his nephew) gets to stay on some technicality.

How about a diplomatic passport? I bet Musharaf (uncle) can courier one in 24 hours!

I find this hilarious ppl cannot shed that Pakistani mentality... This is USA here Noelle Bush was not spared and her ass was dragged in court. Here the President of US was about to be impeached for lying. This is a very different world forget about his nephew if it was Mushraaf himself they would have done the same.

BTW what is the penalty for expired visa??? I believe its 6 months and then deportation.

I agree with the poster who said they will let him stay...