Musharraf must draw lessons from ZAB’s fate..."

Ghafoor’s a well respected politician, there has never been any allegation of corruption against him and he was not into using physical force against people if it could be avoided. His warning to Mush should be lsitened too.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_23-6-2003_pg3_5

• JI wants early resumption of govt-opposition talks
  • Some MMA components don’t want any compromise with Musharraf
  • Power rests with Musharraf, not Jamali
  • Musharraf had very good relations with the Taliban
  • It was a wrong decision to join Zia’s cabinet
  • MQM is doing everything to make the city government a failure

Prof Ghafoor Ahmed, naib amir of Jama’at-i-Islami, is a highly respected politician. He was the secretary general of Pakistan National Alliance, the nine-party anti-Zulfikar Ali Bhutto alliance. He was one of the ministers in Ziaul Haq’s cabinet, a decision which he regrets openly today. According to him, he has tried his best to stop Muttahida and its rival Haqiqi from killing each other’s men. His views often conflict with that of Jama’at’s official views. Daily Times’ Karachi resident editor Sarfaraz Ahmed spoke to him on a variety of issues. Following are the excerpts:

Daily Times: Qazi Hussain Ahmed has said the Jama’at would agree to giving General Musharraf one year in uniform if he agreed to its 17-point charter of demands.

Prof Ghafoor Ahmed: This decision has been taken by Jama’at’s Majlis-e-Amal in view of the protracted political crisis in the country. The party is for an immediate end to this crisis. It wants to see an early resumption of talks between government and opposition. As far as the party’s 17 points are concerned, these are very much in the constitutional domain and the president should not make the constitution more controversial.

DT: But who has created the deadlock? The government holds the opposition responsible.

PGA: It’s the other way round. It’s the government’s sheer stubbornness, their disregard for the sanctity of the constitution, democracy and democratic norms. The opposition was told that Prime Minister Zafarullah Khan Jamali would hold talks with the opposition. In the meantime, General Musharraf, [Prime Minister] Jamali and some other ministers made adverse remarks against the opposition. They are not giving the opposition any respect. For the first time in the history of Pakistan the federal budget has been passed in just five days. The opposition was expecting that there would be another round of talks and the treasury and the opposition would also contribute to the budget debate.

DT: Do other MMA components support JI’s charter of demands?

PGA: Some component parties of the alliance have a very rigid stance towards [General] Musharraf. They do not want to give even a single day to him. However, the combined opposition, including the PML-N and the PPPP, has agreed to go by the majority decision.

DT: Don’t you think that a no-confidence motion against the National Assembly Speaker will deepen the crisis?

PGA: I don’t think the motion would aggravate the crisis. Look at what Mr Speaker has done. He has committed an illegal and unconstitutional act. He has made himself highly controversial. He appears to have given his ruling on LFO under some pressure. As far as the no-confidence motion is concerned, it will only send a message across to make the treasury realise the opposition’s strength.

DT: What do you see happening in the near future?

PGA: I have seen a lot of changes in this country. It all depends on [General] Musharraf. How he behaves upon his return from the UK and the US. The power rests with [General] Musharraf, not with [Prime Minister] Jamali, and the opposition has rightly decided that this time it goes into direct talks with [General] Musharraf. Even India seems to be fully aware of this and it has announced that it will hold direct talks with him [General Musharraf]. I’m afraid the crisis will aggravate if he is not serious in resolving it. The people will take to streets.

DT: General Musharraf says the opposition cannot rally people’s support against him. He says the people’s participation in MMA’s rallies on Iraq was ‘something different’, ‘something entirely different’.

PGA: Please do not forget that similar utterances had also been made by Zulfikar Ali Bhutto. He had also under-estimated the opposition’s strength. But what happened once he dissolved the assemblies. His action gave birth to a popular uprising against him. I can’t predict anything, but [General] Musharraf must draw lessons from ZAB’s fate.

DT: Your party has a record of supporting the army. You supported Zia’s referendum, your party was part of the government and you were a minister in Zia’s cabinet…

PGA: That is true, but let me put the record straight. It was not Jama’at’s decision to send ministers to Zia’s cabinet. The decision was taken by the PNA [Pakistan National Alliance]. Yet, it was a wrong decision. I shouldn’t have become a minister in Zia’s cabinet. The decision was the result of protracted, six-month-long talks between the PNA and Zia’s government over the restoration of democracy. Zia said that he wanted to muster the support of the political parties to begin the political process. He was not getting support from the major political forces. He wanted the PNA, particularly the Jama’at, to go along with him so he could restore democracy.

DT: But you also supported Zia’s referendum…

PGA: The Jama’at shura [consultative body] left the decision to the people. It neither supported nor opposed the vote. In fact, Prof. Mehmood Azam Farooqui [also from the Jama’at], who was information minister and I did not vote in the referendum.

DT: How do you look at the government’s efforts to encounter the Al Qaeda threat?

PGA: What is Al Qaeda? Musharraf is doing all this to please US. The US itself is surprised to see so many Al Qaeda suspects being spotted and arrested in Pakistan. In most of these cases, courts have released people for lack of evidence. It was the army that once supported the Taliban. Even [General] Musharraf had very good relations with the Taliban.

DT: How do you look at the current Sindh assembly session where the opposition was censured for creating highly disorderly scenes?

PGA: The government is not in a mood to tolerate the opposition or accept its existence. In fact, it has been more indecent in its behaviour. For example, the senate or upper house of parliament comprises more sober and educated people than people in the provincial assemblies or local councils. But the government has even treated the opposition senators shabbily. They stood up for six long hours in protest in the senate, but the chairman continued to give a contemptuous smile to the members. The PPPP, which is the single largest party in the Sindh province, was denied its right to form the government. The political crisis in Sindh is mainly because of this anomaly.

DT: How is the MQM doing as a key coalition partner in the Sindh government?

PGA: Please put this question to General Musharraf.

DT: Has there been any change in the MQM’s ways of working?

PGA: I believe the new face of the MQM is more violent. Look at the MQM’s role in the case of the by-election to NA-255. The entire state machinery is hell-bent on getting an MQM man elected. From the MQM governor to the entire administration, they are all harassing and intimidating the political opponents.

DT: There has been a perception that you have always had a soft corner for the MQM’s splinter group known as Haqiqi. Is it true?

PGA: I had a soft corner for both the groups. In the early 90s when the two groups were busy killing each other’s activists, I approached them and urged that they should end the vicious cycle of killings. Afaq, the Haqiqi chairman, assured me that he was ready to enter into an agreement with his rival group for the sake of Karachi’s peace. But the Muttahida chief Altaf Husain sent me a message that there could be no conciliation with traitors.

DT: You blame the MQM for destroying Karachi’s peace. What do you say of the Jama’at’s student wing, Islami Jamiat-e-Talaba, which is credited with introducing armed groups such as ‘Thunder Squads’ in the city’s educational institutions?

PGA: The MQM is responsible for the killing of thousands of people. They were killing the people of other parties and groups. Later, they fought among themselves. They are the ones who introduced the Kalashnikov culture in the educational institutions. We never allowed our people to take up arms. The Islami Jamiat-e-Talaba has been here for 50 years. Prior to the MQM and its student wing, the Jamiat had been in a sort of confrontation with some pro-socialist and pro-communist students’ groups. But the two sides used to address issues in a democratic way through negotiations, not through exchange of fire.

Right, JI wants negotiations… :hehe:

These were the same Mullahs Group, who always dislike ZAB(Secular). I’m not surprised why they hate Musharraf(Liberal). There has been less support for Mullahs now as it was used to be in Zia-ul-Haq’s regime. Time files by so fast… :wink:

Time flies by fast and it sure will reveal very amazing things in the future!;)

Re: Musharraf must draw lessons from ZAB’s fate..."

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
We never allowed our people to take up arms. The Islami Jamiat-e-Talaba has been here for 50 years. Prior to the MQM and its student wing, the Jamiat had been in a sort of confrontation with some pro-socialist and pro-communist students’ groups. But the two sides used to address issues in a democratic way through negotiations, not through exchange of fire.

hogwash what the hell is this idiot talking about, Jamiat never took up arms??? anyone who has epent any time in any university in Karachi and most colleges would know how "non violent" jamiat really was. The people beaten, stabbed or killed were not jamiat's work but aliens from mars at work??

Who can forget that poor dow medical med student who was at the wrong place at the wrong time and shot by a jamiat goon at point blank after he was dragged out from under the car he was hiding to save his life?

The pro socialist group this moron is referring to is NSF. I am personally very familiar with the democratic negotiations between the two groups as I have been caught in the cross fire. The gunfights were pretty well kown at dow, karachi U, smc and national college campuses.

If this jackass can lie so openly about his idiotic psycho party's student faction, how else am I expected to believe anything else that this jackass has to say?

I thought jhoot subb burrai ki jarr i.e. lies are the root of all evil should be understood by these so called defenders of the faith? idiots..

Re: Musharraf must draw lessons from ZAB’s fate…"

Oh please Zakk, the guy maybe seen as “respected” by some, but throughout this article he is telling blatant lies and is clearly a hypocrite, and is as poltically expediant as the next politician. Here are some examples:-

The guy supported General Zia’s military coup against against ZAB, the overthrow of the Pakistani constitution and then served as a minister in his COAS-Presidential government. Now this guy is lecturing against the same things in respect to Musharraf. The fact that he “regrets” his actions during the Zia era are just a clear example of political expediancy, nothing more. After all we know that his party supported General Musharraf’s military coup againt Nawaz Sharif in 1999, did they not? Just like they went sour with Zia because he was not “Islamic” enough for them so they turned against him, they are now sore with President Musharraf because he has not aceded to their demands. Simple as that.

Reinforcing my above point, this is another example of his and his party’s political expediancy. Just as I have long argued, the religious parties including the JI would accept the LFO etc practically wholesale if the Musharraf government accepted their 17 point “Islamisation” programme. The fact that they made their 17-point “Islamic” agenda part of the ongoing LFO negotiations exposed to everybody their real political aims i.e. using the constitutional for their own narrow political purposes, and I believe this has greatly strengthened the hand of Musharraf.

Blatant lie. When has anyone ever forced the JI to send ministers to any government?

Another shameless lie. The JI supported Zia referendum campaign, and were cheerleaders in the referendum campaign, but Ghafoor seems to suffer from some timely amnesia.

I’m surprised the correspondent did not ask him about the hypocritical behaviour of the MMA PA members in the Balochistan assembly the other day. As the so-called opposition parties railed against the LFO and walked out of the assembly, the MMA members (allies of the allies of Musharraf there) just sat in their seats (along with the PML Q and allies) smiling. A clear case of double standards and political expediancy. Take a read…

LFO protest puts MMA in awkward situation](http://www.dawn.com/2003/06/21/top4.htm)

I think Fraudia has succintly nailed this lie.

In all a man who is telling blatant lies, peddling falsehoods, whose political expediancy is apparent in his contradictory statements, and whose hypocrisy is clear demonstrated by past and quite recent events.

Malik

this hypocitical behavior of these mullahs is no secret. I am glad there are ppl like you here that can refute this new face of MMA on a point by point basis. Liars, hypocrates and power mongers..thats all these idiots are.

Its almost comical when they start lecturing on the ills of society :)

So ZAB was secular and Musharraf is liberal?

Oh and there is no support for Mollahs now? Is that why they head the opposition right now?

Spock

I think they lead the opposition right now because they finally put aside all their differences to unite and go with a single platform and using the war situation to their advantage all in order to get the power they so desparately seek.

Yeppers!

Without Mullahs support, Zia could never toppled ZAB’s Govt. Today, Mullahs has got nearly no support from Mush Regime. Check NWFP Shariah Thread.

Mr. Pir Sahib nailed. :slight_smile:

Listen dude, it has been almost seven months since the elections were held. These elections were held under the LFO and with the Mr. President in uniform. All the parties participated in the elections including Mrs Benazir’s Party PPPP. {Your Fav. Party} :smiley: Their participation shows that they accepted the rules of the game. :wink:

The assemblies were called after 3 years to function; and people of Pakistan were hopeful that all the problems will be sorted out through discussion. Unfortunately, that’s not the case. All this huge cry and blah blah is rubbish. The opposition has now started protests against the agreed circumstances, which they did back before Election 2002. The defeat for opposition is clear as Mr. Ameer Husain, Speaker of National Assembly said so. Hell yeah. Nothing will be acheieved by the actions of Opposition, especially MMA except, disappointment among Pakistanis. :frowning:

Pir Sahib & Malik: Nice feedback. :wink:

PT bhai, you need to be aware of facts before drawing conclusions...

The elections never worked under the LFO, and never will. The speaker before inaugurating the house did so with a copy of the constituition without this LFO crap.

First of all, calling the opposition Mollahs shows bad mentality. There are some very senior leaders in the opposition. You can cry all you want, but the fact of the matter is, they are incharge now. Musharraf made a poor choice when he sidelined PPP in the electoral results, in favor of the MMA and his PML chamchas. Even the best horse trading didnt ensure him a trouble free parliament.

You said without the Mollah's support Zia could never topple ZAB. This just shows how little you know about that era. Its a fact that he did it under the American umbrella, and he himself was assasinated by the Americans themselves.

Nothing will be achieved the oppositions actions? Wait and see brother, go and read what they did to Ayub Khan, Yeh Musharraf kya cheez hai. Like it or not, his future aint that bright son. End me sab gandey ho kar hi jatey hain, and same is the case for him.

Originally posted by Spock: *
**First of all, calling the opposition Mollahs shows bad mentality. *

why? is mullah a bad word? surely we cantcrefer to them as "maulanas" as they like to be called. I think I did clear it up earlier that the usage of the term Maulanas by desi mullahs is a rather lame thing to do since thattitle is reserved for god only.

Nothing will be achieved the oppositions actions? Wait and see brother, go and read what they did to Ayub Khan, **

I would be more interested in learning about whatthey did for Pakistanis and not what they did to other political leaders. sadly their list of accomplishments is pretty blank. I mean aside from ripping posters and doing marches to nishtar park :)

*End me sab gandey ho kar hi jatey hain, and same is the case for him. *

Maybe thats the case, I will be more interested in seeing how much he does for teh country before he goes after being gandaa..but then again atleast by your choice of words you have noted that he is not ganda now. sadly that is not the case with the MMA types. They were hypocrates then and they are hypocrates now.

*Originally posted by Spock: *
PT bhai, you need to be aware of facts before drawing conclusions...

The elections never worked under the LFO, and never will. The speaker before inaugurating the house did so with a copy of the constituition without this LFO crap.

Spock bhai jaan,

Elections were and have always been held under the 73 Constitution of Pakistan. LFO is a part of Constitution. :)

First of all, calling the opposition Mollahs shows bad mentality. There are some very senior leaders in the opposition. You can cry all you want, but the fact of the matter is, they are incharge now.

Easy go fella. Before drawing on conclusions about my mentality, people in Pakistan call either Mullahs or Maulanas. Aik he baat hai. No difference.

Musharraf made a poor choice when he sidelined PPP in the electoral results

Actually, PPPP never wanted a coalition with Musharraf Administration. You should read news papers more often. :)

You said without the Mollah's support Zia could never topple ZAB. This just shows how little you know about that era. Its a fact that he did it under the American umbrella, and he himself was assasinated by the Americans themselves.

LMAO. Spock sahib, do you even know why ZAB declared Friday as a Week holiday? It was 'cause of same Maulanas Group, headed by father of Maulana Fazl-ul-Rahman. Maulanas never liked ZAB. They don't even like Musharraf 'cause of the same reason. And the changes they are trying to bring in NWFP, doesn't shows effective Govt.

Nothing will be achieved the oppositions actions? Wait and see brother, go and read what they did to Ayub Khan, Yeh Musharraf kya cheez hai. Like it or not, his future aint that bright son. End me sab gandey ho kar hi jatey hain, and same is the case for him.

Hmmmm Ayub Khan made a mistake over rigging Referendum. Not a single Pakistani ever believed that Ayub Khan defeated Fatima Jinnah fair and square. Followed by Tashkent Agreement, which was clearly rejected by the people of Pakistan. ZAB took advantage, resigned as Ayub's FM, formed his own political party, PPP.

About Mush's future, we'll see.

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

Spock bhai jaan,

Elections were and have always been held under the 73 Constitution of Pakistan. LFO is a part of Constitution. :)

So LFO was part of the 1973 constituition, BRILLIANT!! Did you even take Pakistan Studies?

Easy go fella. Before drawing on conclusions about my mentality, people in Pakistan call either Mullahs or Maulanas. Aik he baat hai. No difference.

Nopes, mollah is a term used mostly outsiders, in a negative manner.

Actually, PPPP never wanted a coalition with Musharraf Administration. You should read news papers more often. :)

It doesn take an einstien to figure that out, this is why Musharraf hand picked Chaudhry Shujaat and his chamchas.

LMAO. Spock sahib, do you even know why ZAB declared Friday as a Week holiday? It was 'cause of same Maulanas Group, headed by father of Maulana Fazl-ul-Rahman. Maulanas never liked ZAB. They don't even like Musharraf 'cause of the same reason. And the changes they are trying to bring in NWFP, doesn't shows effective Govt.

ZAB did that to please the religious people. Btw, the changes that the NWFP government want, do not show effective GOVT? Well mister, like it or not, the people of the NWFP voted for this government, and you or your uncle musharraf should learn to respect this ELECTED government.

Hmmmm Ayub Khan made a mistake over rigging Referendum. Not a single Pakistani ever believed that Ayub Khan defeated Fatima Jinnah fair and square. Followed by Tashkent Agreement, which was clearly rejected by the people of Pakistan. ZAB took advantage, resigned as Ayub's FM, formed his own political party, PPP.

About Mush's future, we'll see.

Which referundum did Ayub Khan conduct yar? That was a presidential election, not a referundum, get the facts right. And he didnt rig it, he won it fair and square. Didnt musharraf conduct a rigged referundum too???? ?Fatima Jinnah didnt enjoy much support in apart from Sindh anywayz... Besides, if you read my posts clearly, I was not debating Tashkent Agreement etc, I merely said people didnt even spare Ayub, who did so much for the country. If we go by your logic, people are already pissed at Musharraf, for in their eyes they have become pithos of Amreeka, ask any Pakistani... He will suffer a much worse fate.

Originally posted by Fraudz: *
**First of all, calling the opposition Mollahs shows bad mentality. *

why? is mullah a bad word? surely we cantcrefer to them as "maulanas" as they like to be called. I think I did clear it up earlier that the usage of the term Maulanas by desi mullahs is a rather lame thing to do since thattitle is reserved for god only.

Nothing will be achieved the oppositions actions? Wait and see brother, go and read what they did to Ayub Khan, **

I would be more interested in learning about whatthey did for Pakistanis and not what they did to other political leaders. sadly their list of accomplishments is pretty blank. I mean aside from ripping posters and doing marches to nishtar park :)

*End me sab gandey ho kar hi jatey hain, and same is the case for him. *

Maybe thats the case, I will be more interested in seeing how much he does for teh country before he goes after being gandaa..but then again atleast by your choice of words you have noted that he is not ganda now. sadly that is not the case with the MMA types. They were hypocrates then and they are hypocrates now.

Fraudia bhai, Mollah is indeed a deregatory word... We, in Pakistan use it to refer to uneducated religious types. If we go by your logic, even a nice qari would be a mollah. I dont love these people in the opposition, but I certainly respect them, for they are senior politicians and un ki sufaid dhari ka bhi ihteraam hona chahiya.

So LFO was part of the 1973 constituition, BRILLIANT!! Did you even take Pakistan Studies?

LFO is a part of the Constitution, like it or not. ;)

Nopes, mollah is a term used mostly outsiders, in a negative manner.

Wrong. This term has been used openly by the Pakistani Press/Journalists. I told you read news paper more often. Check articles of Sethi and Ayaz. :p Ever heard of Mullah Mohammad Umer? Who gave that name to him? Western Media?

It doesn take an einstien to figure that out, this is why Musharraf hand picked Chaudhry Shujaat and his chamchas.

Now, you totally lost the argument. We weren't even talking about Shujaat :p, nevertheless, ya fav. PPPP under ARD Umberalla. :p

ZAB did that to please the religious people. Btw, the changes that the NWFP government want dont show effective GOVT? Well mister, like it or not, the people of the NWFP voted for this government, and you or your uncle musharraf should learn to respect this ELECTED government.

Yes, yes that's Democracy. You wanted it, you got it. As a Pakistani, I don't have any objection what MMA reforms wants in NWFP but generally, if you look at it, by wearing kurta, pajama and veil won't help common people lives in NWFP.

Which referundum did Ayub Khan conduct yar? That was a presidential election, not a referundum, get the facts right. And he didnt rig it, he won it fair and square. Fatima Jinnah didnt enjoy much support in apart from Sindh anywayz... Besides, if you read my posts clearly, I was not debating Tashkent Agreement etc, I merely said people didnt even spare Ayub, who did so much for the country. If we go by your logic, people are already pissed at Musharraf, for in their eyes they have become pithos of Amreeka, ask any Pakistani... He will suffer a much worse fate.

You don't get it, do ya? The reason why people didn't spare Ayub Khan was 'cause of Tashkment Agreement. Do you even what Tashkent Agreement was? Now, go back and read Pakistan Studies. Yeah, as I said earlier, we'll see what Musharraf's fate gonna be. You can't decide his or my fate but only Allah(SWT)

Now, give me a hell yeah!

PT, I applaud your (non-existent) knowledge... Itni knowledge ke saath tum mod kabhi nahee ban sakte pak affairs ke ;)

LFO was not part of the 1973 constituition...

Tashkent Accord was not the reason Ayub was kicked out. In case you didnt know, people still consider him the hero of 1965. It is said that his speech alone won the 65 war. He was a dynamic personality and a great leader, and still got defamed. People hold him in much higher regards than Musharraf, lekin phir bhi us ka haal sahee nahee hoa. They used to tie dogs to chairs, beat them with jootaz and say 'yeh ayub hai, kursi se nahee utarta'.

In case you didnt know, the Mollah in Mollah Mohammad Omer, is part of his name, not a title given to him by the press. And I am sure this will come as a big surprise, but hes not Pakistani, but Afghani.

You are a big fan of Chaudhry Shujaat, I am not.

Oh, so Im a PPP fan. Now if you loose an argument, do come up with a better come back. I vote for the MMA, not the PPP. But I still consider the PPP to be alot better than Badmaash Chaudhries of Gujrat. These thugz i.e. Benazir and Nawaz know how to fight their way back, the present thugz in power are proven to be corrupt loan defaulters and are hailed by Musharraf as his champions. Pure Lotaz.

So now youre saying the NWFP Government should do whatever they want. Do remember to read some of your previous post, youre contradicting yourself, what can I say.

I need to study Pak Studies?? well, I had an A in Olevel Pak Studies, but lagta hai aap neend Pak Studies ki class me hi puri karte the school ke zamanoon me. Jaag jatey tu shayad aap ki mod banney ki wish pori ho jatti.

Spock,

Don’t tell me who I support or not. LFO is a part of Constituion, like it or not. If the political parties were against LFO, they shouldn’t had participated in the elections. Now, you tell me why did the participate in the General Election when they knew Musharraf ain’t gonna give COAS hat, at least for now?

Hey, look the Senator and I share the common thoughts:

It has been almost more than seven months since the elections were held. These elections were held under the LFO and with the president in uniform. All the parties participated in the elections, and their participation shows that they accepted the rules of the game.

The assemblies were called for to function and the people of Pakistan were hopeful that their problems would be discussed to reach some solutions. Unfortunately, this could not happen as the opposition started protests against the agreed circumstances. The question is, how long will this protest continue?

Now their leaders have tabled a no-confidence motion against the National Assembly speaker while they do form a simple majority in parliament. The defeat of the motion is obvious and nothing will be achieved by this action except that it has created disappointment, uncertainty, and unhappiness among the people of Pakistan.

**MRS TANVIR KHALID

Senator, Islamabad **

Image of Ayub Khan was destroyed by the Tashkent Agreement. Have a read, please

**News of the Tashkent Declaration shocked the people who were expecting something quite different. Things further worsened as Ayub Khan refused to comment and went into seclusion instead of taking the people into confidence over the reasons for signing the agreement. Demonstrations and rioting erupted at various places throughout the country. In order to dispel the anger and misgiving of the people, Ayub Khan decided to lay the matter before the people by addressing the nation on January 14. **

I never questioned Ayub Khan’s patriotism. He had to resigned 'cause he kept people of Pakistan in dark over Tashkent Agreement.

Re: Mullah argument. Why don’t you give a read to the Fathers of Journalism articles, the likes of Sethi and Ayaz?

Also, FYI, I’ve never liked any political party. Their faces are different but they are no different than anyone. I don’t give a sh*t whether you support PPPP or not, whether you trash Musharraf or not. Neither, I ain’t losing an argument with you nor contradicting myself. :stuck_out_tongue: Hail Shariah Bill but does growing a beard will make the difference in the society? No thanks, I can do that without a beard. :slight_smile:

Oh yeah, one more thing. There’s a life outside Pakistan Studies i.e Library or Internet..

P.S- {I never took Pakistan Studies class. So boring}

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
P.S- {I never took Pakistan Studies class. So boring}

Explains alot yar...

Originally posted by Spock: *
Fraudia bhai, Mollah is indeed a deregatory word... We, in Pakistan use it to refer to uneducated religious types. *

because intolerant uneducated religious types used this title for themselves all the time right?

Surely we dont want to call these ppl maulanas? if they are so religious and oh so holy how come they use a title which is not used by anyone but desi religious politician types to refer to themselves.

** I dont love these people in the opposition, but I certainly respect them, for they are senior politicians and un ki sufaid dhari ka bhi ihteraam hona chahiya.

You respect them for what? for looking the other way when their student groups harrassed and attacked and killed other students?..as far as sufaid darrhi ka ihteraam..if they are goign to be liars and decietful people hiding behind their sufaid darrhi they will get no respect from me. and now they claim that there student group never took up violent measures? as I noted before I have seen the gun battles myself, especially at DMC and National College in Karachi, and now this idiot will say that it never happened?

as far as senior politicians gwetting respect, is it reserved for senior politicians of our country or does the respect due to seniority extend to politicians of other countries too? If so, lets pay our respect to Advani and Sharon too ;)

They want to enforce their viewpoint on the population by force because supposedly they feel they are right. How about starting at home and forcing their kids to come back to Pakistan and live that lifestyle.

for looking the other way when their student groups harrassed and attacked and killed other students

I agree that the JI started the use of weapons on campus. In fact the person who fired the first shot is the now acting president of Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) and more recently during Mushs "referendum" in Karachi the IJT shot a Tehrik-e-Insaf student leader after a clash.

But, that's putting the cart before the horse, student politics had been going on for ages, it was Zia ul Haq's Martial law government who encouraged giving weapons out to punish the PPP student actvists. In any case No MMA leader around presently is directly implicated in murder or student violence. Considering many in power now have multiple cases registered against them for everything from murder, corruption to rape your outrage Fraudia seems a bit misdirected?