Musharraf is not a dictator

Thats why a Pakistani citizen has been sent in exile to another “interfering” country. Watch this thread for comments by Musharraf defenders, they will go on and on how Musharraf is not a dictator and they will themselves defend actions like sending a Pakistani citizen on exile. They will forget the first thing (sent to exile) but will keep telling you that ‘he made an accord with Musharraf’ and how he broke promise of another country and how he is “criminal” in that country bla bla bla.

Just few days back Nawaz Sharif was granted right to be back in the country by Supreme court and now that he came back he gets arrested (probably very rightly) but then gets sent to exile yet again. Such actions only make a hero out of an a$$. Musharraf probably knew he won’t be able to prove anything in courts and NS may very likely get out of prison then Musharraf will have to run with tail between his legs so he decided to hide his tail and send Nawaz Sharif to exile … taaliyan :clap:

Re: Musharraf is not a dictator

You summed up pretty well, however, sad thing about this who affair is that 60 years after our independent we still don’t have system of govt to run our country. Pakistan today is run by Three+ mafia. They include generals (the most corrupt group) the landlords, opportunists and outright criminals.

BTW, I have lost all hope for Pakistan, and our future as a nation looks bleaker than ever in our history. Most Pakistanis welcomed Mushrraf’s coup 8 years ago (I was not one of them) to oust NS inept and corrupt govt, today we’re back to the squire one. Another NS (this time in uniform) corrupt and criminal in every sense of the word leading our country down to point of no return. May God help us all…

On one side Iltaf Daako is ruling Sindh. His party workers are free to go & do whatever - attack High Court, burn whatever comes on their way, attack TV stations etc. etc. And Govt/Police doesn't take any action.

On the other side, Punjab including Islamabad was under unofficial marshal law yesterday. Those workers didn't even have any weapons but were arrested. Cell Phones weren't working. All the main roads were blocked -- WHY? were some terrorists visiting yesterday? (or should i say, was Iltaf Hussain going to visit Islamabad?)

That's great! The minority is ruling the country. Shame on the majority!

Nawaz had the choice, stay in Pakistan and fight the charges, but he choose to leave.

and Musharraf was "in-control" of prosecuting him for his crimes, but he chose to let him go.

I don't think he let him go...it was agreed that he will abide by agreement and stay away from politics for certain period of time. The cases were brought up by the courts and wanted to persecute him. He choose to leave and not fight.

:rotfl: look at what extent a defender can go. Bhai mere, look at this from legal perspective, Busharraf threw away Nawaz Sharif’s government on charges of corruption, “trying to kill a COAS” etc. he must prosecute a criminal. This was not a ‘domestic’ (family) issue where he could sign an agreement and play “all is well”. The cases were not “brought up by courts”, the cases were not result of “suo motu” etc.

He broke the exile accord by traveling to the country. He choose to leave the country. I am giving you facts and stop using the word deported. He choose to leave the country.

staying in the jail & facing those charges could actually really help him politically. And he surely wanted to cash it.
we all know that once Mush is gone, those charges will be gone too.

Chalo mian jao...roti/pani dhoondo...leaders tou mil hi jain gein... :D

You people seem to ignore that NS was offered a choice: either be incarcerated in a holding cell and face charges OR leave for KSA. He opted for KSA.

The gvt of P. has not violated his rights or the rulings of the SC.

The Government of Pak. is in a total mess. Did anyone watch Shujaat Hussain make a complete fool of himself on Capital Talk last night. He managed to contradict himself like a 100 times.

I saw the law minister on Newsnight. The NS offer was explaiend clearly. Gavin Essler asked twice, to clarify, and no doubt can be left.

All countries in the world go to great lengths to bring back criminals and punish them for their crimes. Countries have extradition treaties to make sure criminals are punished and do not live the life of luxury in a foreign country.

Not Pakistan.

We give "options" to criminals: go to jail or go live in a palace. Ours is a country that physically deports our own citizen against whom "serious" charges of corruption are levied. Our attorney general comes on national television and says that "Supreme Court ordered to not hinder Nawaz Sharif from "entering" the country but the Supreme Court didn't say we can't put him on the next flight out of the country either". When we have such brilliant logic paraded on national TV by our chief law enforcement officer, we just make sure that when the whole world laughs at us, we really know that we deserve it.

I think the point is not so much that Musharraf is a dictator or not. I believe pretty much everyone knows the answer to that. The chaos that was displayed at Islamabad airport confirmed a government in disarray and a leader who is clutching at the last straws. There is no intent to have any kind of fair elections. The plan is to rule the country by way of "deals". Public can go to hell. Corrupt politicians are acceptable as long as they are willing to "deal". There is no moral high ground left. No one is showing the famous "Pakistan First" mentality. It is "Kursi First". Always was, always will be.

Brother, many Pakistanis are generous towards criminals and thugs. Since most of our politicians are criminals and thugs, Pakistani masses have become 'Kher Andesh' for all those who are criminals and thugs. :)

so Musharraf is Pakistani masses now? good going :k:

Nice, so why do we have the jails for? Why don't we offer some kind of accord to all the dacoits, killers? Why just limit it to political dacoits?

Fine, he escaped the prosecution, by whom? Not a security officer, not thru a tunnel… din dhaaRay sab ke samnay janay diya Busharraf ne, wah kia kehnay iss “awam ke khadim”, “qanoon ke rakhwalay/nafiz karnay walay” ke :k:

I used to like the idea of pakistan under military after the tiring so called democracy... But my thoughts about Mushy have also changed recently...

Is hammam mein sub nungay hain!