Musharraf eyes Political Comeback

Musharraf is eyeing a return to Pakistani Politics and wants to be President again.

I say anything is better than Zardari.

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5iKwNa_0HlihpHsmBrvu82IZdJmfQ

Musharraf weighs up Pakistan presidency bid

(AFP) – 5 hours ago

LONDON — Pakistan’s former military ruler Pervez Musharraf said he thought he had a good chance of winning the next presidential election, in an interview aired Friday.

The ex-president told BBC radio he wanted to help the country regain its self-confidence, saying Pakistan was in a “pathetic” situation.

Though he could not be confident of victory, the former army chief said it was better to try and fail to lift the “darkness” enveloping the nation than to make no effort.

Asked if he was confident of becoming the next president of Pakistan, the retired general replied: "No I can’t be assured, I can’t be confident, but I believe there is a good chance of my winning on the political scene.

"I haven’t decided whether I’m going to be president or anything, but however, winning first of all in the next election is the issue.

"I can’t be sure of that also but as I said, there is a good chance and I believe very strongly that it’s better to try and fail rather than not try and go down without trying, because at this moment we see darkness all over in Pakistan.

“We have to show light, we have to show an alternative or viable alternative where people see light and gain some confidence, because there is total breakdown of self-confidence of the people of Pakistan. They have lost hope in Pakistan. It’s a pathetic situation.”

Musharraf ousted former prime minister Nawaz Sharif in a bloodless coup in 1999. He was president from 2001 and has mostly lived in London since resigning in 2008.

The next presidential elections should be in 2013.

Musharraf was asked about fears that money donated towards flood relief in Pakistan might end up lost in corruption.

“There is corruption in Pakistan, there is no doubt about it, it is heartbreaking how people are not bothered about the country. They have a lot of money and yet they are corrupt,” he said.

"The advice I would like to give is they ought to be careful on who they are giving the money to.

“One thing that I would like to advise when you give your money, a donor or an organisation getting the money, it’s good that they show so many hundred thousand dollars collected but we should ask how much is going to the people?”

Re: Musharraf eyes Political Comeback

Much better then any one at the moment ,,,

MUSHI Saab salam

asalalay kum

Only way Mushrraf gets to run Pakistan again is if army takes over and appoints him as a president.

or he marries a bhutto and she kicks the bucket.

^ lolz

only If America wants him to ...

can he marry zardari

:D lol

good one : D and then zardari will have to nominate Mush while dying

actually mush is a piece of crap, he's no better than zardari or anyone in govt in Pakistan. we should let him come back and then hang this looser. but i doubt he will ever come back until Army is in charge again. he might choose to go peer sahab way, that is telephone and bayaan politics while sitting in london or NY

musharaf oh my god this idiot is the one who let america into pak and wreck pakistan in first place bombs, drones, interference, $45 billion of pak money spent helping US kill other muslims is what we got in return no way should he come back!

but zardari is worse!!!

^ RITEE..

Last time when he came through back door by kicking out NS who had heavy mendate from people to be PM of Pakistan:), welcome by many people. (retards). I still remeber his first speach to public when he promised to eradicate corruption. Not only corruption inceased exponentially in his tenure of 9 years, he played double agent to get American dollars, which breeded suicide bombers and legalising corruption and terrorism (urban) through NRO. The most corrupt general in the history of Pakistan. I wonder what will be his next salogans to come back as president? Ek baar loota hay do baara lootnay ki khwaish hay:D

Really I want to throwup when I read people still want him to be president.

Wedding night: "I shall not shed my uniform".

I dont think anyone who has been in power should be allowed to come back.
lets get some new people there, and really have term limits on all offices. president, prime minister, MNAs etc. and do the same at provincial levels as well. eventually some families will run out of people to hold on to political jageer and failed leaders would simply have to go away as well. lastly no party leader can be overseas if the party is contesting elections.

:hehe: :k:

awesome. come on back you piece of ****. article 6 and a trial awaits you. hoping to see you hanged as an example and a deterrent to future FA-fail jarnails in Kakul.

http://www.business-standard.com/india/news/musharraf-/200/-suretaking-part-in-2013-polls/407823/

Musharraf ‘200%’ sure of taking part in 2013 polls
Press Trust Of India / London September 12, 2010, 0:38 IST
Pakistan’s former military ruler Pervez Musharraf said he was forming a new party to return to active politics in the elections scheduled for 2013 and take his country forward on the “correct” democratic path.

“Two hundred per cent, I will participate in the next election,” Musharraf, who has been living outside Pakistan since April last year, told BBC. Asked about his plans for the next elections in Pakistan, he said he would be “standing for a party that I’ll create.”

Musharraf said he would contest for a seat in the next Parliament and he hoped to become either the prime minister or the president.
“I can’t be sure of becoming the President again but I believe there is a good chance of my winning,” he said.

“I do intend creating a new party because I think the time has come when we need to introduce a new political culture, a culture which can take Pakistan forward on the correct democratic path and not on an artificial, make-believe one,” he added.

In the past few months, Musharraf’s aides have put together a new party called the All Pakistan Muslim League which, they said, would be led by the former President on his return to the country.

The party has been active in raising funds for the victims of the devastating floods in Pakistan and Musharraf personally donated Rs 1 crore for relief efforts.

Musharraf resigned as the President in August 2008 to avoid impeachment by the Pakistan People’s Party-led government. He moved abroad after a slew of cases were filed against him.

He acknowledged there were “many issues” involved with his tenure but claimed that his regime had “done wonders” for Pakistan. “Although I was very legitimate, I lacked the legitimacy because I was in uniform,” he said.

“I did very well for Pakistan. I know that and I can challenge anybody on any point as far as Pakistan as a state and the people of Pakistan are concerned. We did wonders for them in those seven years which should be compared with the 50 years of the past,” he said.

Referring to his plans to return to active politics, Musharraf said, “I very strongly believe that it’s better to try and fail rather than not try and go down without trying.”

“At this moment we see darkness all over in Pakistan. We have to show light, we have to show an alternative, a viable alternative where the people see light and gain some confidence,” he said.

Musharraf dismissed his low standing in opinion polls, saying that polls could be manipulated and that his popularity was increasing. He acknowledged that if he did go back, he would have to face some legal cases and that there would be a risk of his being killed. However, he said he would answer every allegation against him.

as exhibited by the fast growing Facebook fan following!

I have a hunch Musharraf will soon join Altaf Hussain in televised "addresses to the nation" from London lol

^ Musharraf saab !!

Pakistan ki 85% aabadi Jahil hai cannot read or write , out of that 15% Educated population half aap ko bauhat pasand karte hai aur half paray likhay Jahil still either support Zardari OR wo malik doodh wale babra sharif .

do cover your bases before you step in.

so who ever do not support mushy is Jahil... that is what you are saying???

I have plenty reasons to support mushy:

1) He formed the worst political party in the history of Pakistan, i.e. getting the most corrupt persons from both PPP and PML to make PML (Q).. what a service to the nation... no body can forget that how he got the worst of politicians just to make sure that he stays in power...

2) Not to mention that Steel Mill Privatization, PTCL Privatization... KESC privatization and then suffering of Karachite and rest of the Pakistan from the owners of KESC

3) Got billions of dollars in Pakistan and wasted all of them in consumer banking... what a waste

4) His famous bhangra while tens of people being killed in Karachi

last not least

Issued NRO... to get Likes of Zardari back in country... now who is biggest Jahil, Mushy who allowed Zardari and Co back in country to take part in politics and loot the country again... what a waste mushy was.. his crimes cannot be forgiven specially the one where he imposed the same zardari and sharif on our heads...

I don't want him to come back and do the same again...