Musharraf and the Housewife

Re: Musharraf and the Housewife

two answers to that question

1) qazi hussein ahmed
2) Mulla fazl ur rehman

hey u did not want to believe it and I just explained it

How many times have I been thru it, zero, because while I lived in Pakistan, I hardly wore shalwaars, did not have to worry about my jeans falling because they were firmly anchored at the waist rather than under the waist due to toonds, and more than anything. i did not get into fights.

but this is a common occurance, and if you have seen enough street fights in pakistan, you would see this as well..its almost as common as the kurtas getting ripped by the buttons cuz pp grab each other by the 'garebaan"

Unfortunately, you are right.

We have no democracy, and we have seen what happens to a judge when he tries to bring the Army to account over the disappeared. :frowning:

the ppl who disappeared during "democratic" governments were not really accounted for either. just to set the record straight..

true Fraudz : in fact one of the grounds for the dismissal of a government as outlined by the supreme court is the torture and abduction of citizens.

The argument, Musharraf shouldn’t be blamed for the actions of government subordinates is a bit silly for two reasons:

1. he wields absolute power..far more than BB or NS could ever dream off, if you have absolute power, you also have absolute responsibility

2. Since the 1950’s both civilian and military rulers have rationalised the most horrific acts by saying they did not explicitly authorise them…again for civilians that was always dismissed as an argument by the courts (Bhutto did not sanction the 1977 election rigging, Nawaz did not sanction the storming of the supreme court and so on)

What more often is the case , is that their functionaries assume that since the boss had no qualms in the past about placing for example his former boss in solitary imprisonment or detaining the previous SC Chief Justice, so the boss should be happy with their actions.

P.s: Mukhtaran Mai’s book (the NYT pops up again in this link) also has some allegations of threats made by Musharrafs close advisors

[Nicholas D. Kristof, the New York Times writer, who made a crusade out of Mai’s case, and introduced it to the rest of the world by consistently hammering it through his columns, quotes a Wisconsin-based human rights activist, Amna Buttar, levelling a rather serious allegation at Brigadier Ijaz Shah, who is described as “one of President General Pervez Musharraf’s closest friends.”

"The brigadier warned Amna that she and Mukhtar should be careful and not stir up trouble and he added that Pakistani intelligence knows about everything they do. Alluding to a planned visit by Mukhtar and Amna to New York he added: 'We can do anything. We can just pay a little money to some black guys in New York and get people killed there.'"](http://www.newsline.com.pk/NewsFeb2007/bookmark2feb.htm)

Zakk

thats a whole diff point. I am not justifying the disappearance of ppl. I am just saying that when guardians of democracy start talking about how bad this is, they fail to note that during the regimes of their chaheetas the same stuff happened frequently.

so, if a military govt has the same ills as democratic govts of pakistan, I am going to have a preference for whoever delivers results in other areas.

people disappearing, bad bad..no argument with that. but I am not convinced that if Larry, More or Curly get back in power they will be better. One can read human rights watch reports of their regimes to get a sense of what things were like then.

and since political parties dont have the balls to get rid of larry, Moe and Curly, I have no reason to believe that a 'democracy' will be any better when it comes to these things.

PS: as far as direct threats by govt figures, you dont need to convince me. I know it happpens. my family received direct threats from the guardians of democracy that were in piwer in early 90s.

I was watching news on Geo yesterday and caught this part where Musharraf is addressing a public rally in Rawalpindi. He was talking about disappearances, and frankly the guy has the demeanor of a sadak-chaapia. It was actually funny. Here is what he said (I am writing from memory, so kinda praphrasing)

Says Musharraf: "Aur log kehtein hein ke log ghaib ho jaatay hein. Woh kehtay hein ke mujhay pata hai ke log kahaN hain. Mujhay kiya pata kahan hein ye log. Pata nahin kahan chalay jaatay hein. Shaid Afghanistan, Kashmir or Iraq chalay jaatay hein. Mujhay kiya pata. Batatay bhi nahi hein apnay ghar waloN ko. Supreme Court ne bhi ab iss per action liya hai. Mujhay bari khushi hai ke Supreme Court iss per action le rahi hai. Pata chalana chahiyay ke ye log kahan jaatay hein"

Coming from a head of state, such dialogues are just mind numbing, considering the number of people who have allegedly "disappeared" for making anti-government remarks. And some people who disappeared absolutely do not fit the profile of an abscondee or a jihadi in Afghanistan.

I swear, this is why Mush is my favorite celebrity in the world. He makes comments that are so simple minded - he reminds me of an old guy with Alzheimer’s.

:haha:

Faisal

he has to tailor his speech to the nation..a nation that has 25% literacy rate or so.
I mean aside from shaukat aziz whic politician knows how to speak. jamali was pretty good, but look at ppl ranging from zia to musharraf and no one gets marks for being an excellent speaker :)

PS: not disputing the fact that ppl were probably picked up for some chitrol by state, there are others who have probably gone underground to avoud chitrol, or those who are engaged in other activities..its a mix of all. obviously he was not going to tell an open rally, yeah we captured em cuz we thought they were a royal pain and we are doign their chitrol 24/7..

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

:rotfl: :omg:

‘Missing people with jihadis’

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/images/2007/03/28/20070328_Mush-1.jpg

** President says Opp trying to derail democracy, failed to receive mass support

• Seeks votes for PML

By Irfan Ghauri*

RAWALPINDI: President Gen Pervez Musharraf denied on Tuesday that his government was behind the disappearances of hundreds of citizens and said that they were in the custody of jihadi groups.

The families of the missing say they have been secretly detained by Pakistani security agencies, but the president said that they had probably been “brainwashed” into joining militant groups. “The government is not involved. We don’t indulge in such activities,” Gen Musharraf said in a speech to a gathering in Liaqat Bagh.

“These people may have gone on their own … to Kashmir, Afghanistan or Iraq. I don’t know,” he said. “The judiciary is also taking notice of this issue.”

Gen Musharraf said jihadi groups were brainwashing young men and training them to be suicide bombers, which was against Islam.

The president said that extremism was a real threat to Pakistani society and the development of the country. “No society with the menace of extremism can progress and if we fail to deal with it, the progress will halt.”

Gen Musharraf said the reference against the chief justice was a judicial issue and should not be politicised. He said opposition protests against the chief justice’s suspension had failed. “They have failed to get mass support and only a few activists heeded their calls,” he said.

He accused the opposition of trying to derail the democratic process. “I know what democracy is. We have introduced real democracy in this country. It is for the first time that assemblies are completing their term and a local government system is working well. We have given rights to women, minorities and freedom to the media. This is all democracy. These elements cannot see democracy working in this country and are creating hurdles in its way,” Musharraf said. He also urged the audience to vote for the Pakistan Muslim League in the next general elections.
Home](http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp) | Main](http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=main_28-3-2007_pg1)

this is surly the work of terroists, i dnt think musharaf can do something like this after all hes done for pakistan, the media is just after him and the oppersition just hottening it up and taking advantage of it.

I just love how Musharraf acts so naive, like he does not know anything. He does not know why Geo TV was attached, where Taliban is gathering, why enemies of his government are disappearing, who AQ Khan sold nukes too, who those mysterious militants were at Kargil etc. etc.

Bechara massoom sa bacha hai Mushy.

maiN bay qusoor hooN :(

Would it be a fair assumption to make that most of musharraf supporters (on this board)choose not to live in Pakistan?

Not really. Iconoclast hates Musharraf, and he doesn't live in Pakistan.

well that doesnt answer my question, i was talking about musharraf's supporters?where do they choose to live?

I do not hate Musharraf, its of no use to me to harbor negative emotions against him in my heart.

But i criticise the wrong doings done by government and its shortcomings, i used to do this even when BB and Tind were in power.

Oh I see. So you're just a complainer.