How is this movie ? Anybody seen it yet ? Its getting great reviews on MSN/Rediff etc…would like to know how much of that is really true…
My friend saw it yesterday and says its hillariuos
must be hillarious and funky...
anyway I m waiting to see that movie Fu2shhh,, a nice great and different idea ;)..
**warning: ** if u haven’t seen this film yet then look away now and don’t read further on as reading the review will spoil the film for those ppl who will watch it soon. ![]()
** review of ** * MUNNABHAI MBBS
[thumb=E]saN18114_9219722.JPG[/thumb] ![]()
Producer: Vidhu Vinod Chopra
Director: Rajkumar Hirani
Cast: Sanjay Dutt, Sunil Dutt, Arshad Varsi, Jimmy Shergill
and Gracy Singh
Music: Anu Malik
Introduction
After a long time, we get a highly illogical film which is likeable in spite of its unreal storyline. Another debutant director steps in, but with a difference.
Synopsis
Murali Prasad Sharma a.k.a. Munnabhai (Sanjay Dutt with a release after a long time) is a guy who comes to the city after getting tired of the constant badgering of his father Hari Prasad Sharma (Sunil Dutt coming to the big screen after a very long hiatus). He becomes a “tapori” who lives with his friends/goons in a “dhobi ghat” in Mumbai. He runs his business of “dadagiri” and considers he is doing a great service to the community. He settles disputes with the help of his goons, and lives the life of a “goonda” to the hilt; boozing, philandering and brawling.
Meanwhile his father, a moralistic man with a high standing in society, believes that his son is actually a doctor running a charity hospital in Mumbai. To keep up the charade, every year for his parents’ visit, Munnabhai and his gang bathe (they seem to have not had a bath for years), remove their facial hair and wear white coats and stethoscopes to play the part of sincere and diligent doctors.
But this stupid drama gets exposed when Sunil Dutt meets his childhood friend Dr. Asthana (Boman Irani, who seems to be doing more of commercial cinema than his plays), who has a daughter called Suman (Gracy Singh, simple, elegant and plain). The two decide that their children, who are both doctors, would make a perfect match.
Munnabhai tries to grapple with the situation as best as he can, but Sunil Dutt gets to know the truth, and is a broken man. To earn back his father’s respect, he tries to become a real doctor. What happens next is the rest of the story, some laughter, lots of entertaining moments, and an emotional climax.
Analysis
Sunil Dutt is a revelation. He acts with such finesse and dedication that he looks the part in totality. Sanjay Dutt is well tuned to be a tapori after many such roles he has done earlier, and with his vulnerable face and easy smile, he gets the audience’s affection. Gracy Singh is fine, but too plain, which is what the requirement of the role was. Arshad Warsi entertains as Sanjay’s sidekick Circuit, and Jimmy Shergil in a small role is effective. Boman Irani is a scene stealer as the eccentric Dr. Asthana.
Technique
Debutant director Raju Hirwani has made a really good debut. The emotional as well as comic scenes have been directed in way that belies the fact that it is his first film. It is also his story and the script has been written in collaboration with producer Vidhu Vinod Chopra and Lajan Joseph. Cinematography [Binod Pradhan] is great.
Dialogues by Abbas Tyrewala really add the tapori touch to this film, and make it endearingly funny. He too should get a large part of the credit for making this an entertaining film.
Music by Anu Malik is fine, but the song picturised in the second half on Gracy Singh needs to be snipped off to maintain pace in the second half of the movie.
Sidelights
-
Sunil Dutt is appearing alongside his son Sanjay Dutt for the first time on the silver screen (they both starred in J.P. Dutta’s “Kshatriya” but didn’t have any scenes together)
-
Shahrukh Khan was finalised for the lead role, but later stepped out due to his inability to provide dates for shooting.
-
Aishwarya Rai, Rani Mukherjee and Tabu were all associated with the film at one stage or another but eventually left for various reasons.
-
Sunil Dutt has a habit of getting his dialogues written in Urdu for the films he works in.
Verdict
Nice endearing movie with its heart in the right place. Though some parts of the movie will make you frown, you might end up leaving the movie hall with a smile on your face. This is probably one of the really good funny yet emotional movies to have come in a really long time. *
my cousin said.. its so funny and he loved it.. he said.. better den KHNH.. i m gonna check it out.....
hmmm it was showing on cable yesterday, i just saw some clips n it dint look so amazing so i thought i'd skip it but since u guys r saying its so good i think i'm gona watch it tonite :D
I watched it on the cable today, some parts of it. And it is highly inspired by a very nic movie called 'Patch Adams' starrring Brian Williams
Originally posted by saby: *
I watched it on the cable today, some parts of it. And it is **highly inspired * by a very nic movie called 'Patch Adams' starrring Brian Williams
Copied eh?... :D
the title song is very good, havn't seen the movie though.
Its an excellent family movie. Sanjay Dutt looks great, his acting was really good. People related to medical fields will love this movie. I enjoyed it alot. Its hillarious, dont miss it.
Subha hogaai MAMOO!! ![]()
Munna Bhai MBBS
What a flick!
In line with Patch Adams. Sanjay Dutt is brilliant. :k:
Chai - - Chai Bolay to?..
oh ur still alive x wife?? :D
OMG.. i lov the whole movie.. Sanjay Dutt is so cool.. and he did a real nice Job... Whole movie makes u crack up.. its so good.. its has the best comedy ever... A MUST WATCH MOVIE.
the funniest thing was.. as soon as i finished the movie.. my mamoo called me.. and I WAS LIKE MAMOO.. and he couldnt understand.. so i had to explain him..
**AMAZING MOVIE!!! I LOVVVVED IT!!! :k: :k: :k: :k: **
just saw it. its veryyyyyy touching. somewhat funny. made me cry n laugh alternately thruout. has some very hi sweet scenes.
sunjay dutt n arshad warsi’s acting was brilllllllllllllllllllllllllllianttttttttttt :k:
watch it everyone !!! its an order
*Originally posted by saby: *
I watched it on the cable today, some parts of it. And it is highly inspired by a very nic movie called 'Patch Adams' starrring Brian Williams
Robin williams, yes thats rite
oops, did i write Brain??
How stupid of me ![]()
thanks for correction mam
Saw it last night. I loved it! it makes you laugh and it also has its emotional moments. Definetly a family movie worth watching :k:
The movie was so good. I like it from beginning to the end. Hillarious indeed.
This is the first time I liked Sanjay Dutt in comedy role. Arshad Warsi is a GEM :D Its unfortunate of him that he doesn't get much movies. He has natural comedy talent.
This movie will shine along with Andaz Apna Apna, Hera Pheri, Tere Mere Sapne, Love ke liye kuch bhi karega and Hungama.
Mamuuuuuuuuuuuuu. bari funny movie thi
goooooood movie :D loved it