Mumbai venue for WC final chosen for a Tendulkar special : Haroon Lorgat

http://cricketnext.in.com/news/wankhede-chosen-for-a-sachin-special-lorgat/55739-5.html

Ahmedabad: ICC chief Haroon Lorgat defended the decision to stage the World Cup final in Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, saying it would provide the perfect setting for the city’s favourite son Sachin Tendulkar to script a “fairytale” ending.

Choosing the arena for the finale raised a few eyebrows amid growing frustration for shortage of tickets as the 33,442-seater stadium has the second lowest capacity out of the eight Indian venues hosting matches during the six-week tournament.

While Kolkata’s revamped Eden Gardens could hold almost 60,000 fans, Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla and Ahmedabad’s Sardar Patel grounds have around 50,000 seats but all of them were overlooked for the April 2 final.

“You know you have got choices to make,” International Cricket Council (ICC) chief executive Lorgat told reporters on Wednesday.

"Can you imagine a (more) fairytale ending with Sachin Tendulkar getting a hundred in the final and India winning at the Wankhede which is his home ground?

“And no matter what the number (of seats), we do not have sufficient tickets.”

Fans, seeking tickets, have regularly clashed with baton-wielding police in the subcontinent bringing the tournament on the verge of being a public-relations disaster.

The violence forced the organisers to shelve plans of selling some tickets for the final through box offices.

Lorgat said the organisers simply did not have the means to satisfy the ticketing demands of a cricket-loving country that boasts a billion plus population.

“Attendances have been phenomenal. We expect that from the quarter-final stages every single seat in the house will be sold,” Lorgat said.

“It’s an unfortunate reality that it’s a finite sum of tickets and there is huge demand for it.”

Demand of tickets for matches featuring the three co-hosts, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, have far exceeded supply.

Last month the official online ticket website crashed due to 10 million people chasing just 1,000 tickets for the final.

Re: Mumbai venue for WC final chosen for a Tendulkar special : Haroon Lorgat

Sorry but that is just a f*cking ridiculous way to choose a venue.

Lorgat bhai doesn't watch cricket - else he'd know that Tendulkar scoring a century and India winning have a tendency to be mutually exclusive events.

That being said, it would be befitting for Tendulkar to say farewell to the World Cup in his home city.

Haroon logat is a flippin retard. He is biased and doesnt deserve to be icc chief. He shud jus wear an indian shirt while doin annocements the muse.

This kind of a statement from a ICC chief is just ridiculous. As an ICC official, haroon lorgat should be neutral and unbiased.
It just shows that the reality is BCCI is now running the ICC

plus isn't Lorgat getting too far ahead of himself?

Aur agar Tendulakar 0 per out ho gya tou... :D

Lorgat must be feeling pretty sick today after seeing Pakistan breeze into semis.

When did Tendulkar say he is retiring? :hehe:

Who decides venues for games? This is stupid IMO, so ICC chose to cut its revenue short to accommodate one player’s supposed fairwell? What idiots!

Hahaha ... pathetic ICC

Ridiculous way of choosing a venue. I know this forum reallllllllly hates this guy.. I don't dislike him as much but these statements are just retarded. Thanks for putting some more pressure on SRT.

Who choses the venue? Is it ICC or BCCI or all host nations together?

Surely the biggest capacity stadium in India should have been selected.

Looking at Lorgat's wiki page. He isn't even Indian born.. Indian ancestory... and seems like a very educated and highly successful guy before he joined the ICC.

Can we call whole World Cup is fixed ? How one can say who will go to finals? I mean... get a life Haroon!

:( it looks now

tu Logart & Ian Chappal eik dosrey ko laddo khilaeen gai :)

This is really pathetic on top of the fact hat only yesterday tried to be so "man of principles" in press conference when someone asked that if Pakistan reaches to the semi finals, is there a possibility that SF can be played in BD or SL due to security reasons his reply was "We can not change venue because of one team" here he is selecting venue because of one player :)

There has to be some limit to Shameless & Biased attitude and then self-probe Mr. Haroon Laggart !!

Your 'Self esteem & ME attitude is not only biased but also prejudice towards Pakistani ‘Fearless & Kneeling-Head-bowing’ players of Pakistan Cricket, You should know that We Know you very well.

Your ‘Top Executive’ attitude has proven to be of a low-life opportunist-at-a-job you do not deserve !

ICC & BCCI Sharrad Powaar are a menace to this game !

Shame on you !!! :jhanda:

so true!

Basically he set the tone, that the final has to involve INDIA in it. So India cannot loose in QF or SF...pretty much the matches have already been set and the opposing teams bought off..that is the message, may not be the behind the scenes reality, but for sure this is the message.

For some reason the timing of this statement and the demand from PCB to ensure full security, I think ICC is involved in betting themselves. Call me a conspiracy theorist or what ever..but I simply despise ICC led by Lorgat and his biased attitude. What a crook and cheat.

Completely Agree. Logat should be fired. This is like an Australian ICC Chairman choosing Tasmania to hold the final of 2015 world cup so that Ricky Ponting who is from Tasmania can be given a proper farewell instead of hosting in the Melbourne Cricket Ground. :slight_smile:

what if tendulkar was born in Karachi ?