Mumbai Rocked by Blasts/Indian ministers/$1 dynamite stick in Mumbai

Re: Mumbai Rocked by Blasts

‘Mumbai Bombings Work Of Al Qaeda’ - Expert

http://www.lse.co.uk/ShowStory.asp?story=XV1127001P&news_headline=mumbai_bombings_work_of_al_qaeda_-_expert

A leading terror expert said that chilling similarities between Madrid, 7/7 and today’s blasts in Mumbai meant it was almost certain Islamic extremists were behind the latest outrage.

More than 160 people were killed and hundreds more injured when seven bombs exploded during the evening rush hour on the train network in the Indian financial capital.

Security consultant Will Geddes said that all three attacks were targeted to “paralyse” key communication networks, and singled out two extreme Muslim groups based in Kashmir as likely culprits.

Mr Geddes said: "I think there is the highest likelihood it is the terrorist cell Lashkar-e-Toiba, who appear to be the strongest, most active terrorist group acting in Kashmir and are believed to be responsible for the attacks on Mumbai in 2003.

However he warned that combating the “insulated” and “fragmented” terror cells is a tough challenge.

Mr Geddes added: "India’s intelligence services are working hard to intercept these cells and fragment them, but they are very difficult to break.

“We will just have to see what develops and which of the two groups takes responsibility.”

Copyright © 2006 National News +44(0)207 684 3000

This is reliving the terror during the 93 bombings

NOTE to all: I am not the only moderator here, no one's post is removed because of personal bias/opposition to his views/race/religion etc. A big chunk of posts were moved by admin as he found them flaming the issue.

I guess I stepped on someone's tail :CareBear:

You are dragging an issue unnecessarily, if you have anything fruitful to say on the number topic then say it otherwise let other people discuss the issue.

:CareBear:

Captain bhai, kya baat hai. You and Seminole are picking on each other. I like this communication between the two of you....... :D

I doubt this is the work of Dawood Ibrahim. He is living a good life in Karachi courtesy of ISI. Why would he ruin that? He may be a criminal, but he is not an jihadi nutcase.

Khehkeshan-saab, zara yeh to padhiye aap.

MASTERMINDS ARE NOT IN INDIA
http://in.rediff.com/news/2006/jul/12sheela.htm

uly 12, 2006 00:22 IST
Last Updated: July 12, 2006 01:56 IST

British intelligence anaylst Richard M Bennett says the serial attacks in Mumbai were masterminded by outfits from abroad.

According to him, “The level of sophistication and organisation needed to carry out such a widespread and tightly coordinated attack is beyond the known capabilities of any of the Islamic groups operating in either Kashmir or elsewhere in India.”

In an e-mail to rediff.com immediately after the blasts, he said, “This has all the hallmarks of a Special Forces/Intelligence operation… it may have been carried out by expendable extremists, but those who were the promoters and brains have military training.”

“The Mumbai blasts is an attack on India’s soft underbelly,” said Ajit Doval, former director, Intelligence Bureau.

Doval too agrees with the views of the British expert. “From my experience I think that the blasts are not an indigenous effort. It is the exported variety of terrorism. The blasts of Mumbai have a foreign origin and it is obvious that a lot of effort has gone behind its execution.”

Doval, who extensively investigated fugitive gangster Dawood Ibrahim’s involvement in the March 12, 1993 Mumbai bomb blasts, said, “The saboteurs are telling India that they are alive, kicking and have the capacity to strike at any place in India, at a time of their choosing.”

“India must give a counter message,” Doval said. “We must prove that we have the capacity to hound them wherever they are. Terrorists must get the message that the threshold level of patience of Indians is not infinite. If we don’t do something now then the enemies of India will keep surprising us.”

“Today’s blasts must have involved more than 25 people who might have knowingly and unknowingly participated. It is very likely that the masterminds are not in India. The actual perpetrators may not be more than four or five but these guys must have got help from many people. The infrastructure for these blasts must have been quite big. Motor vehicles, local agents, people who provided cover to terrorists and people who planted the devices must have been involved. They should be and will be found out.”

http://www.pipelinenews.org/index.cfm?page=india71106.htm

** Mumbai - Indian Train Bombing Linked To Al-Qaeda Operative Dawood Ibrahim

July 11, 2006 - San Francisco, CA - PipeLineNews.org - Indian authorities believe that today’s bombing in Mumbai [131 confirmed dead, 200 injured] is the work of Dawood Ibrahim a key player in the al-Qaeda terror network. Ibrahim is believed to have been responsible for planning other Indian bomb attacks including one in 1993 - also in Mumbai - which claimed 260 lives. Ibrahim financially underwrites the Kashmiri Muslim terror group Lashkar e Tayyiba.
Ibrahim travelled to Afghanistan in the 90s for training in bin-Laden’s camps and was officially declared a terrorist by the US Treasury Dept in 2004.
According to the Dept. of State factsheet:
[INDENT]*Dawood Ibrahim (“IBRAHIM”), the son of a police constable, has reigned as one of the pre-eminent criminals in the Indian underworld for most of the past two decades. * *Ibrahim’s syndicate is involved in large-scale shipments of narcotics in the U.K. and Western Europe. *

• The syndicate’s smuggling routes from South Asia, the Middle East and Africa are shared with Osama bin Laden and his terrorist network. Successful routes established over recent years by Ibrahim’s syndicate have been subsequently utilized by bin Laden. A financial arrangement was reportedly brokered to facilitate the latter’s usage of these routes. In the late 1990’s, Ibrahim traveled in Afghanistan under the protection of the Taliban. *
    *Ibrahim’s syndicate has consistently aimed to destabilize the Indian government through inciting riots, acts of terrorism, and civil disobedience. He is currently wanted by India for the March 12, 1993 Bombay Exchange bombings, which killed hundreds of Indians and injured over a thousand more. *
    *Information, from as recent as Fall 2002, indicates that Ibrahim has financially supported Islamic militant groups working against India, such as Lashkar-e-Tayyiba (LeT). *
    ©1999-2006 PipeLineNews.org, all rights reserved.
    [/INDENT]

Interesting assertions from that article. I guess the possibility remains that Dawood is a complete idiot and wants to give up his high life in Karachi for some stupid jihadist dream but considering his lifestyle, he doesn't strike me as the Osama type. Unlike Osama, he's very much into flouting his riches. And as we all know, the US or Brit intelligence agencies are not infallible when it comes to the accuracy of information.

But LeT and as a given, ISI involvement does seem probable. If this is proven, Pakistan can say goodbye to that F-16 deal for sure.

Sad and despicable!

I would like to see it in a larger context. Demolition of Babri mosque; Mumbai riots; 1993 Mumbai Bombings; the tragic train incident; Gujrat massacre; Varansi bombings; tensions in UP .... connect the dots ... you have Mumbai blasts 2006.

You might call it speculation on my part, but it is far more convincing than your speculations that always revolve around LT or Pakistan. I don't know why Indians seem to have better understanding of LT operations than poor Pakistanis across the border.

India might have home-grown militant outfits, unrelated to Kashmir, (there is some Muslim student organization) just as they have Hindu militant outfits operating with impunity. However, whoever is responsible should be brought to justice.

In the end, I would like to urge Indians not to get carried away and turn it into another communcal riot. You are mature people (although you sound painfully immature when you start accusing certain groups/people without any evidence whatsoever. Oh and please don't give me that Indian 'experts' said this or that), and communal harmony is in India's own interest.

Amorphous-bhai, please define Hindu militants. Do Hindu militants

a] suicide bombers
b] behead innocent civilians
c] bomb and kill unbelievers

Dont bring Gujrat in the discussion. What happened in Gujrat was an extreme reaction of Hindus.

I have not quoted any Indian expert here. Even FBI has termed LET and Dawood as terrorists.

If we find any homegrown muslims involved, there will be hell to pay. And unfortunately there will be innocent muslims caught in the backdraft.

and, as Indian citizen, you have a responsibility to ensure that no such 'backlash' against innocent Muslims happens, regardless of the genesis of this terror operation. It will reflect badly on your own country and you would lose any moral high ground you have at this point. Anyhow I would like to wait for an impartial investigation (that does more that just pointing to the usual scapegoats) before accusing anyone iniside India or abraod.

LT, in my view, was a terrorist organization. It has been banned and Pakistan should make sure that any other group related to it does not rear its ugly head again. However, in my humble opinoin, it is very unlikely that any LT related group from Pakistan was involved in this dastardly act.

Shiv Sena and even some elements of BJP (led by the likes of Advani and Modi) can be termed Hindu militant groups.

Bhaiyon aur Bhaiyon ki bahno,
Please do not make this Hindu/Muslim issue, because it is not. Its a national issue. Please do not complicate the issue. The small discussions are like sparks that can burn the whole country.

In August 2003, more than 55 people died in twin bomb blasts in the city’s financial district.

And in 1993, some 250 people died and nearly 1,000 were injured in a series of bomb blasts which rocked the city.

Both attacks were said to have carried out by Islamic militants allegedly at the behest of Mumbai’s criminal underworld.

They were believed to be reprisal attacks in response to religious violence elsewhere in India in which Muslims had been targeted.

It is still not clear who is behind these latest bombings and certainly investigators will be puzzled over the motive.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/5171204.stm

I condemn this attrocity whole heartedly. On the issue on your post, in the long run it would be best if Pak did wean itself of US military hardware. The US is not a reliable supplier, and clearly regards India as its strategic partner in the region.

Given the pricetag of the deal, $5bn, Pakistan would be better of buying French RaFaels (sp) or Grippen’s.

absouletely barbaric...i hope whoever did this gets caught and dealth with.

You have no idea of the rage and anger the citizens will build up if the real culprits are not caught. The muslim community better surrender the rats to the cops or some skulls will be broken, that I can assure you.

I dont care for your opinion on LeT or Shiv Sena. Nor does your advice on conducting impartial investigation carry any weight. We will find the traitors and hang them. It is just a matter of time.

If the Indian muslims do not want this to be a communal issue, then they must obey the Indian law in spirit or face the public wrath, and it is gonna be ugly.

Sad but true.

What a horrible and condemnabale act.

Just as condemnabale are those Muslim-hating Hindu's eager to burn and butcher Muslims like they did (in pre-planned fashion) in Gujarat in 2002.

Yup, targeting innocent civilians is the most despicable act any individual or organisation can resort to, and all that indo-pak rivalry thingie aside, it has to be condemned in the strongest terms. Terrorism has to end.

I doubt even the French or Swedes will give any high tech weapons to Pakistan if it is proven that LeT had a hand in this. LeT of course is still very much active in Pakistan under a new name.