Muhammad and The Violation of The Quran

Good idea, join the peace corps and stop worrying about Islam and Muslims and go live your life and try to be happy.

How easily you give up, hope you are not quitter by nature

Re: Muhammad and The Violation of The Quran

^I have been through this process at least 20 times. I have been struggling with this for the past 10 years. It's about time I let go of it and do what I feel is right, which is to help people in need. There are a lot of people who can use my help.

Anyway, I am sure people here are sick of me questioning everything and I am sick of not understanding any of it (there isn't anything to understand anymore). One thing I have learned though is if you believe in something 100% no matter how stupid it sounds, you will defend it with your life.

If 1.5 billion people believe in a book that's been handed to you as the absolute truth and guide, then that's where you will look for answers. Everything will revolve around it, not the other way around. You will understand everything THROUGH that book. There are no contradictions in that book, if it says it's night then that's what it will be even if it's clearly daylight outside.. It's all about what you believe.

Anyways, I have found my answers. I have a purpose now. I know what I need to do to have peace.

Thank you all :)

You are welcome.

I hope you really do move on this time because no matter how many times you go through this process and for however many years, you will find the exact same answers.

Might as well cut your losses now and go out and do what you think is right and think will make you happy and bring you peace.

take care and be careful out there.

This is the verse from Quran that allows Prophet Mohammad pbuh to marry more than 4
O Prophet! Lo! We have made lawful unto thee thy wives unto whom thou hast paid their dowries, and those whom thy right hand possesseth of those whom Allah hath given thee as spoils of war, and the daughters of thine uncle on the father's side and the daughters of thine aunts on the father's side, and the daughters of thine uncle on the mother's side and the daughters of thine aunts on the mother's side who emigrated with thee, and a believing woman if she give herself unto the Prophet and the Prophet desire to ask her in marriage - **a privilege for thee only, not for the (rest of) believers* - We are Aware of that which We enjoined upon them concerning their wives and those whom their right hands possess - that thou mayst be free from blame, for Allah is ever Forgiving, Merciful. ( The Confedrates: 50 )

Theer were a lot of haters of Islam even in early days who concoted false stories, hence somethign called chain of transmission was established by historian to verify the authenticity.

In both history of tabari and tafsir tabari, no chain is mentioned of this tradition.

It apears that you WANT to beleive anything against Islam, thats our choice but dont try to shove it upon us.

how were the arabians treating their women at the time? i can see marriage as an act of mercy and compassion in certain circumstances

33:50.

So there is no violation of the Quran.

Miss Noland ... you know Iconoclast did post the verse which removes any blame from the Prophet SAW and gives hims permission. The question now is whether you would believe the Quranic verse over the Tabari tafsir excerpt you have posted.

Your real issue is that your confused with too much information and that too mostly cyber based, which lacks the depth and discussion behind it. Most internet articles are written for a purpose and to present a certain perspective. You cannnot make an opinion of your own until you actually study thoroughly historical books and especially what kind of criticism has been leveled against many historical authors. Tabari though has to most comprehensive Islamic history book, it is also one which has the most contradictions because many things written in Tabari are not backed up with any other historical evidence. For example, the very thing you quoted from it. The verse which mentioned was conviniently revealed afterwards was not to justify the incident Tabari concocts but to break one of the popular customs in Arabic where adopted children were considered like biological children and their wives were considered mehrems. You would know this if read up more sensible and in depth material. Do you even own the complete Tabari bookset or did you just go by an internet article you found which quoted something from Tabari?

I am really surprised at the criticism of tabari, no one is saying that any history is 100 % accurate but to blame it automatically on him being a historian and not having a reliable chain is an oversimplification

many of the later ahadith can be just as unrelaible despite having a chain as the reliability of narrattions thru isnad is a latter phenomena, not so popular with earlier historians.

misuse of tabari's and other seerah works by apostates is not new but we shouldnt bash seerah writers and historians just because of some narrations which appear in their works

jazakallah , thats the best response to these questions

offtopic OP
can i ask why ur nic is miss_noland any relation with captain noland of the light brigade ?

i two on the this thread stinks ..

murtaddoN ka bhi koi haal nahi :smack:

Can we for once focus on the Message and not the Messenger. As some one said, every act of his was Allahs orders. I am really not sure why it matters how many wives he had. How is that conversation going to save you from hell fire or promise you a paradise?

Your real issue is that your confused with too much information and that too mostly cyber based, which lacks the depth and discussion behind it. Most internet articles are written for a purpose and to present a certain perspective. You cannnot make an opinion of your own until you actually study thoroughly historical books and especially what kind of criticism has been leveled against many historical authors

this is sincere advice.... i wud advise the OP to join a course in a western university on islam which has a balanced faculty, this will hopefully clear some of the confusion he has after selectively reading some passages from unreliable internet sources

You are doing exactly what you blame others of. You are taking a verse alone and out of it's context. Read the succeeding two verses (33.51 & 33.52):

"It is not lawful for thee (to marry more) women after this, nor to change them for (other) wives, even though their beauty attract thee, except any thy right hand should possess (as handmaidens): and Allah doth watch over all things. (33.52) "

What does this tell you? Again, Quran no where says MUhammad was allowed to marry more than 4 women. Ok let's just say, you are right. That verse allows Muhammad unlimited wives. Well, doesn't that strike you as odd? Muhammad who should have set better example by adopting DAUGHTERS instead of marrying them. BUT he had maids and he married several women. If you read about any self proclaimed prophets, they have endlessly exhibited similar behaviour.

BTW, I don't go to anti-Islamic websites to get this information. Everything that I post comes either from the books I have downloaded online or websites where Islamic scholars attempt to answer any requestions in regards to Islam. Just because I point out stuff that goes against your belief, doesn't mean I obtain that information from Anti-islamic sources. I am not a Islam hater, if I were I wouldn't have bothered to even study it. There ARE things that are doubtful, I can't help it.

Because for any author to claim credibility, you have to know his sources. And here we are talking about almost 2 billion followers, you'd better be sure he didn't invent Quran.

Tafsir.com Tafsir Ibn Kathir

with 2 billion followers already there, are not we too late now to investigate that.

never too late to investigate, investigate to your hearts content. you shall find what Allah (swt) has ordained for you

ive investigated these anti islam claims, and its increased my iman. shukeralhamdolillah

for ‘right hand posseth’ clarification
Ma Malakat Aimanukum - Female slaves? Think again
33.52 is mentioned at bottom of page aswell