How can people support these thugs and elect them to the Parliament…I’d like to see the bhaya brigade, all those Altaf and his minime Amer Liaqat’s toadies come defend this…
MNA carrying gun creates scene at airport
By Our Staff Reporter
RAWALPINDI, July 15: Unruly scenes were witnessed at the Islamabad airport’s VIP Rawal Lounge on Friday night when a parliamentarian belonging to the ruling coalition insisted on carrying a firearm aboard and hurled threats at the Airport Security Force (ASF) official on duty.
Sources said Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) MNA Abid Ali Umang along with his colleague MNA Mohammad Pervez Qureshi arrived at the Rawal Lounge to take a PIA flight (PK-319) to Karachi.
The two legislators were allowed to enter the lounge without a security check after they identified themselves as MNAs. However, when the ASF official on duty inquired about the contents of a bag carried by Mr Umang, the latter replied: “There is a pistol in the bag.” The ASI told the lawmaker that carrying firearms was strictly prohibited, therefore, he could not proceed.
This infuriated the MNA and he entered into a fiery dialogue with the ASF official. Later, the ‘protesting’ MNA was also joined by his colleague.
As tension mounted, the ASF chief security officer rushed to the scene at around 10:30pm and settled the issue through talks.
The security chief also tender an apology to the minister and transferred the ASF official to some other section of the airport.
The sources also quoted the MNA as saying that he would move a privilege motion in the National Assembly if the ASI concerned was not dismissed from service.
Meanwhile, the MNAs never made it aboard the Karachi-bound flight as they were not holding confirmed tickets.
Well, the country where criminals and killers can be the head of province or even state, what else can we expect. It is the stupid (or may be powerless) awam who select these thugs.
One guy from karachi told me that MQM has got probably 20k or more of its people hired in police, FIA and other security agencies. I'm not surprised because that's what every political party does when they are in power .... and yet we wonder how criminals escape before police arrives the scene. Anyway, it seems things are still getting worse than improving. And that law of "graduated politicians" by Musharraf seems a failure as we still have jahil politicians in the assemblies.
We shouldnt be really surprised...........And i dont think behivor of one person can be labelled on everyone that supports MQM. As Curious said every party that comes into power does the same. Doesnt mean that i agree with the route that MQM adopted in the past or the way its running now but they have the right to their opinion. Its interesting though that no matter which party is in power MQM will always have a temporay alliance with them to ensure they get in Power in Sindh. All principles they preach only stand if they get to share power otherwise everything is wrong.
Looking at the situation in Pakistan i cant believe how naive Musharaf was few years ago when after a short while coming into power he declared Pakistan as a Corruption free state. But like all before he is surrounded by the same tolla of sweet talkers who are filling the same bank accounts and telling him he is the savior of the nation so they can keep doin what they are. Opposition only making noises because they think their counterparts had a more than fair run and now they themselves should be given a much waited chance to make some money. This government however is unique in the sense that the very people musharaf's own established NAB convicted are running not only NAB itself but are the top officials in the Govt . NAB like all other agencies will only be used to blackmail political opponents come the elections and not to chase and apprehend the sugar mafia or the stock exchange big players.
The Education system that we all hold so dear only makes us "professionals" not "human being". The ethics, "human being" education is taught at home where people are now busy watching TV and movies for entertainment.... what do you expect? Musharraf's move to "graduate politicians" was an attempt to keep many politicians out of assemblies, perhaps the MMA politicians.
I don't know why your chaddi is on fire here, hope you can show respect to other ethnicities. If you wish to badmouthing you can call names to political parties but should not do so about ehtnicities.
Coming to topic, it was a crime and the ASF chief showed yet another side of our society i.e. kiss the a$$ of powerfuls. He knew that the MNA is wrong still he apologised and transferred the concerned official to other part of airport. Until we can learn to respect law such ugly incidents will only rise.
He had to keep these politicians satisfied or else the chief would see his officier's "bori mein band laash" on a road side or in a car trunk. I'm wondering have you really lived in Pakistan? You should know how these political parties are strong .... they can do anything.
Coming to topic, it was a crime and the ASF chief showed yet another side of our society i.e. kiss the a$$ of powerfuls. He knew that the MNA is wrong still he apologised and transferred the concerned official to other part of airport. Until we can learn to respect law such ugly incidents will only rise.
"Bhayya" and "Mian Bhai" is not an ethnicity and neither is mahajir...in fact bhayya is a state of mind, much as waht Chris Rock would say "black people" versus ni@@ers...
There are urdu speaking people, who BTW are ethnically the most hetrogenous of all Pakistani linguistic groups, cause you can have a malwari and bihari as well a bengali on one end of the spectrum and a rampuri/tonki pathan on the other...
And then there is bhayya, who have come to epitomize all things that are egregiously evil and a trade mark of a criminal outfit like MQM...
**IT becomes a matter of considerable concern when legislators decide to take the law into their own hands. Regrettably, Friday’s incident in which an MNA representing a Karachi-based party angrily refused to hand over the firearm he was carrying in his hand luggage to security officials at Islamabad airport is not the first of its kind. Last year, the son of Law Minister Wasi Zafar thrashed a fellow passenger at Karachi airport in the presence of his father who himself is reported to be prone to temper tantrums that have resulted in violence on more than one occasion. What also comes to mind is an incident in January where Minister for Religious Affairs Aamir Liaquat’s car was stopped by the police during a traffic campaign against tinted glass. Not only was the minister, who was driving in a car with tinted glass windows, let off, the campaign itself was suspended the following day. Similarly, in Friday’s incident, the chief security official at the airport apologised to the errant MNA and transferred the official who had forbidden the parliamentarian to carry arms in a restricted area to another section of the airport.
Besides breeding a culture of discrimination where legislators and other high-ups are given preferential treatment over common citizens, and are not held accountable for breaching the rules, all this is also demoralising for those who are supposed to enforce the law. There is growing public resentment against the unchecked perpetuation of the VIP culture and an equal sense of helplessness among police and other security officials who are obstructed from carrying out their responsibilities in an even-handed manner. Interference of this sort by politicians and others with clout cannot be allowed. The law applies in equal measure to all and attempts to violate it should be strictly dealt with, no matter how influential a person the transgressor might be.
the security officer was doing his job, we talka big talk about ppl should be hoest and do their jobs, yet when they want to do their jobs like this guy or the guy who pilled amir liaqats car over, or the cops who had stopped MNAs during nawaz's rule.. not only are not allowed to do their jo, but it is a career limiting move for them.
I am not sure if you are playing innocent here, but bhayya is a term used by non-Mohajirs to refer to all Mohajirs (irrespective of their affiliation/stance on MQM), just like we use the term "Mullah" for bearded ones (scholar/no-scholar). I would prefer that you refrain using that term.
well the term bhaiiya is in the same category as akhrot, chopaye, daggay, marhoo etc. I would nto be comfortable using these words so carelessly if at all.
People like CheGuevara are using the epithets like "Bhaiyya" to make fun of mohajirs.. thats very sad. I have been there, done that. I lived in Bahadurabad/Tariq Road area for 3 years and have seen rest of the Pakistanis accusing Mohajirs of every little crime MQM used to do- calling them names like Bihari or Indians. We have to forget what we are and what language we speak etc. If we keep fighting like this, Pakistan aint gonna move an inch forward.
Mqm is dirty,Governor of Sind Ishrat ul abad khan believed to have commited 50 murders as MQM 'ghunda' long time before he became governor.I have had my share of problems with MQM living in Karachi.They used to come to our office to collect 'bhata' or tax back in the 90's.A friend of mine got robbed by MQM as he had all his machines in the factory stolen.But they are not the only ones who are criminal minded,people from Peoples' party and some wadera class groups like Bugtis(thank god they are out of business now),Zehris and others are just as bad.The sad thing about all this is that police and army has its own share of Dakus and criminals which makes it very difficult to control law and order in Pakistan.
Not exactly, you don't see punjabis referring to themselves as duggay or chopaye or Sindhis as marrhoo even Pathans as akhrots...
But you do see a lot of mahajirs refer to themselves as bhayyay...I don't think its a derogatory term, at least not along the lines of daggay, chopaey, marhoo or akhrot...
^other parties are no saints...singer ali azmat's house was once raided by an army of gunmen belonging to muslim league politician Watoo just because he used the word 'lota' in talking about politicians of Pakistan..as for President Musharraf's army people,they also have the 'Ghunda' mentality,not long ago an army colonel shot a man to death over some petty argument and no case was allowed to be brought against him.Ordinary people just don't have rights here.
Arrey yaar, let us not fight over ethnicities etc.- we already have many problems in Pakistan. If MQM commits crime, they should be punished by the police and the law.. The problem is law and order is again a mockery in Pakistan. I am a Punjabi and it pains to see Punjabis fighting Mohajirs fighting Sindhis etc.. plus there are Balochs who dont like anyone and Pathans who have tribal customs- do you think we can become the "Asian Tiger" if we keep quarelling like this?