MQM quits government?

So whats next? political storm in a teacup or seismic event?

Conspirators did it, says Altaf

KARACHI, July 27: Leader of the Muttahidda Qaumi Movement (MQM), Altaf Hussain told a big gathering of workers on Thursday night that his party was forced to quit the government at centre and in Sindh by ‘the conspirators’ who ought to be proceeded against.

By implication, he named the Muttahidda Majlis-i-Amal (MMA) who he thought was being backed by the establishment.

Addressing the party workers by telephone from London, he cautioned President Pervez Musharraf and Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz to beware of these elements.“ They should distinguish between friends and foes because these very elements had often brought downfall of government in the past,” he said.

Mr Hussain regretted that despite being the first to ask for permission to stage the independence day rally at Minar-i-Pakistan,Lahore, MMA was given preference for staging a similar show, and MQM was asked to advance its function by a day. His party, he said, had gladly accepted the government request but was quick to realise the catch in it.

The MQM leader, who had summoned the emergency session of the workers to inform them about the background of the party’s decision to bid farewell to the government after over three years, remarked that certain conspirators had been trying to mislead the president and the prime minister and asked them to be careful against them.

However, he warned that any attempt on the part of the establishment to suppress or repress MQM would be stoutly resisted because the party had come of age. It was no more in infancy. The 1992 incident should not be repeated because then it will be “all dama dam mast qalandar”, he remarked meaning that those trying to crush the party would face a different organisation this time.

Simultaneously, he asked the former ministers, advisers and special assistants to continue to serve the masses as MPAs, senators and MNAs. He emphasized that MQM was committed to the welfare of the poor and the downtrodden.

He explained that while Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim was creating obstacles in the way of the MQM ministers and advisers in Sindh, a handful of generals and army officers tried to create problems for the party ministers at the Centre.

They not only refused to listen to these ministers, but wrote insulting and indecent letters against them. Things had come to pass where MQM had no option but to finally quit the cabinets at federal and provincial levels.

However, he asked the people not worry about government and keep working harder and harder for the welfare of the people.

He advised the intelligence agencies to learn from the past and desist from polluting the atmosphere from their foolish actions

Re: MQM quits government?

^^ Funny how my Urdu People are the only group being "remote controlled" from London. Others may have leaders "homed" overseas. Still MQM has no local voices. Everything has to come down from our fuhrer in London.

Quite an issue again…
lets see what happens…

For a moment I thought it all was happening due to this; :smiley:
http://dawn.com/2006/07/26/letted.htm#3

its all in a greater scheme of things.
and points to major changes in Pakistan planned
no coincidence that nawaz and BB had issued statements recently also
plus other rumblings in external quarters

MQM is going through one of its prennial irrational and inexplicable drama phases that most fascist organizations such as nazis are known to go through from now and then...

Just like Hitler, who inexplicably attacked Russia and then decided against a ground invasion of England, that fat-head Altaf has inexplicably decided to withdraw his ministers, which follows their previous inexplicable decision to not contest baldiati elections...

They are not “your” Urdu people. I don’t even know what that means.

CheGuvera, nice name calling. As usual nothing of substance in your post. Just a display of frustration from you that there is a party in Pakistan that can challenge Punjabi raj.

Zakk,

“However, he warned that any attempt on the part of the establishment to suppress or repress MQM would be stoutly resisted because the party had come of age. It was no more in infancy. The 1992 incident should not be repeated because then it will be “all dama dam mast qalandar”, he remarked meaning that those trying to crush the party would face a different organisation this time.”

I think he is threatening Sindhis. 1992 his criminals raped sindhi women, tortured and killed innocent sindhis and embossed MQM on children butts as a result of police action in Hyderabad. Sindhis were targeted on the assumption that all Sindhis were supporters of BB’s PPP who was in power at that time. Their criminal acts were supported by Punjabi army in Hyderabad and Ghulam Ishaq Khan at center who was president at that time. After that BB’s government was dismissed.

FARID

Indeed Farid, MQM has a horrible record of killing, raping, tortures, kidnaping and bhatta-khori. Yet such politicians are elected by people. May be awam has no other choice. Almost all politicians are corrupt and criminals. I hate all politicians of Pakistan.

Whole world is targetting muslims and look at our people, everything looks messed up there. Instead of getting better, things are getting worse and worse. Instead the awam should get united, they are threatening each other. If these things will continue, end result (nauzbillah) looks barbaadi.

Bro, does that also include Maulana Fazlur Rahman and Qazi Hussein Ahmed too? it would be shocking if you say yes.

quit govt? what govt? you forgot all you guys have in pakistan is one big gang under mushy's able dictatorship. salute and bend as he wants and you can be in kursi. be slow to do that and kaput. simple.

Musharraf talks to Altaf, consults constitutional experts

** MQM expected to reconsider resignation after meeting PM today *
** Musharraf to invite MQM leaders for a meeting in the next few days*

By Khurrum Anis, Razzak Abro and Rana Qaisar

KARACHI/ISLAMABAD: President General Pervez Musharraf has telephoned Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) leader Altaf Hussain to discuss the resignation of the party’s parliamentarians, while also consulting legal and constitutional experts to determine a way out of the imbroglio, sources said on Friday.

Meanwhile, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) is expected to ponder retracting its decision to quit the government after its Karachi-based leadership’s meeting with Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz at Governor’s House today (Saturday).

Meanwhile, MQM’s Shamim Siddiqui on Friday handed the resignations of the party’s four federal ministers to President Pervez Musharraf and refused to be part of the government until Sindh Chief Minister Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim was removed from office.

Sources said the president would be inviting Pakistan Muslim League (PML) and MQM leaders to Islamabad in the next few days to end the differences between the two coalition partners. The relief for MQM could include the annulment of the chief minister’s decision to ban teachers’ unions, allocations of jobs to MQM-recommended people and withdrawal of the chief minister’s jurisdiction over land under the Karachi board of revenue.

MQM sources confirmed that the president telephoned Altaf and the party’s Coordination Committee Convenor Dr Imran Farooq on Thursday at midnight, Online reported. They said the MQM leader had assured Musharraf that his party would continue supporting government anti-terrorism policies as well as the general current political set-up.

Government sources told Online on Friday the crisis had led the president and prime minister to consult their constitutional experts to determine a way out of the imbroglio.

Sources said that Prime Minister Aziz, who was already scheduled to visit Karachi on Friday for official engagements, has handed President Pervez Musharraf’s message to disgruntled MQM legislators, through Governor Ishratul Ibad, to end the present political crisis in the country. Aziz held a 30-minute meeting with Sindh Governor Ishratul Ibad and Chief Minister Arbab Rahim at Governor’s House. PML Secretary General Mushahid Hussain, Federal Minister Salim Saifullah, Information Minister Mohammad Ali Durrani and City Nazim Mustafa Kamal attended the meeting.

Soon after he landed at Karachi airport flanked by PML Secretary General Mushahid Hussain, the prime minister sounded optimistic about a possible end to the stalemate created by the MQM, sources said.

Sources said the prime minister gave a patient hearing to the MQM’s grievances, which are mainly related to the Sindh chief minister. While ruling out the dismissal of the incumbent chief minister, sources said that the prime minister gave the MQM firm assurances on behalf of President Musharraf, who held a telephone conversation with MQM chief Altaf Hussain late on Thursday night.

Sources said that the prime minister also met Rahim and other PML leaders in a separate meeting at Chief Minister House. Siddiqui, the federal communication minister, arrived in Islamabad from Karachi earlier and went straight to the Camp Office, where he handed the resignations to Musharraf’s deputy military secretary. However, the president did not meet Siddiqui.

“The resignations have not yet been accepted. The MQM leadership has raised certain issues and the government is looking into them,” Minister of State for Information Tariq Azeem Khan said. Those who resigned are: Communication Minister Shamim Siddiqui, Housing Minister Safwanullah, Ports Minister Babar Khan Ghauri and State Minister for Religious Affairs Dr Aamir Liaquat Hussain.

“Some elements in the presidential camp are responsible for this situation,” Siddiqui said.

He said that the MQM would not support a no-confidence move against the prime minister. However, the MQM would contest the 2007 elections with its own agenda. PML leaders expressed confidence that their talks with the MQM leadership would end successfully.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006\07\29\story_29-7-2006_pg1_1

Altaf Hussain assuring support government’s anti terrorism policies :smiley: and i thought he is one of the biggest terrorists himelf.

Altaf BHAI is going to bring revolution into Pakistan by challenging punjabi raj, he will make it the most peaceful country on earth with no corruption, no ghunda gardi, no rishwat khori, no quota system in jobs etc etc etc…JAI HO ALTAF BHAi KI JAI HO:hoonh:

Selective memory I see. You can’t even mention the wadera and jeay sindh and PPP thugs who went on rampage against muhajirs. All you are repeating is propoganda fed to you by ISI-paid journalsits. They used to this a lot during the anti-MQM operations. News stories of torture chambers, jinnahpur, etc. of MQM.

hahahaha :hehe: … that was nice. You seem a student of a madarsah.

Well, i hate corrupt and criminal politicians and i believe Maulana Fazlur Rahman’s name is also their with diesel. Whereas, Qazi sahab has no good record either. For example he is quoted as the one who supported Yahya khan to held elections after one year which was totally unnecessary at that time whereas now he wants prompt elections; he supported military govt in the past and now he’s against it. And other multiple controversial policies of him do not give any good impression. And i’m not impressed by him at all … these politicians are just ineffective dummies like others.

khekshan,

"You can't even mention the wadera and jeay sindh and PPP thugs who went on rampage against muhajirs. All you are repeating is propoganda fed to you by ISI-paid journalsits. They used to this a lot during the anti-MQM operations. News stories of torture chambers, jinnahpur, etc. of MQM."

Can you name one wadera, ppp thugs who went on rampage against muhajirs? Jeay Sindh was and still part of MQM criminals. Jeay Sindh is also party of criminals who had committed lots of heinous crimes against innocent Sindhis.

What I said is a fact can be confirmed from your Muhajirs living in Hyderabad. Many of these criminals are still enjoying free and lucrative lives in Hyderabad and in Karachi.

FARID

Jeay Sindh is no longer part of MQM. They are and remain Sindhi thugs and should never have been allowed to join MQM.

And PPP has never been involved in violence? Do you really believe this nonsense?

Here are some deaths of mohajirs, many at the hands of PPP thugs: Raids and Arrests, Extra-Judicial Killings (FFC)
This should make you happy.

PPP has a long history of violence against its opponents, both Sindhi and Mohajir.

Blaming others doesn't do anything. This is a never-ending debate. MQM, PPP, PML OR JAMAAT - E - ISLAAMI..it doesnt matter which one you support or which one you think is right.
One thing we should all understand is that we'll have to compromise with each other if we wanna take Pakistan forward. By "WE", i also mean everyone involved in the politics of Pakistan.

^ right-on

its funny how kehkashan (team mqm) is saying how farid (team PPP) is reading pro-isi stuff, i mean both of you have your heads so far up your respective parties rear so high up, you're sounding delusional. But I have to hand it to farid here, altafs mqm is like a disease.

maulana fazlur is a nice guy and good speeches- I listened to one of his speeches in Abottabad. He sounds nice.. I don’t know why people are associating him with diesel and calling him “Maulana diesel”. Qazi sahib is a tiger janaab. With mushy and shaukat aziz in power, we are becoming more and more
modern and forgetting our Islamic roots :frowning: