Long ago, i change my stance against MQM, its a political reality. If you don’t accept it, then keep living in the world of fools. In our lovely Jang News paper today:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/313493-mqm-political-reality-split-sharif
err wine, we already know you’re a big fan of the MQM, no need to convince us…
:omg: MQM protesting against BB’s poster’s burning, protest against: “immoral, illegal, unIslamic mode of actions” :rotfl: … as they say ‘chhaj bolay to bolay, chhalni bhi bolay jis may sau chhed’. A party based on ethnic lines, killing people left n right, torturing people with drill machines, extorting money talks about “unIslamic ways”. This should’ve been in Jokes section.
Sir jee, if they can bring out 10s of thousand people in 22 hours, is it not an achievement? Until when we will keep denying the fact? Anyway, punjabi mein PPP ki hi government ho gai..
More like a mafia, they did similar on May 12, 2007, no?
Yar Ehtsaab point of posting was MQM enjoy popular support in their respective areas, right ?
Re: Sharif Brother's Disqualified!!!
well...although i am not a fan of mqm, but i'll have to agree that they are a political reality in Karachi/Hyderabad...
Re: Sharif Brother's Disqualified!!!
It is quite unfortunate that PPP is being led by Zardari today. But for the first time, MQM is doing the right thing. The gross mistake which was committed by people of Karachi and Hyderabad in the 70s was opposition of the PPP which was overwhelemly supported by Sindhi people. Those days they were being represented by JI and JUP.
Later MQM adopted anti PPP approach during late 80s and 90s. It is the province of Sindh and Sindhi people who welcomed them in 1947 so they always support a party who represents Sindh.
err, I wasnt talking about their strength or punjab or 10s of thousands of people… i was just saying how you need not play games to tell us how you started supporting the mqm just now, we knew that all along ![]()
p.s. if the MQM is so grand, why do they muster just 19 seats out of 340? ![]()
Yeah not to mention the fact taht they were burning, and defaming posters of benazir back in the 90s when the great general babur was leading an operation against their top commandos/terrorists ![]()
It is quite unfortunate that PPP is being led by Zardari today. But for the first time, MQM is doing the right thing. The gross mistake which was committed by people of Karachi and Hyderabad in the 70s was opposition of the PPP which was overwhelemly supported by Sindhi people. Those days they were being represented by JI and JUP.
Later MQM adopted anti PPP approach during late 80s and 90s. It is the province of Sindh and Sindhi people who welcomed them in 1947 so they always support a party who represents Sindh.
I hope someday the basis of support will be what is right, moral and legal and not Punjabi, Sindhi and Mohajir!
The reality is still the government of Pakistan is running on assumption that November 3rd was a legal and right action. Now unless the government gets these actions of November 3rd ratified from the parliament these actions will still remain illegal, or they have to revert to pre November 3rd position. These parties may be elected and government may have come after a somewhat fair electoral process they have yet to acquire legality. Musharraf was more democrat than present set up as he atleast got his illegal action ratified from the parliament through infamous 17th ammendment.
MQM supported Musharraf's illegal actions, and continues to support illegality of present set up just because they want to be buddies with Sindhis. For once the voters of MQM should force their representatives to support what is legal, moral and whatever is right. I can assure you MQM will win more friends all over Pakistan including Sindhis if they leave this politics of opportunism. Otherwise in a new aware Pakistan being created by civil society and media, MQM will become totally obselete. It's just a matter of time.
NRO my dear NRO
Now they are on the same boat if Jutice Iftikhar come , both of them will be inside drawing room
Re: MQM is a political reality [split: Sharif Brother's Disqualified!!!]
It appears Zardari and PPP will no longer be in govt but if he is sent back or killed, there will be furious reaction by Sindhi people and as always the urdu speaking people will be the first to bear the loss as Sindhies always consider them at the 'freinds of imperialist forces" in Pakistan.
I agree, regardless of their motives against Pakistan, MQM is a political force to reckon with. It has massive support in Urban Sindh, both in the educated & the not-so-educated classes. Followers of MQM generate more exchequer for Pakistan than mostly likely all the other groups.
It is easy to have a big rally when you have been in power for 10 years.
The true test is when you have been in opposition for many years, and you have not been able to use state patronage to buy support.
In regards to MQM 'support', the test will come after the next big operation, when they are not able to shoot, torture and buy their way into 'winning' seats.
try doing a election in city without their thugs and you would get your answer i can bet they would loose more than 70% , even in this election atleast three national seats they got through gunda gardi and one was my constituency.
It is easy to have a big rally when you have been in power for 10 years.
The true test is when you have been in opposition for many years, and you have not been able to use state patronage to buy support.
In regards to MQM 'support', the test will come after the next big operation, when they are not able to shoot, torture and buy their way into 'winning' seats.
Remember 1993 elections? just after 1992 operation when MQM leadership and workers were running away either out of country and to tribal areas. what was the turnout then? and what happened in 1997 elections? BAck in 1993 some candidates got elected MPAs by acquiring just few thousands votes! (Refer to Pakistan Election commission website, search for election results 1993. all offical notifications are there in .zip format)
The point is, regardless of MQM's tactics and gundagardi in the city, they DO have support in Urban Sindh. They are a reality and they can not be neutralized without attacking the root cause of their existance. Untill then we have to bear them in Pakistani political scene.
It appears Zardari and PPP will no longer be in govt but if he is sent back or killed, there will be furious reaction by Sindhi people and as always the urdu speaking people will be the first to bear the loss as Sindhies always consider them at the 'freinds of imperialist forces" in Pakistan.
Nobody cares about it.
We have to look at furious reaction of 66% Pakistan and 9.25 crore people of Punjab whose favourite Chief Minister and Pakistan favourite leader is kicked out on orders and deal of SC with Zardari.
i dont want to start provincial anarchy and debate here but its time to reconsider this Punjab-Bashing nonesense
Kala Bagh Dam is a classical example that our industries are ruining because of it .Rs. 14 / unit by Chor BB and Zardari with IPPPs who produce with oil and gas
Enough is Enough
Punjab will not sacrifice anymore
Remember 1993 elections? just after 1992 operation when MQM leadership and workers were running away either out of country and to tribal areas. what was the turnout then? and what happened in 1997 elections? BAck in 1993 some candidates got elected MPAs by acquiring just few thousands votes! (Refer to Pakistan Election commission website, search for election results 1993. all offical notifications are there in .zip format)
The point is, regardless of MQM's tactics and gundagardi in the city, they DO have support in Urban Sindh. They are a reality and they can not be neutralized without attacking the root cause of their existance. Untill then we have to bear them in Pakistani political scene.
They should then act like a political party not Unit Sector Incharge Politics
Some of my family members are in Karachi .they tell us how it is COMPULSORY on every house to have atleast 3 members to attend MQM procession otherwise ... !
Lets not carried away here. I am from Karachi and I KNOW this is not truth. I still have family living there and it never happened with them. No one ever came knocking on our doors asking to attend their processions! but still I will let other members who are LIVING in Karachi (not some self- proclaimed karachites
) to come and CONFIRM or REJECT this claim.
ADDENDUM: They do come for donations from time to time, but saying that it’s compulsory on every house to have atleast 3 members to attend MQM’s procession is simply not truth.
Thre are 60 70 lakh homes in Karachi.Certainly they cannot go to every house or at the palce or locality where your family do live presently.But my cousins are also from same city and tell us that.
PS : We call is Bhatta instead of Donations