KARACHI: The ongoing tussle between former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif and the Pakistan cricket authorities could snowball into a major issue after a meeting held by some Karachi-based parliamentarians with Prime Minister Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali on Monday.
According to details, Parliamentarians Dr Farooq Sattar, Haider Rizvi and Babar Ghouri during their meeting with the premier held an extensive discussion on cricket affairs and particularly those relating to Karachi.
The parliamentarians conveyed to the Prime Minister that they were disappointed with the recent announcements of the Board regarding disciplinary action against Rashid Latif for giving an interview on a television channel.
The parliamentarians wanted to know what crime had the former Pakistan captain committed by raising his voice against the wrong policies of the Board?
They felt that instead of talking about a ban on Rashid the Board officials should meet with him and find out about his grievances as he had every right to feel disgruntled at being dropped from the Pakistan team for no valid reason.
They also informed the Premier that the Board was involved in a court case with the Karachi City Cricket Association (KCCA) and in many cricket areas Karachi umpires, officials and former players were not getting a fair deal.
They requested Prime Minister Jamali to convey their concerns about the Board to the President who is the chief patron of the Pakistan Cricket Board.
The three senior parliamentarians conveyed to the Premier that since cricket was a major sport and passion of the Pakistani people, the Pakistan Cricket Board and its officials and selectors should be accountable for their decisions and actions.
The Pakistan board has issued a show cause notice to Rashid for his comments on a recent television interview and a meeting of its disciplinary committee is expected soon to hear out the charges of violating the code of conduct against him.
Thats weird, i dont htink he would do that personally.. infact he doesnt have to use connections ot get in the team.. performance wise he can be slected in any team aroudn the world. Its just that Karachi parlimentarians decided it to make a karachi-lahore issue themselves.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by saby: *
Thats weird, i dont htink he would do that personally.. infact he doesnt have to use connections ot get in the team.. **performance wise he can be slected in any team aroudn the world*. Its just that Karachi parlimentarians decided it to make a karachi-lahore issue themselves.
I think whats really pissing him of is the way Moin Khan with less less than average abilities is being selected again for thenational team and he is avoided again...if it were Asim Kamal, selected then rashid might have not gone this far to try to get himself back in the team.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by Nikema: *
**I think whats really pissing him of is the way Moin Khan with less less than average abilities is being selected again for thenational team and he is avoided again...if it were **Asim Kamal*, selected then rashid might have not gone this far to try to get himself back in the team.
I think you mean Kamran Akmal.
Latif's tactics might be a bit over the top but he is totally justified in complaining because he's streets ahead of Moin Khan at present.
Also, one thing I've noticed of all the seniors in the 90s team - they're all preoccupied with themselves. As opposed to Imran's policies, none of them want to give youngsters a chance if they can sneak in a "senior" instead. Inzi should let go of the favouritism 'cause Aamir Sohail for once had it right. If we stuck to the kind of selection philsophy that Inzi belongs to, we might not even have seen awesome talents like Malik and Yasir Hameed make their mark.
Now, he's pushing for Saqi and Younis' selection. I think Saqi has been mistreated and deserves another shot - no captain has known how to handle him well after Wasim, imo. Younis, however, is another case. He is a very limited player and has made little improvement. Even on his day he's capable of being a only support player and will not relieve some of the burdeon off Inzi and Youhana. So, what's the point of perpetually bitching on behalf of him? This is why we can't go anywhere. Misbah has come in and performed nearly every single time but he was always dropped to accomodate Younis and the same might happen again 'cause of Inzi's insistence. We used to hear about how there is no batting talent in Pakistan and now we have some really good batsmen lining up with even two people competing for some spots. So, let's not ruin it by bringing back "experienced" yet increasingly limited players as in Moin and Younis.
Rashid Latif is the best keeper in Pakistan @ this moment, and with the Moin's recent performance, he is even a better keeper/batsman then Moin but then again, he is getting old, and we need someone new.
Rashid is probably the best wicket keeper after Wasim Bari Pakistan ever had. But too many controversies and now the political connections are also being used. His image is getting uglier day by day.
^^ well we cant say for sure that He is using political connections. Like the news link show, parlimentarians talked with premiere according to their own will. Rashid nay tu utla panga liya hai head-on,
Rashid Latif did himself a wrong thing by dropping out of the series against South Africa, no player in the Pakistani team has a permanent spot and the last thing in the world you want to do is take a break when your place in the team is not solid.
He has only himself to blame.
I agree the fact that Amir Sohail did wrong by not picking Rashid, but the main fault goes to Rashid.
Moin is way better than Rashid, and I stand up for him, since when he won us the semi final in `92 (when he was gloriously rewarded by being replaced by Rashid when they toured England after that), till the time he retires. Rashid may have been more atheletically flexible behind the stumps, but he never put in his 100% in the game, like Moin used to. Now hes using MQM connections? What an idiot.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
Moin is way better than Rashid, and I stand up for him, since when he won us the semi final in `92 (when he was gloriously rewarded by being replaced by Rashid when they toured England after that), till the time he retires. Rashid may have been more atheletically flexible behind the stumps, but he never put in his 100% in the game, like Moin used to. Now hes using MQM connections? What an idiot.
Spock bhai, Rashid never used MQM, its those idiots are asking for him.
Moin was definitly the better guy in 92, and has won us many matches with the bat but you have to look at current state of form of these 2 guys, Rashid is way more consistent behind the wickets.
Moin dropped so many crucial catches in the test series against South Africa.
Rashid has also dropped a couple but he is way more consistent behind the stumps and that is main priority.
hmmm.....i doubt that too....but lets wait for Rashid's statement on this issue. He might deny that if he has asked them to raise it with PM.
Some Karachi cricketers always have problems with the board. First it was Miandad (and still is) and now Rashid. They can't go well along with authorities.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by Spock: *
Moin is way better than Rashid, and I stand up for him, since when he won us the semi final in `92 *(when he was gloriously rewarded by being replaced by Rashid when they toured England after that)**,
Bhi Jaan in that series Rashid got the chance after repeated failure of Moin Khan in first 4 tests both with bat and with gloves.
and dont forget Imran's comment after that series he said** " If i had rashid in the WC team then it would have been much easire for us to win the WC."**