Hello everyone,
What is the reason the moving to Dallas, TX from around US Cities is the most in number these days?
Re: Moving to Dallas, TX
Pleasant weather, job/business opportunities, less expensive, bigger community, Nauman Ali Khan… Just to name the few reasons ![]()
Hello everyone, What is the reason the moving to Dallas, TX from around US Cities is the most in number these days?
We just moved out to Dallas...last August :) My parents moved out here last weekend as a matter of fact.
Eventually my sisters will follow.
There are many reasons:
Weather - especially for elderly parents
Cheaper housing (compared to Chicago)
More job opportunities (market is less saturated in my opinion)
The community in Dallas is big but not as densely packed as Chicago's is...so you have mosques, events, restaurants, etc but they still have a community feel to them
It just depends on what you want or are looking for. If you want to move...there seems to be a mass migration going on at the moment to Dallas because people are finding themselves in a better financial situation out here.
I moved here four years ago for one reason: husband wanted to move here to start a business. I really wanted to move to colorado but that didn't happen... Anyway, there are many good things about north texas, the weather is nice, job market is incredible especially if you are in IT, it is cheaper here, NO state tax, it is open and a lot less crowded than other cities like NY, Chicago, LA, and more.
The growth isn’t only in Dallas. Texas in general is booming for the reasons mentioned above.
https://www.census.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2016/cb16-81.html
Why Colorado?
I moved here four years ago for one reason: husband wanted to move here to start a business. I really wanted to move to colorado but that didn't happen... Anyway, there are many good things about north texas, the weather is nice, job market is incredible especially if you are in IT, it is cheaper here, NO state tax, it is open and a lot less crowded than other cities like NY, Chicago, LA, and more.
Theorist, what bizeness opportunities out there?
I thought Texas was hurting due to low crude and Nat gas prices.
Do they recycle in Texas?
We’re more diversified than people give us credit for. ![]()
I really wanted to move to colorado but that didn't happen...
My husband desperately wants to move to Colorado lol. He hates the weather here.
I wonder with this mass migration of desis to houston/dallas/austin, when are the local people who gets imaged as the bully cowboys gonna be outnumbered?! ![]()
Why Colorado?
Because I fell in love with Colorado the first time I visited the place. In my opinion, there is no other state like it. I love the weather there, the culture, the people, the amazing scenery and so much more! I have heard it's getting crowded there too because too many people are moving to Colorado but that doesn't deter me.
I have been there many times now and every time I leave a bit of my soul there....
Theorist, what bizeness opportunities out there?
Honestly, I don't know exactly but I feel it has something to do with the fact that it is growing rapidly and I see new businesses popping up everywhere literally every week!
It looks like cheap housing, better job opportunities, strong economy making Texas moving place. I personally think NY, LA and Chicago are very good places but weather condition is tough for desi population.
Because I fell in love with Colorado the first time I visited the place. In my opinion, there is no other state like it. I love the weather there, the culture, the people, the amazing scenery and so much more! I have heard it's getting crowded there too because too many people are moving to Colorado but that doesn't deter me.
I have been there many times now and every time I leave a bit of my soul there....
Two weird things about colorado:
1) Its ultra crazy weather in winter. Why would u spend 8 months in snow and that too a brutal one.
2) Sorry for generalizing but majority are super prejudice, rednecks and avengalists. I would personally try to stay away from them.
Yes, the natural beauty and wildlife is epic. But thats why most of the residents are hunters. I would never go along with them.
Intriguing! Which city to visit?
1) Its ultra crazy weather in winter. Why would u spend 8 months in snow and that too a brutal one. 2) Sorry for generalizing but majority are super prejudice, rednecks and avengalists. I would personally try to stay away from them.
Yes, the natural beauty and wildlife is epic. But thats why most of the residents are hunters. I would never go along with them.
My desi husband was born/raised in CO. My in-laws moved to a small town outside Denver 40+ years ago. We go there 2-3x/yearly. My in-laws have a place in Denver, a place in Pueblo and a place in Breckenridge.
1) Yes it gets cold there during the winter. But it doesn't stop people from living/doing what they want/need to. It's just a matter of being used to the cold. Plenty of people think Texas has "crazy weather' and doesn't understand how we live in the hot/humid weather most of the year. It's a matter of perspective.
2) How much time have you spent in Colorado and in which cities? While I agree the it's not as diverse as other states in the U.S., I disagree with the statement that "majority are super prejudice, rednecks and avengalists". My desi in-laws know quite a few other desi families there and even have tons of white families they have met/became friends with over the last few decades. Even during my own regular visits there in the 3 places mentioned above, I personally have never experienced or felt that people were prejudiced. So I would love to hear what experiences led you to the conclusion that majority of the people are prejudiced?
3) Not everyone in Texas owns a gun and likes to hunt. I promise you, the same applies to Colorado. My husband/in-laws are not hunters and they know plenty of other families (WHITE families) that do not hunt.
Intriguing! Which city to visit?
Denver is a great place for first-timers. Of course there is Vail and Aspen for snow sports and gorgeous views but they're expensive. Breckenridge is a great place to visit that has skiing, snowmobiling, dogsledding, gorgeous views etc. but much most affordable than Vail/Aspen.
My desi husband was born/raised in CO. My in-laws moved to a small town outside Denver 40+ years ago. We go there 2-3x/yearly. My in-laws have a place in Denver, a place in Pueblo and a place in Breckenridge.
1) Yes it gets cold there during the winter. But it doesn't stop people from living/doing what they want/need to. It's just a matter of being used to the cold. Plenty of people think Texas has "crazy weather' and doesn't understand how we live in the hot/humid weather most of the year. It's a matter of perspective.
2) How much time have you spent in Colorado and in which cities? While I agree the it's not as diverse as other states in the U.S., I disagree with the statement that "majority are super prejudice, rednecks and avengalists". My desi in-laws know quite a few other desi families there and even have tons of white families they have met/became friends with over the last few decades. Even during my own regular visits there in the 3 places mentioned above, I personally have never experienced or felt that people were prejudiced. So I would love to hear what experiences led you to the conclusion that majority of the people are prejudiced?
3) Not everyone in Texas owns a gun and likes to hunt. I promise you, the same applies to Colorado. My husband/in-laws are not hunters and they know plenty of other families (WHITE families) that do not hunt.
Denver is a great place for first-timers. Of course there is Vail and Aspen for snow sports and gorgeous views but they're expensive. Breckenridge is a great place to visit that has skiing, snowmobiling, dogsledding, gorgeous views etc. but much most affordable than Vail/Aspen.
Arey baji aap to dil pe le gaeen.. Men te majak karrya tha.. Chalen aap khush rahen, hamara kya hai :)
Chalo, a gift from NYC to Dallas… thank us later ![]()
Keep Calm: The Halal Guys Land In Dallas This Summer - Eater Dallas
1) Its ultra crazy weather in winter. Why would u spend 8 months in snow and that too a brutal one. 2) Sorry for generalizing but majority are super prejudice, rednecks and avengalists. I would personally try to stay away from them.
Flatland of Colorado actually has good weather and that is where the majority of population lives. Everybody that we met on our trips were incredibly nice and mellowed out folks. I feel like I belong there. They get me, man! And can we just talk about the weed? Dude!!