Hiya All,
Not sure if there are any other guppies in Calgary…but any advice about moving to Calgary will be greatly appreciated!! Thanks..
S.
Hiya All,
Not sure if there are any other guppies in Calgary…but any advice about moving to Calgary will be greatly appreciated!! Thanks..
S.
Well it's a beautiful place. What kind of tips do you need though? well if you want to rent an apartment then rent it in the North area, it's cheaper. Expensive one is South West.
and.....i guess you should ask me questions that way ill be able to help you better.
hate 2 break it to you,,, calgary sucks, its all cowboys and hicks
try Edmonton, I here its much nicer
So Destinee are you a cowboy or a hick?
Well I am moving from Dallas to Calgary, so Im sure the cowboys and hicks shouldnt bother me much!! AHAHHA as for Edmonton being nicer, everyone I have talked has told me calgary is alot nicer....
Destinee yeah thats was the kind info I was looking for, we are hoping to rent something for a little while then buy a condo. Anyways, where is University of Calgary, is that in the north or the south...
Thanks for the info... oh right ow is the public transit?? any good??
S.
Are you sure you want to move to Calgary at this time of the year?. It gets pretty darn cold and depressing in winters.
Good luck anyway.
If I had the choice I wouldnt move... but the job is too good for my husband to pass it up... but thanks for your well wishes...
Im from TO so the cold wont be that harsh for me...but Kasim is going to DIEEEEEEEE after having been in Lahore and DAllas....ahhahaha..
Another quick question...what area is closest to the Airport as my husband will be travelling about 60% of the time......
*Originally posted by cHEeGUm: *
The Game Responds:
*She is a hick who hates all non-Kashmiris. Really. People, That Is All.*
*Originally posted by cHEeGUm: *
Not a Cowboy for sure. Hick? Is it bad to be one? I could be a hick I guess.
*Originally posted by GummyBear: *
Well I am moving from Dallas to Calgary, so Im sure the cowboys and hicks shouldnt bother me much!! AHAHHA as for Edmonton being nicer, everyone I have talked has told me calgary is alot nicer....
Destinee yeah thats was the kind info I was looking for, we are hoping to rent something for a little while then buy a condo. Anyways, where is University of Calgary, is that in the north or the south...
Thanks for the info... oh right ow is the public transit?? any good??
S.
Talking about Condos. Ahhh..they have some COOL condos in downtown near the Bow River. Gosh! they are really cool!
i live in South West actually and the tough thing here is that all the desi stores are in North so we have to go all the way to the North to get daalain and other crap. So I guess if you don't have a car then you should choose North.
To be honest, transit system in Calgary SUCKS! if you travel by train that's good, but by bus is like hell I tell you. Well maybe it's not that bad but khair, it is somewhat.
Oh and U of C is in NW but it's really close to my house and I live in SW. Depends I guess. If you live in NE you'll have to take a train to get there. If you're in SW then you'll have to take a bus coz South main koi train nahi aati sigh
Airport is in NE I think. So North area suits you better I guess.
*Originally posted by the game: *
The Game Responds:
*She is a hick who hates all non-Kashmiris. Really. People, That Is All.*
I wish you were one.
DEstinee thanks so much for all the info, I really appreciate it.... Alot of the apts I am liking are in the SW...but I wont know until I get there..
I shall keep asking questions as they come up....thanks so much once again...ahhaha my main concern...are there any desi beauty salons.....hahahahaha my # 1 priority!!!
S.
who ever says calgary sucks, let me break it to you, NO U BUT U DO!!! ![]()
Elahi, Edmonton is sooooo cold boring and DEAD!!! Calgary is always on FLAMES! Slimy Edmontonian Oilers…Whatever ![]()
Gummy bear, I’m telling you the city is friendly, warm and full of great cheer. Its cold all over Canada. Calgary has its advantages. In winter you get the chinook warm air. Which stirs up a warm atmosphere and makes you bear the chilly weather. The transit systems is one of the best. The city train can take you anywhere, anytime. Its a small city, not hard to catch up with but very friendly. The SE is full of orientals, and desis. NW is better to live at. MOre cleaner, low-crime rate and plenty of nice ppl. Places are affordable in Calgary. A two bedroom apartment will cost u no more than $800 in the SW near the university. YOu can also afford a condo house with 3 bedrooms/fully developed basement unit, back yard and much more for barely$1300 (in Ranchland). Dolhousie, Hawkswood are great too. Citadel, country hills are great places as well, costing slightly bit more. You know I’ve been living most of my life there and I’m dying to get back to that city
It kinda grows on you. BTW only during the time of the Stampede during July, u’ll encounter the full cow-boy spirit. That too in the downtown area. Rest of the Calgary is a nice quite town. But full of fun if u want to look out for some.
I’m sure you will have a great stay there. Far better than Dallas. Just a bit cooler compared to the sizzling place u’re about to move from ![]()
Good luck!
Sincerely,
Daysee Behna
ps. U’ll find plenty of desi salons girl … u need help let me know. I’ll hook u up to ppl
Lots of orientals ones too in the SW. Browse the strip mall at the back of SAIT institute, there are some desi salons there. You will find truck loads of them in the SE area.
HAIN??? Transit sucks??? How 'çom? When I was still there it was pretty good. Hmm.. maybe it sucks at the SW area, but its alright in the NW till downtown :D usually thats where i went the most.
Aray baba by “suck” I meant you have to wait for the buses for like 20 or 30 minutes! Do you know about Routes 72 and 73? gosh these buses are SO busy all the time and they go to university too but these buses have like 30 min ka gap and din main sirf do teen baar hi during rush hours it arrives every 15 mintues I think, that’s about it which is not good at all! I hate that! train also comes every 15 minutes. Winter main phir bhi icecream ban jati hai coz snow ki waja se it is really slow sometimes. Or maybe I’m whinning too much 8-\
Well I like Calgary better than Edmonton I think. So two Calgarians voted and baki sab who DO NOT live here should shut it now! We know better ![]()
Yeah there are a couple of desi salons. I even know about this VERY close family friends who have their own salon. Let me know if you want to contact her. She has two salons man! Baki salons are mostly in the North area coz most of the desi population lives there.
Oh and you’re welcome!
hmm…72/73, my friend always used to make a run for it after we’d get off at brentwood from the c-train
But I really can’t remember to be precise yar its been 3+ yrs since I’ve seen the face of that city ![]()
Hey btw SW mie wo pink wali mosque hie, ya the one with the green dome? hehe… so much I’ve to remember ![]()
Aaahhh…Gummy bear, u’d love the Bowness river Parks. sigh there’s such a great ice-cream shop across the river street. Do you know what I’m talking about Destinee?
Ooh Ooh and the camping/ picnics will be absolute breath takers I promise. The sorroundings of Calgary has SO MUCH beauty to offer. If u like being close to Nature. Banff, Kananaskis country are a MUST SEE. U’re holidays will be spectacular if u decide taking road trips. Oh and for ice-cream specialty..don’t forget to visit Cochraine. Its 30 mins away from Calgary.
NE is a desi joint practically. FULL OF Indians, Pakistanies, and plenty others
u won’t be dissapointed. The store where u get all ur spices is called “Spice Land” … destinee may point the directions to u perhaps.
need anything else just say so!
Oh so you've moved eh. hmm.
I live very close to the SW mosque WITH A GREEN dome it's like a 2 min drive. I don't know about the pink one though. Hmm..where is that? It's probably the NW masalla you're talking about but I'm not sure. Hawaifire goes there.
Ahh that ice-cream shop! We used to live close by when we moved to Calgary and used to go for a bike ride to bowness park but never got to taste that ice cream. sigh and yeah I've heard lots about the Cochraine ice cream yaar...i might go there some time if i really feel like having some.
Spice land...hmm..i sort of have the idea where that is but i do know about the other stores my mom goes to for grocery shopping.
between Dearfoot and Shaganappi there is’nt much to Calgary
Make sure you check out that zoo they have on an island though ![]()
everyone knows edmonton is a superior city…which is why it’s the provincial capital..plus the u of c is nothing more than a party school… and what about the oilers? a bra has more cups than the calgary flames :nahnah: