but seriously cons are every where, dying alone in a nursing home or dying in your apartment in Pakistan in agony on a couch calling 15 at the other end and no one picking up.
But don't sweat it, hopefully you will be married inshallah with your grandkids by your side
Age really shouldn't be a barrier to marriage if someone is an adult. As long as mindsets and values match that should be sufficient.
But Inshallah PCG will be surrounded by many grandchildren by her side. Nursing homes are a terrible thought and I doubt they are popular in Pakistani culture.
You guys are already planning/forseeing the last days of a girl who has just turned thirty and is medically fine with a degree in medicine to boot. Logon k dilon say kia khauf e khuda bilkul he uth gaya hay :(
So would you consider it? My husband is the only son and told me on our first date that **if **my in-laws didn't want to move to the US, we would have to move back.
I can't asked my husband to ignore his aging parents...just not that type of a lady. In laws can't move here yet.
Again I can't and won't overlook my aging in laws.
No one is asking you to abandon/ignore your aging in-laws. I understand that for whatever reason, they cannot move here YET. But here's my question, has your in-laws explicitly stated that they do not want to move here under any circumstances? Or are they willing to move to US in the future? I'm just asking b/c I didn't see you actually write that they are refusing to move here.....which was the condition on you guys moving to Pakistan.
We are thinking to move to Pakistan in this coming year, I have 3 kidd, my eldest one will be 11, then 9 and my baby will be 5 IA, how easy it will be for them to adjust there? btw we are moving to Lahore and how much monthly income you need to live a comfortable life there? Thanks
Even if you move there, try to keep your US/nationality/origin secret, don't tell the whole neighbourhood where u came from, so that you don't become a 'target' for theives, robbers, etc
Tell em u moved from Lahore, etc don't mention USA
We are thinking to move to Pakistan in this coming year, I have 3 kidd, my eldest one will be 11, then 9 and my baby will be 5 IA, how easy it will be for them to adjust there? btw we are moving to Lahore and how much monthly income you need to live a comfortable life there? Thanks
Considering the ages of your kids, it wouldn't be too difficult for them to adjust here. Regarding your other question, although everyone's criteria of a comfortable life is different but anything around or above one lac rupees per month would be enough for a family like yours to maintain a reasonably balanced standard in most parts of Pakistan.
My sisters friend and her husband recently moved back to Isb from US. Both had aging parents in Pakistan and didn't want to live away from them. The good thing is that the husband is still working for the same company he was in US, just for less money. He works from home completely . I saw a video clip of the apartment they rented in ISb , it was really really nice. I think they pay around 75k per month for it.
Thing thing with that couple is that, they may come back several years later, this may be a temporary situation but they seem very happy Mashallah. They have a son too who is about 2-3 years old.
No one is asking you to abandon/ignore your aging in-laws. I understand that for whatever reason, they cannot move here YET. But here's my question, has your in-laws explicitly stated that they do not want to move here under any circumstances? Or are they willing to move to US in the future? I'm just asking b/c I didn't see you actually write that they are refusing to move here.....which was the condition on you guys moving to Pakistan.
Paheli00 I never said that posters were asking me to abandon my in-laws, but that was one of the main reason for considering to move. We ended up not moving and are still in the US. Inlaws are still in Pakistan. At this point it looks like they wont be moving here for a little while. They have said new times they do not want to move here. Not sure what will happen when the time comes (when we apply for them.)
What stopped you making this decision, if you don't mind can you share this? As I posted before we are also thinking the same so wanted to consider as much pros and cons as possible. Thanks
It would depend a lot on whether you own your home and what schools you want them to go to. Schooling is crazy expensive here and also if you want to rent in a decent place that would increase your expenses
Don't you think 1/5 is too low? May be I am wrong but What impression I got while sitting here, it should be 1/3! What you say?
1/3 would be too high. In the above example that would be 2.5 lakhs per month. You can live much more comfortably with that in Pak than $90,000/yr in the US.
There are a lot of good thoughts and advise in this thread. Incidents like the one in Peshawar, can happen anywhere, remember Newton and other school shootings. I'm really sad to hear that you guys postponed this to a future date? This is the time to take care of them, you have your life after them, you can always migrate back here. My parents have passed away, I'm so remorseful, angry and sad on myself of not moving back with them when they needed me. They took care of me when I needed them, but I wasn't there when they needed me. (Your hubby will have the same thoughts if he missed this one).
If you or **Khadija11, **decide to go, you can't just comeback after a year, this will be even worse for parents.
Good Luck!!
How are you relations with your in-laws? People sometimes overlook this but this is also a big factor in deciding if you will be able to adjust or not.