movie theater seating debate

first of all I have to admit that I prefer theatres where u can actually pick your seats, earlier u buy, better seats u get, and then also price is diff based on where you sit.

but thats not the case with cinemas in US, atleast most that i have been to.

so, we want to get good seats…get there way aheads of time, go in find the right seats, just the rigth level away, right in the center of the aisle, we sit there, nothing is playing, then you have ads, and previews…and then ppl start coming in, and start sitting, since ppl want person space and all they sit spread out, so maybe there is another few ppl sitting 2 seats away to the left, ppl on the right left a seat or two. Now ppl who show up late first stand at the front of the theater and are trying to look for seats then they come up and ask, oh could you please move..

why should I? am in the seat I wanted…go sit separately..wth kind of request is that, and half the time its damn late lateef desis…which proportionally makes em bigger perps.

as i was talking to someone, they said I was wrong for not moving, which may be the way most late lateefs see it, but then again, my view is I got there early to find the right seat. and lack of planning on someone else’s part does not constitute an obligation for me. I may choose to move, but should not be expected to move.

whats your take

Re: movie theater seating debate

I can't say about cinema but in any other gathering one should make room/accomodate others. Thats part of Islamic culture.

You respect the customs and laws of where you live...You move...And if not moving, then be made to move forcefully if needed...

there is no law for moving, maybe where you live its different.
And as far as culture goes, people say yes if they feel like it and no if they feel like it so there is no real cultural norm either.

forcefully shmorcefully...:D

so are you in the people who move, or are you aming people who ask people to move? ;)

islamically you should also not inconvenience others due to your own follies and lack of planning.

Would you mind if I gave you a yes/but answer?

come on lajawab why would I ever mind your but
or your haan

Hmm..
Well here's something similar, i was on the subway today and a woman sat down across from me. The entire seat area was empty, so she has the right to choose what seat she wants. Well, after a few stops, by this time someone is sitting to her left, and two girls get on and one sits down on the other side of her. Now normally what happens is that if two people come on, and one sits down and there's enough room, the person sitting will move over to accomodate for the other passenger's partner. Its just a considerate gesture i suppose. But this lady didn't move. Now normally that person would ignore and just stand but the girl who was standing didn't appreciate that the woman didn't move over so she could sit next to her friend and the one sitting down didn't feel as if SHE should have to move at all. There was a tiny sliver of space between her friend and the passenger and seh sat down, slamming into the woman. There was so much room on her other side but still she did not budge.

In this case, both were very stubborn and just had nasty attitudes and both were full of pride. A normal person in this situation would either move over to accommodate the other passenger or just stand if that person did not get the hint. So i can't say who was more in teh wrong.

subway is a little diff.
so moving may be a nice thing to do, but sometimes you want to be nicer to yourself than to someone else, and thus if u move its a choice not an obligation.

and sometimes its not a couple poora rewarrr and they want numerous people to mve so they can all sit together, so ask us to move two seats to teh right ask ppl to our left to move a few seats over, and ppl next to them to move a seat over so the rewarr can sit together.

where does one draw the line?

^ are you talking about in teh theater or on the subway?

in the theater, i’ve never been asked to move over myself. however if someone comes in late and a seat next to me is filled with my stuff, they will ask me nicely if htey can sit there, and ill oblige…

subway pe it annoys the **** out of me when a bunch of seats are empty and some cow HAS to come sit next to me, but then they give me alot more attitude :bummer:

sara i am talking about ppl asking others to move a few seats to the left and right so the seats that ppl have left in between become enough for the late comers to sit together and often its not a couple but an entire gang.

oh then yeah that sucks. they can just keep whining.

I understand X2, I would also not move!
Move just so they get the better view, where as u guys made it early to get a good seat, fully understand!r

i think you should let them know that you made an effort and came earlier for better seats so they should just move themselves to some other seat. It's stupid for them to expect you to move to accomodate you.

X2 My take on this is same as yours. I don't ask others to move when I am late (which is almost never) and I don't expect others to ask me to move. So far no one has asked me to move. My friend, this one time, arrived late and he was asking others to move over. My expression was I don't know this person.

Last weekend we were in a theater and there was an empty seat to my left and a few seats next to my wife to her right. A desi family came and they were decent. They all sat next to my wife with the exception of the uncle who was coming to sit to my left. I felt bad separating the family, so I said hold on, I'll move, you guys can sit together. Uncle was happy :D

Same topic but different question: There are times (mostly among desis) when 1 or 2 people of the 10+ group will come and try to hold seats. It PISSES me off. My ass is here on time and I can't sit at that good spot while others who are not even here yet, they have a spot saved for their lazy asses? I don't think so. So this one time we went, the last 5-6 back rows were almost full and a few seats were being held by couples. I moved to the next one one by one by asking if those seats were taken. When I got to row 6-7, those 2 were "taken" by 2-3 college chicks. I didn't bother to ask, me and my brothers sat there. She goes Ummmmm these seats are taken. I asked where the people are? She said they'll be here soon. I said well guess what, I am already here and turned my face to the screen. Nobody dared say anything.

What's others taken on this?

^ you did good.

i also hate when ppl are in LINE and they hold others’ spots. And then they actually go to diferent registers. i dont’ mind if u have a friend stand there and u need company or whatnot, but don’t at the last second get three ppl to come in and then u all go to different registers. :grumpy:

<2- i agree

.....but i would have moved if some elderly-handicapped asks me, but i dont think they bother to come to top most second last row.

I have never been asked to move like end of the isle to make room but if there are spaces left in the middle then I never mind moving to accomodate others.
My opnion, it doesnt make any difference in regular movies (3D / 4D is a different issue) where you sit because it is a huge screen and if you are in so called "perfect seat" to begin with, the views would be just as awsome few seats next to it.

I am too shy to ask others to move
and I never refuse the request of people… how cute :halo:

maiN aisaa kiouN hooN :crying:

here in denmark we dont have PIA wala mahol in cinemas, jo banda jaha bethe udhar hi rahe ga chahay uski mangetar pichlee seat par kissi aur kay saath gul-charay ura rahi ho.

And here in the desi cinemas, shaam ko grand show mai jab bhi koi gana ata hai to there is always a group of ppl who start dancing around the stairs : )