mouth wash and perfume

So my manager told me to use perfume because i was very stinky today but i know that perfume, mouthwash and deo all have alcohol in it which is a haram substance. How can i be unstinky and not jobless and still avoid the haram-ness of alcohol.

Thanks

Re: mouth wash and perfume

Gama bhai,

just like your Britney's Gimme Gimme, you are making a fool of yourself yet again..

To burst your bubble (or two), alcohol used in Perfumes and deodrants are not the one that is Prohibitted.... the one that is used in these things, u can not even consume :)

as for mouthwash, naalaaiq insaan... there are alcohol free mouthwash unless you are listening to GIMME GIMME in a boonies... well then again, Boonies now have WALMART.

There are alcohol free deodorants too right?

Mouth washes will not eliminate the root causes of foul smell from mouth. As a first step go to the doctor and get a check-up. If that is too much, change the hardness of your toothbrush to a level lower.

It's not going to help. Your mutant skunk skin simply won't allow anything to mask the reek. Give up.

oh that is very interesting. I did find alcohol free mouthwash. nice!

Your manager told you that. LOL

Bhai, as Anwaar said, I also read your Brittney thread, and now this. We all have faith that Shaitaan is been locked during ramadhan, in your case did Shaitan take your brain with him, before getting locked. Why are you posting such threads which openly invite people to mock you and then Mods just close the thread.

If you want to have fun discussion, post it in CAFE

• Only Big shaitaans are chained so there is no problem at that end.

• Nafs is not chained and in order to control that, Fasting and Qiyaam-ul-Lail are prescribed from which Qiyaam-ul-Lail is optional but highly recommended.
    When we fast, our physical body which is from earth gets weakend and during Qiyaam-ul-Lail (or Taraveeh for that matter) when we hear Quran, which is from above heaven and not from this earth (our physical source), it is easier to get spiritual heights... or so how I understand this whole thing...

Bottom line, do not blame Shaitaan for our own actions.

gamma: ....Aaa bhens mujhe maar!

Sharaabi had it right...but don't know why he delete his post?

Anyways, to sum it up, yes you can use alcohol based deodorants. BUT, if you happen to inhale it, your fast will be break.

^ i deleted it after i read his britany thread...

such threads dont deserve honest replies

Your smelling alchohol based deodrant will break your fast?? Are you sure. We smell alchohol based perfumes/colognes all the time (even if someone else is wearing them). Does that break the fast

cricketplaya has a point. I broke my fast because i smelt the AXE effect

I am sorry but what fiqh are you guys following GD and CricketP (no offense, just curiosity on my part)

arey nahi yaar...

Do you get high when you smell alchohol based perfumes/deos?
If not, then smelling them is perfectly fine...whether in Ramadan or otherwise.

Tariq,

In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

One’s fast does not break by wearing, feeling or smelling fragrance. As such, it is permitted to apply perfume (itr), deodorant, or spays whilst in the state of fasting. However, if one was to intentionally inhale something that has a perceptible body, such as smoke, then one’s fast would become invalid.

It is stated in Maraqi al-Falah:

“…If one inhaled fragrance by intentionally drawing it towards one’s self and smelling it’s smoke, whilst remembering that one is fasting, then one’s fast would become invalid…..This is something regarding which many people are neglectful, hence people should become alert and not consider it (inhaling something that has a perceptible body) similar to smelling rose, its water and musk. There is clear difference between smelling the fragrance of musk and other perfumes and between something that has a perceptible body like smoke entering one’s inside intentionally.” (Maraqi al-Falah with Hashiya al-Tahtawi, P: 660)

Therefore, if one was to deliberately inhale through one’s nose a perfume that has a perceptible body such as the smoke of Loban or the smoke of that which is known in the Indian Subcontinent as “Aghar Batti”, then one’s fast would become invalid. Similarly, if one intentionally sprays perfume in the nose and inhales it, one’s fast would break.

However, there are two things that need to be remembered here:

Firstly, in order for one’s fast to become invalid, one has to inhale the smoke intentionally and deliberately. If the smoke of a perfume entered through one’s nose or throat unintentionally, then one’s fast will not break. (Maraqi al-Falah, P: 660)

Secondly, in the situation where one’s fast does become invalid (i.e. when one deliberately inhales something that has a perceptible body), one will only have to make up for the fast later (qadha) but a expiation (kaffara) will not be necessary. (ibid)

In light of the above explanation, if one accidentally inhaled perfume, then one’s fast will not become invalid. However, if one intentionally and deliberately sprayed the perfume (that has a perceptible body) in the nose and inhaled it, then the fast would become invalid, hence one will have to make up for the fast later.

And Allah knows best

Muhammad ibn Adam al-Kawthari
Darul Iftaa, Leicester, UK

I follow the hanafi fiqh..

Thanks CricketP, i did not know that. Good reference I must say (post 16 of yours)

thank you brother

It does not break your fast...

One’s fast does not break by wearing, feeling or smelling fragrance. As such, it is permitted to apply perfume (itr), deodorant, or spays whilst in the state of fasting. However, if one was to intentionally inhale something that has a perceptible body, such as smoke, then one’s fast would become invalid.

quoted from post #16

Gamma you need to pay attention when in religion forum.

Note : It is advised to members not to mock any member because of his/her behaviour. If the question is valid then answer it according to your knowledge. if you think the questioner is not serious or asking an invalid question, then please report it as bad post with your concerns in comments section. and let the moderators do their job. thanks