Mothers are more apathetic towards their children if they were CSDs

Re: Mothers are more apathetic towards their children if they were CSDs

I think I am the bhains in his expression … :confused:

I’m not good with Urdu expressions. But if it is as you say, that sucks more. My wrong interpretation was at least more lenient.. And to have your wife give you the final shove into the water with her recent admission.

Mrs. Psyah,

Aap chup rehtin aur apne mian ki izzat rakh letin. Chalo next time sahi.

I found something interesting …

It is the official guidance that is provided to pregnant women regarding c-section births.

Caesarean section Introduction CG132

This article
http://www.theguardian.com/politics/reality-check-with-polly-curtis/2011/nov/23/health

in the Guardian states this …

National Institute for Clinical Excellence (Nice), which produced the guidelines, argues that, counter-intuitively, the formalisation of this right to choose and be counselled **will in fact reduce caesarean rates as women will get better advice.

Woh meri izzat rakhna chahtee to aap ki baat drust ho ti

What is wrong with you people? A person can’t express opinion?

If Psyah wants to give birth vaginally rather than cesarian, what is your problem with it. His body his business.

Well Psyah, I have access to the full paper (not just the abstract) which I have read and it repeatedly uses the phrase ‘less responsive’ because the rest is just conjecture by the authors based on their interpretations of the fMRI’s.

BTW empathy and apathy are not interchangeable. They have distinctly different meanings.

That is true … I guess apathy indicates a conscious response … Whereas the article is talking about an auto-response … Scratches his head … Thanks for the correction.

BTW … Did you read the guidance link? I find it interesting that there are risks in CS … That are less prevalent in VB and of course vice-versa.

What would you choose?

really, I’d rather take epidural as a C.sec.

No, I didn’t read the guidance link because I don’t think I will read anything I don’t already know.

Of course the risks will be different. VB is a largely natural process and C-Section is a major (but routine) surgery.

One thing to note about NICE guidelines is that it is obvious they will guide against C-sections. C-sections cost a lot more money for the NHS. Quite often, women are denied epidurals here because the labour will be prolonged and their aim is to get the bed empty as quick as poss.

I’m not saying I support elective C-sec. I support the right for a woman to make an informed choice. That choice may well put her off having a C-sec when she has all the information and weighs it up. We should not belittle her experiences or opinion. For example, a woman may have had a very traumatic VB to the point where she feels she could not do it again. She may decide that an elective C-section is the way to go. If she’s considered the risks and still feels that it is the best option for her then who is anyone else to say otherwise.

You opened a thread in this forum when I don’t even see that women here are choosing elective C-sections. All the C-section stories I have read on this forum have been emergency procedures.

So I will repeat an earlier comment I made - that a woman thinking about having a C-section will have far more significant and compelling reasons for doing so than what effect it may have on maternal bonding.

For myself, it’s something I will investigate when the time comes inshAllah. I would hope the process can be natural. The pain factor is not something that puts me off a VB but there are other things about it that make me ill just thinking about them.

:biggthumb:

My baby is c section and sometimes I do feel I respond slow to baby. But I love him to bits.
And I don’t read other replies except for first 4.

Well the NICE guidelines give the pros and cons … “If she’s considered the risks” … you said … yes and I believe to consider the risks we need to do more research around this area and actually read up the criteria … I’ll reproduce what they say below:

Box A Planned caesarean section compared with planned vaginal birth for women with an uncomplicated pregnancy and no previous caesarean section
Planned caesarean section may reduce the risk of the following in women:

• perineal and abdominal pain during birth and 3 days postpartum
  • injury to vagina
  • early postpartum haemorrhage
  • obstetric shock.

Planned caesarean section may increase the risk of the following in babies:

• neonatal intensive care unit admission.

Planned caesarean section may increase the risk of the following in women:

• longer hospital stay
  • hysterectomy caused by postpartum haemorrhage
  • cardiac arrest.

Please refer to tables 1 and 2 in appendix C for full details, including the absolute and relative risks for each effect.

I guess I will just have to agree with X2, let psyah decides how he wants to give birth. Please Update us when you have given birth, vb or c section. We will at least have common grounds to discuss. :slight_smile:

Peace Gemini the Great

Humans are capable of intuiting from the experiences of other people and learning from data. Bringing strange irrational arguments do not help furthering progress.

If being able to do something is the criteria for deciding whether or not it should be done in a certain way by others then you are effectively saying this:

Judges like Simon Cowell is not a valid judge for singing, because he cannot sing himself
Football coaches are not as a good as footballers for the strategies used on the field
Generals should not tell their armies where to fight from, because they are not on the front lines themselves
An ugly person is not qualified to talk about what is or is not beauty
A woman who can’t reach low notes in singing is not allowed to comment on the quality of a male bass vocalist

And so on

If I could give birth - I would choose the natural way and try to ease the pain whilst maintaining birthing efficiency as much as possible. I would not want to prolong labour, but I would also not want to compromise the health of the baby and I would seek out information that would help me make that decision. Because I genuinely feel for the safety of mother and child - I will not recommend something out of unnecessary intervention in case that an oversight causes issues.

Conversely I do not expect women to do the opposite of what I think is good purely because I am a man advocating a certain method and they wish to exercise their womanly judgment - that is best shown by doing the opposite of what is being advocated … Irrational responses are irrational and often wrong.

kalli billi liking every post of Psyah.(i skimmed through first 2 pages)

thread is doomed psyah bhai.May be some zanani chal to make this thread doomed.

waisay khawateen sahi kehti hain.

Everything in medicine has a risk. They put up “warnings” about what “may” happen in EVERYTHING! No one is saying that CSD is risk-free (just like VD isn’t risk free). The problem I have here is you stating that CSD is somehow a worse choice and a woman is harming her baby for sure if she chooses CSD over VD (you may not be stating it directly but that’s how its coming across).

So did you ever manage to find a reliable study that’s been done on this? Any solid study that actually shows conclusively that CSD babies are experiencing some type of harm as a result of the CSD itself? A harm they would not have experienced had the birth been a VD.

I didn’t read thru all the posts, but NOT everyone has the option of ‘choosing’

With my first baby I took prenatal classes paid $180 out of pocket just so I could be prepared in what to expect in the delivery room; I had written out a birth plan for myself (yes, Natural ONLY) little I knew…my water broke in the shower; 2 days later went to the hospital for ususal check-up, OB told me that my baby wasn’t breathing and had to operate on me right away to have this baby out, and he also told me I should prepare myself that there is a chance of ‘still birth’ I am crying as I write this out, not in a million years I had thought this would happen to anyone or let alone me? I thought I did everything right and alas I had no control over how I had to give birth; All I knew was to save my baby…I wasn’t prepared for a c-section, I had never even gone for a minor surgery ever in life, let alone this, I just kept reciting surahs and praying that my baby makes it; and when I heard her crying out so loud in that OR, nothing mattered anymore a normal delivery or a cesarean.

This happened exactly 4 years ago; She is going to school FT this year mA, but as for myself 3 beautiful healthy children and 3 c-sections later, I wouldn’t change a thing about my life, no matter how they got here all that matters is that they with me now, I don’t owe any validation to anyone for any study, the love for my children is between me and them, and my Allah is my witness.

Alhamdulillah for everything :flower1:

I gave you the findings of the NICE guidance a few posts back. There they briefly give such information based on their research.

Yes I am saying if there is no special reason to do it - elective CS cons outweigh its pros.

Royal Gala that is an awesome experience, the tensions and the eventual blessings of healthy children … Alhumdulillah … In emergency cases the priorities do change and life itself should be saved at all costs.

You make it sound as if women go for elective CS as if they were ordering something like a chocolate chip icecream cone…hmmm I’d try chocolate chip rather than my usual vanilla…:rolleyes:.