It looks like language thread season therefore I am also opening new thread with different theme.
You learn language when your born and it called mother tongue, then you learn English anyway in majority cases and that is called foreign or second language. When you enter in school you were told that there is one more language of your region, regional language. In some cases you also learn religious language.
What is your mother tongue?
What was your second language?
How did you learn second languages? Are you proficient in them?
Mother tongue = Punjabi [Can understand simple Punjabi and regional languages of Punjab. Never had the need to speak it. Have difficulty understanding Indian Punjabi.]
Father tongue = Urdu
English = Kaam chal jaata hai. Missionary isskool main aur faarin main seekhi.
I grew up with Urdu and Potohari/Pahari at home (the language spoken in Kotli, Kashmir, some family members always called it pahari while others insisted it's actually potohari). English was another language I grew up with, mostly because it's important in Pakistan and because my Dad lived in Britain for a while before deciding to spend the rest of his life in the Netherlands where I was born, years later. So I also grew up with Dutch (not German as many people on internet seem to mistake Dutch for).
At schools in later years, other languages were added and some mostly forgotten. I still remember French well due to having lived in France for a short while.
What is simple Punjabi? which regional languages of Punjab? Why do you feel difficulty in understanding Indian Punjabi (Is it pure or they include Hindi in it).
Indian Punjabi is more authentic and saqeel, I guess.
I should say some expressions/words are unfamiliar.
Pakistani Punjabi seems like a lighter version.
The other local languages are Siraaiki / Potohaari etc that just seem to be variations of Punjabi.
Indian Punjabi is more authentic and saqeel, I guess.
I should say some expressions/words are unfamiliar.
Pakistani Punjabi seems like a lighter version.
The other local languages are Siraaiki / Potohaari etc that just seem to be variations of Punjabi.
I can understand Saraiki, Hindko as well. Punjabi to good extent and lately I have read a Punjabi book 'Lok Tawareekh' with ease.
mother tongue: punjabi/ urdu. only parents spoke punjabi at home. i can understand just OK. cannot speak, never had to. i consider urdu mother tongue too, as urdu is what i grew up speaking.
second language: English. learnt during study. use for work all the time. not very fluent though. as people said before, kaam chal jata hay
third language (???): Sindhi. studied basics in school, had few friends/ mates. can read little bit and get basic idea some times.
want to learn: Arabic (can read, can also understand basic idea at times). Also want to learn Persian, Pashto, French... may be one day.
mother tongue: punjabi/ urdu. only parents spoke punjabi at home. i can understand just OK. cannot speak, never had to. i consider urdu mother tongue too, as urdu is what i grew up speaking.
second language: English. learnt during study. use for work all the time. not very fluent though. as people said before, kaam chal jata hay
third language (???): Sindhi. studied basics in school, had few friends/ mates. can read little bit and get basic idea some times.
want to learn: Arabic (can read, can also understand basic idea at times). Also want to learn Persian, Pashto, French... may be one day.
I think Persian is an opening to both Pashto and Balochi
I grew up with Urdu and Potohari/Pahari at home (the language spoken in Kotli, Kashmir, some family members always called it pahari while others insisted it's actually potohari). English was another language I grew up with, mostly because it's important in Pakistan and because my Dad lived in Britain for a while before deciding to spend the rest of his life in the Netherlands where I was born, years later. So I also grew up with Dutch (not German as many people on internet seem to mistake Dutch for).
At schools in later years, other languages were added and some mostly forgotten. I still remember French well due to having lived in France for a short while.
Mother language: Urdu/Punjabi. I can understand Punjabi pretty well since older folks spoke Punjabi amongst each other but they almost always spoke in Urdu with us kids so I have always spoken Urdu.
Second Language: English
Third Language: Spanish (knew it pretty well in high school but have pretty much forgotten it since I haven't spoken it in 3 years, I can still understand somewhat.
Inshallah in the future, I want to learn Arabic and Pashto and brush up on Spanish.
*Mother language: Urdu/Punjabi. I can understand Punjabi pretty well since older folks spoke Punjabi amongst each other but they almost always spoke in Urdu with us kids so I have always spoken Urdu.
Second Language: English
Third Language: Spanish (knew it pretty well in high school but have pretty much forgotten it since I haven't spoken it in 3 years, I can still understand somewhat.
Inshallah in the future, I want to learn Arabic and Pashto and brush up on Spanish.
Just wondering, isn't it difficult to change languages while talking to different family members? I mean it might need conscious effort and sometimes they may speak in Punjabi to children and Urdu with each other.