Mother in law knows best?

MILs should leave this job of criticizing to mothers only, I think.

See, since you married their son...you are their business.

You...including all of your laundry are all her business now.

Re: Mother in law knows best?

my MIL always thought that she is BEST in everything . I myself knows very well how to cook and have had hardly messed up any dish. Once she asked if I like to eat zucchini I said No and I don't intend to cook it either because your son also doesn't like it. She heard me well and said " sun ley recipe ek dafa hi batao gi doosri dafa nahi batao gi meri jaisi zucchini koi nahi bana sakta " I was a little shocked at her response because i am telling her that i am not interested in recipe even then zabardasti she is telling me recipe.

Similarly , when I get dressed she would criticse " yeh wala dress kiyon nahi pehna , woh wali bangles kiyoon nahi pehni " i would always thought " excuse me I have a choice & preference too ! " And man that woman knew about my each and every dress and each every jewellery I had and where I kept it she knew it all. I very often forget about my dresses and jewellery but no that woman had her eyes on everything.

I get alot of praises on my hands and feet and whenever any body would do it she would starts "meray hath bhi baray khubsoorat hain , kiya ungliyan hain patli patli " LOL

So much so she even denied my sickness when i was pregnant saying "humaray sath to kabhi aisa nahi hua " it was all bakwas for her.

So by the time I used to** hear her and not **listen to what she was saying. That saved me from alot of stress.

Some MIL are just too much into criticism and praising themselves.

Even if the intention is to make the DIL a better person?

Oh my lord Diamond321, are you sure we don;t have the same MIL?? My MIL used to criticize (and still sometimes does) EVERYTHING i did, from how i washed the dishes to how i dusted and cooked, it was crazy! I still feed extrememly uncomfortable around her.

She also has this sweet way of saying mean things and I'm not the type to reply back to her. It's only afterwards that I'm like "oh I should have said this!" I try really hard to ignore it, but it still irritates me. I've been dealing with this for 3 years now and I've realized that you cannot change someone. I've gotten so fed up of it that I've started talking back to her, not in a rude way but just not keeping quiet and nodding the way I used to do. Like for example, if she says oh you're peeling this so messily I just say "oh its ok ammi, I'll clean it up afterwards." So now I think she's toned down a bit, but my god it's so irritating. I totally understand your friend, sometimes you just need to vent to someone! It sometimes gets to a point where I go upstairs and just start crying b/c im so annoyed!

I could go on and on and on with my silly MIL stories, but I think I'll stop here.

Some MIL criticize EVERYTHING about their DIL! It can't be that the DIL does everything wrong! There is more than one way of doing something. MIL's should understand that their DIL is an individual and has been raised differently. They shouldn't feel that they are so superior. If your DIL does something differently then just let her do it! What is the big deal? Seriously, like if you have that much free time on your hands you need to get a hobby or something.

All these ladies who are sick of their MILs because she is telling them that they are doing things wrongly... WOW can these girls say the same about their MAMA.. i guess not, their own moms must be like a fairy and they try to pose their MILs as a WITCH.. great going and if their husbands do the same to their inlaws then they are either ZALIM and selfish and mama's boy, not caring and bla bla bla.. but yes women are allowed to call their MIL anything they want.. criticize them whenever they want.. and the common reason behind it is .. she is not their MOM...

Some says oh my MIL is real paindo.. she want me to wake up early in the morning ( and may be pray) yeah she is paindo and deserved to be criticized for doing so.. after all the worst thing she did was brought you in his son's life

some says ya she is very sweet talker... but she have some other issues.. WTH... how about u, aren't u the same...

women can never be satisfied nor happy..... no one is complete, MILs can be wrong but so can woman's own mama.. does the women treat the both same??? remember she has more experience in house-hold then you...

lol. art students has special critique classes (and they are 3 hrz long)....we are pretty immune to baysti in front of the entire class for our work....so one gotta wing it

ooops.... now i'll have to learn how to peel an apple?

we should start peeling lessons for girls who are going to be bahoos soon. I mean peeling is an art don't undermine it and it can only be known by MILs who learnt it after years of experience of being a bahoo.

From cutting melon to peeling apples.... better comprehension might resolve some of the MIL-DIL issues.

Yes.

Believe me it's different with your inlaws.

^ I want to know why one cannot take constructive criticism from a MIL?

My MIL makes fun of the clothes I wear each time she sees me, she saw me wearing crinkled top she said "yeh gharay(pitcher) main se nikal ker pehnay hain?".....then once she came and I was wearing a denim top and she said "yeh tum ne apne husband ki shirt pehni hui hai?"......and on Eid I was wearing few beaded necklaces and she commented "tum tou Mr. T lag rahi ho".....now beat that! :D

And believe me, she always praises her daughters even if they are looking funny.

constructive criticism? Oh the world won't turn upside down if someone didn't peel an apple the way she wanted to.

^ :woho:

with all due respect to your MIL I believe that she is jealous of you.:mehr:

lol…I think she’s just being a saas. I have yet to see a MIL who’s completely happy with her daughter-in-law.

I specifically asked about constructive criticism and you said yes its still not acceptable.

I accept commenting on the way you dress or cut melons (not peel apples) is not constructive.

Between saas bahu and nand bhabi relationships even constructive criticism is not beneficial, you wouldn't want your BIL or FIL doing that to you, or would you? But may be it's different for men, may be they don't care much.

If one is so keen on teaching then they should do this by their own actions and not by embarrassing them. You can even beat your own kids[desi style] but with someone else's kid you can't do the same,(not that you should beat your kids) but that reminds me of this auntie in Pakistan who used to beat her 30 years old son with shoes.