mother in law and double standards....

here we go.

so i broke my foot. my toe. im in plaster for a month. so far is been 3 weeks. and for the entire time ive been upstairs on my own floor. i came down for eid though. my inlaws are on the floor below. and due to age and their own illnesses they are unable to come up and down the stairs.

however not once have they asked me if im ok. hows my foot. not once have they asked if im hungry do i want somethig. my husband does everything for me. from food to cleaning etc. however when hes at work my bil brings up lunch and dinner { when they remember not as if im important enough to get it on time..lunch is usually 1.30…they give me at 2.30..etc}

reason for complaint? mil treatments of minor headache and etc of her daughter. when her daughter i unwell, we are made to or obliged to ask her contantly and sit with her and treat her like a princess. and this is minor ailments. when my mil is ill, if i don ask how she is atleast 5 imes a day she makes a fuss. she makes a fuss even though we all ask about her and offer her food etc. yet she cant carry out her own principles with me. so she can not come up, she can tex me. when she saw me on eid downstairs, she didnt ask even then.

her daughter is staying over for a few sdays and i had no idea she was here. she didnt even come and see me upstaits.

double stanadards is really affecting me and making me angry. it may sound petty, but i feel mad.

husband says he sees it too, he cares and loves me. wow. like that helps. has he spoken to his mother about her behaviour? no. so his oh jan relax don worry il talk to her…its been months of her akward behaviour he hasnt spoken to her yet makes me think he doesnt care enough.

Re: mother in law and double standards....

Sure their behavior and attitude is disappointing, but not sure why you were expecting them to act any differently given your history with them?
There will be a difference with how they treat you and how they treat their daughter. You should just repeat that to yourself over and over.
Your husband is on your side, but he's picking his battles, and I really don't think he'd get anywhere or be able to change them even if he brought this up with his mother.
Not sure how limiting your toe fracture is on your weight bearing status, but if it's been 3 weeks, I think you should be able to move around more freely. Feel better.

Re: mother in law and double standards…

Seems like a typical mil :slight_smile: btw what part did you play, your foot is fractured you cant go downstairs, perhaps talk to them over intercom/text msgs?

the only thing i learnt over a few months with in-laws, they won’t be full of you like your family would be - they wont praise you like your siblings would or parents in that case. The best, expect little love/respect and offer more of it. Eventually with time you may build up your “place” like the one you have with your biological family over time.

You are bothered only because you were expecting care from them since you have always given. Don’t do that, play your part and with time maybe the voids will be filled, if they dont, dont be upset over it, Be glad you have a good husband who cares about you. dont let this fuss of asking or caring abt you get on your nerves - easier said then done. but it will help you in the long run. & yeah Get well soon :flowers:

What Sehar said. And maybe he did discuss it with his mother, in private. So don’t doubt his love and careness, and be happy that he cares for you.

Get well :k:

mother in law and double standards....

Feel better Nadz...I fractured my toe once and was on crutches/foot brace for 6 weeks..it's not fun I know!!

About the inlaws...yaar, you know how they are..your husband knows how they are...and he knows that even if he chastises them they are not going to change, acknowledge their mistakes nor treat you any better/different.

Be glad he's taking care of you, forget the rest

I CAN move around a little, but going up and down the stairs isnt ideal and my foot still hurts. plus my kids want to say upstiars and i cant keep going up and down.

thats besides the point anyhow.

Get well soon, Nadz. At least your husband is agreeing that your in laws are wrong. As for your in laws, well that's the way they are. Of Course, its normal to have expectations but I guess not in this case.

the key to your happiness: adjust your expectations

and hope you feel better soon.

yeah i need to.

but means i wont be asking how she is or her daughter.

Competing with her will just result in more resentment,for you.It wont do you any good.

Hope you feel better soon..:)

First of all, dear, how you broke your toe? I am extremely sorry to hear that. May you have a speedy recovery, Amen :)

Coming to the issue. Nadz, most of the times I am reading you and your issues with in-laws. Judging through your past's incidences, why do you really want them to be around you at the first place? What do you expect from them?? I am not sure but maybe I suggested you that lessen your expectations towards them is the only thing that can help you be in relief.

They ARE a problem for you and they will remain like this even if they are doing what they should you. They don't ask for your health neither for the food, what if they offer you the meal and the meal is certainly not of your choice? What if they ask about your health and throw a sarcastic sentence after your reply?? Don't you think staying out of sight is probably the best solution to you.

Your husband is with you, he loves you, he cares about you and this is all that matters. I even say, stop complaining to him about your MIL, DIL... He is a Man. He can see what's going around and that's why he is being more caring and loving towards you. The game can take turn. What if your complains exhaust him at a certain point and he yells that Nads, I have been doing a lot to care about you, to show the affection, but you just don't care about that? you only care about my Family, my mother my sister?? Kia tumhe main nazar nahin aa raha?? So before its too late and he gets pissed off, forget everything and enjoy the love and care your husband is doing to you.... He can see whats going around and sometimes its not necessary to say everything to your husband.... when he sees and realises that his wife is quiet, he takes actions in the future.

Yes I had to tell each and everything to my hubby because we weren't together at that time. I was in Pak and he in here, UK. But when we used to live together in Pak, he was alone enough to judge what is going on and most of the times, he defended me too....

Sisterly advice, stop this choon choon chaan chaan and concentrate on your hubby. You should be thankful you are spending a separate time with your hubby and no one is disturbing you at the moment. Forget them.

I NEVER say, what they are doing is right!! I can totally understand your situation, especially when one is ill, he/she is more sensitive and your concern is quite justifiable BUT, remember, if they are around you, nothings good gonna happen, in fact they will give you tensions for other things, which you certainly don't want. So unko unke haaal p chordo and stay happy. What you do for them is your generosity and manners, whether they count it or not, you shouldn't care, kabhi na kabhi zaroor ajar milay ga iska, what they are doing to you is their Zarf.... so let them do what they want to do.

Take care and at least, uska shukar ada karo jo sath hay, naa ke unpe ro'o peeto jo is qaabil bhi nahin!!!

why does adjusting your expectations mean that you won't be asking about her or her daughter?
adjusting means lowering or not having expectations that they will enquire about you. it does not mean that you should stop behaving in a courteous and polite manner.

why can't you keep asking about them but not expect them to ask about you?
how is that adjusting?

you are always looking for reciprocity and tit for tat behaviour from people.......rude awakening: life doesn't work that way.

What all of the rest of the posters have said - be grateful that your husband supports you and sees the behaviour of his family. The rest, it doesn't matter.

As for asking about your MIL and SIL about how they feel when they're ill - count how many words it is:

"Ab aap ki tabiiyat kaisi hai?"

6 words, one breath of oxygen, one glance and your duty is done! Once you've asked the question, you can zone them out and just umm-hmmm when they start to list all of their ailments. The key as always, pick your battles and don't fuss over the small things. Pleasing your husband should be your only concern - making small efforts, whether or not they are reciprocated by the in-laws will nevertheless gain you your husband's trust and appreciation and will help sway him in your direction.

Initially when I got married, my approach and thought was quite Childish, I was quite young at the time of my marriage and being the youngest kid in the family… lol, and my thought was Tit for Tat, my thought was, instant reactions, immediate outcomes!! Although, I never did it but I’m telling you about my thinking!!!

Later on, I learnt, it’s not like that. There are a PLENTY (and sometimes more than plenty) of times, when “aapko sabar ka ghoont peena parta hay” and yes, baawajood iske bhi, you can NOT react the same with the same situation as did they treat you… Bohat dafa wohi same situation jispe mujhay differently treat kia gaya ho and badla lene ka waqt aaya ho, I was told by my hubby to stay calm and do as directed (directed by him )

Not so many of you know me here really but I was kind of super egoistic girl and with leading qualities. I have always seen myself winning anything I wanted to, getting everything I desired for. Acting according to my husband was like, I was killing my ego… but I did… kis tarha, dont ask… but bardasht kerna parta hay, bohat zada and bohat dafa… TODAY, I can say, I am eating the fruits. Us waqt ki kahi hui baaten, aaj mujhay faeda deti hain. Outcomes kabhi bhi foran nahin aatay…you have to wait a lot and lot and LOT!! Mgr waqt aata zaroor hay :slight_smile:

Jaldi jaldi sab kuch wesa ho, jesa tum chaho, never expect that. Do and forget, do and forget and keep forgetting… jab tumhara waqt ayega, you will be surprised to see the outcome. Usne mere sath ye kiya tha to main bhi ab yehi karungi wali approach is not gonna solve anything, but will only create fuss and fights. Next time when they go through the same situation, don’t treat the same as they are doing to you, balkay me kehti hun, jaao jakay khud hee taang tor do and then help them and say, dekha main aaplog ki kitni help karai hun… LOL :hehe:

kar bhi mat dena…tum se koi baeed naee :cb:

anyways, so I hope, tumhe kuch samajh to aaya hoga!!

By enjoying.the fruit u mean.ur in laws did a dramatic Bollywood u- turn?

no. Enjoying fruits means, I have left them with no choice of bad-mouthing about me… (apart from Jithani, for whom I really don’t care, its just my Nands and MIL FIL I care about because those are the Immediate family members), so yes, I don’t say the u-turn is 100% in my court lol but most of the times, I am not being treated for certain things that I used to be treated in Past. They know, koi dekhe ya na dekhe, “unka beta” to dekh raha hay LOL :hehe:

Settle back into your pillow, Nadzy....for a lil' bedtime story :D....

Imagine this........

Your MIL comes upstairs and barges into your room without knocking; she couldn't be delayed for even a moment with this formality because she cares so much about you. She asks a gruff, "Ab kaisi tabiyat hai?" But before you can answer, she is at the foot of your bed glaring at your toe. "THIS is why my son has been catering to you like a maid?!! When I was your age, I delivered a baby without epidural and the following day I rose before the crowing of the neighbor's rooster and did all the household chores from top to bottom; nobody lifted a finger to help me."

You meekly tell her how she pampers her own daughter for a mere headache and...But MIL raises her hand and silences you with her medical expertise, "A headache can progress into a brain tooomer. If my precious beti's head is cut off, it shall be the end of her. However, if your festering toe develops gangrene and spreads to your foot, you will survive the amputation and can rely on crutches." You do not know what to say because MIL has succeeded in making you feel petty, ungrateful, and ignorant all at once.

While you lie there with your wounded toe and now wounded heart, MIL proceeds to wound your soul. She walks about your room with the air of a Queen and the scrutiny of a health inspector. She runs her finger over the dressing table, leaving a line in the blanket of dust, as sharp as her tongue. You make a mental note to yourself to hobble over to the table and wipe away that painful reminder. of her presence.

Mil then goes about sniffing the room at every few paces, her nose becoming more pinched and upturned at each exertion. She didn't have to say a word. You felt the searing humiliation of her glare, the flaring nostrils, the tight and unforgiving line of her mouth. You take a quick glance at the clock. "Has she only been her for five minutes; it felt like fifteen!!!" Yes, in just five minutes she has succeeded in inflicting more injury to you than your toe had sustained. Injuries for which there is no healing plaster.

MIL, too, glances at the clock, stunned that she even lasted five minutes. She heads toward the door, then turns around to inform you, "I would be too embarrassed to allow company to visit you and enquire about your "grave" illness (yes, sarcasm). I dare not send the maid either. An insaan would have limped about to make the condition of the room somewhat endurable if not live-able for fellow human beings. But this seems more like the room ...or rather...the hole of a wounded animal who wouldn't know any better. Luckily for you, my son the pansy, caters to your every need and fancy while he remains deprived. But there there....it's nothing that a mother's loving intervention cannot fix." The corners of her mouth twist up slightly into a smirk and she leaves, slamming the door shut with a force that felt very much like a final slap.

Moral of the story: Appreciating what you don't have can be harder.

nadz h r u i missed you post more please

also, how are kaamwali and kaamwala and their tabiats?

Enjoy the privacy and time to yourself :chai:
I hope you get well soon. Xx

The day you stop expecting anything from your in-laws is the day you will find some peace.
And you don't think it's important but be thankful that your husband knows and is on your side.

sigh yehi to batanay wali baat thi queen:)