mother in law and double standards....

Re: mother in law and double standards....

It is a love marriage and I just did everything in his love. Not only that, yes, there had been times when I did what I wanted to do, like twice and thrice and the outcome was rather more intense... I was not clever enough to compete with them. My thoughts were limited, I could just see things that I wanted to see, after getting myself in the situations, the outcome was not what I wanted. I tactfully tried to control the situations but every time they turned the table. Summary, I was logical and they weren't! Any logical person would understand me but they wouldn't.

My good deeds turned wrong on me and their cunning sharp minds started winning over me.
Then, my hubby said, you have taken your turn and now you do as I say.
Initially, it seemed me odd because most of the times, I had to bow and do according to their will....... it made me hurt and my ego. A couple of times I questioned my hubby that what you say seems you want me to do what they want me to do and every time he used to say me, just do as I say, do NOT question, trust me.. and when you say you trust me, it leaves you with no option of questioning me. You should trust that I would never get you in trouble and I would never let you down.

Because I had it enough, I thought, lets give it a try!! so controlling and suppressing myself.... I started what he used to say. Every time I had questions but I just didn't raise them and seriously................. I TURNED THE TABLE!! in longer run, it works.

My hubby also helped me learning their natures. A lot of problems solved by then too.
He took sessions, lol, seriously, taught me how would who behave in what situation.... !!
It helped me getting rid of misconceptions!!! He really helped me a lot.
I say, my hubby keeps balance and thats what works. By time, I learnt to control my ego, my emotions, my anger and my sarcasm. Its he, who made me this. If he would have been supporting me or them entirely from the day first during issues, things would be in wrong directions, today. No one can raise finger on me now, that I can say :)

Re: mother in law and double standards…

Your husband :k:. I would love to meet a guy like him who knows how to strike the balance, unfortunately most guys fail in this area. You are blessed and ofcourse so is he for without your support he wouldn’t have been able to develop such a comfortable relationship between you all.

Though this annoyed me initially and LOL, I was like, ye kesa insaaf hay, but by the time, I learnt it specially jb results aana shuru huay to I was more convinced :hehe:

How were they cunning?

And what did u do that.made you.look silly or stupid or whatever.

Yar I can't explain. I would associate this word more to my Jithani. My husband still says, stay away from her because you can NOT compete with her in any ways, you will always loose because she is a really sharp woman. So, yes, now, I try to keep the distance as much as possible. Its not like I am being rude or harsh, not at all, I talk to her normally BUT not unnecessarily because she loves multiplying the gossips.

Something that made (and makes) me silly is my "seedha seedha" chalnay wala raasta. I never liked domestic politics and diplomacy. I entered this house with the thought that jb jb jo jo issues hon, waheen clear ker lungi, misconceptions ka shikar nahin honay dungi and jo bat ghalat ho waheen ke waheen nimta ke waheen bhool jaongi, but that was my biggest Bhoool!! Esa nahin hota...........or you say, aisa honay nahin diya gaya!!!

Kese, kyun, literally, thinking about that woman gives me tensions, so I just don't think about her. Meri soch pareshan hojati hay jab jab uske baten aur harkaten zehen main aati hain. I am here and she is still in Pak, but you won't imagine, usne is waqt bhi wahan sab ka jeena haram kiya hua hay.... and probably thats why my MIL misses us both a lot. Last time she spoke to me and hubby, she was really worried..

Initially I thought even my MIL says idher ki udher because that's how my Jithani fed me... but by time, I realized it wasn't true. A few days back I called to spoke to her to inquire about her health and a recipe. We talked for a good duration... but the same night when my hubby came, he told me about a huge incident that took place the same morning and even that about my Jithani. I would not discuss it here the issue but just telling you, my MIL could not have discussed it with me?? but she didn't? She didn't say a single word, even she had gone through an angiography and was very ill (still coping up with the side effects). If she wanted to, she could discuss with me about her.. but she didn't. She knows very well that we two dont get along well now and she could easily feed me against her knowing my Jithani is no more a fav personality to me, but she didn't!!

Thats how I learnt by time. As time passes, true colors are revealing on me!!!!

^ lol queen at Seedha Saadha. My nani keeps calling me Allah mian ki gayain to everyone JUST because I am not chalak like the girls in Pakistan, but in reality I prefer to stay away from the unnecessary drama/politics. Ugh roll my eyes now I'm a stupid quiet abcd for everyone in Pakistan.

^:hehe:

lol, yar tumhe ye to pata tha naa… to stay away from unnecessary drama/politics!! Hum to jab dekhte ke larai ho rahi hay aur usme hamen bhi shamil kiya jaraha hay to chaltay thay baat ko clear kernay…lol

Ab jakay andaza hoa… Kuch to log kahenge… logo ka kaam hay kehna, choro bekaar ki baaton main, kahin beet na jaaye raina… :whistling:

broken toe Nadz, singing a song for her MIL :frowning:

May i expect another post on breach of privacy if MIL started coming and asking tabiyats every now and then.

i know it sounds rude given the behaviour of MIL is not that good as per my impression reading the replies relating to your past experiances but some time we just make a preconceived notion and then looks at others through that perception.

it is for your benefit and quick healing that you stop thinking about them and enjoy your life, if you dont care about their behaviour you will be the winner.

May ALLAH give you shifa and those who are not giving every one their right place hidayat.

What are husbands good for :wink: :stuck_out_tongue:

You should be thankful for:
1. Your hubby does care for you.
2. Listens patiently to your complains without starting yelling at you because it annoys men when someone complains about their family members.
3. You have the freedom of moving around your own portion with little or no external interference.
4. You can leave your bed at whatever time suits you.
5. You can manage your kitchen and house affairs at whatever time you like to.

You should:
1. Show gratitude towards your hubby.
2. Reduce complaining.
3. Go downstairs and ask about the well being of your in-laws particularly your MIL. Even if she doesn't ask about your well being, even then because she is a parent. Parents hold great expectations from their younger.
4. Extend a helping hand in case they are unwell.
5. Sit with them and talk about little things - dramas, current affairs, politics, latest fashions etc.

Over time this will break the shell of reserved-ness and they will be on good terms with you... If not all of them, at least some of them will be. Some battles can't be won immediately but with patience and time. :)

Queen, If you don’t mind can I ask how long have you been married?

RL, Now almost 4.5 years.. mashAllah

Your lucky, at least your husband is on ur side and loves you. Also please get a maid and move out.

they are your inlaws girl,most arent nice,,what else do you subconsciously they're trying to make sure you understand that you must be submissive,and obey,in laws often are like that,not all,but a lot,dils are not their daughters so they dont give a crap,besides mil probably wants to compete for ur husband too.is it absolutely necessary for you to live there,if yes,then just care about your family,thank those stairs,just love your husband and dont care much about them,just ry to forget,but if you can move,why dont you slowly start suggesting to your husband that we could move,it might be nicer to have a home of my own,tell him its your dream,but over 2 or 3 months,ask him not to tell anyone! they'll sabotage your plans! and move the crap out of there,taking their son with you then they'll be nice and ask how you are :)

Already said the moving thing
Parents are old and ill and he is eldest son and has a responsibility blah blah.

He wants to wait til younger bro married who won't.for 2-3 years :+

i thought there were daughters in the house too.