Moth Smoke-Mohsin Hamid

I am currently reading this book. Interesting read..thought like sharing with you a few highlights: :~)

From the Publisher
When Darashikoh Shezad gets himself fired from his banking job in Lahore, he begins a decline that plummets the length of this sharply drawn, subversive tale. Before long, he can’t pay his bills, and along with his electricity he loses his toehold among Pakistan’s cell-phone-toting elite. As the jet set parties on behind high walls, Daru descends into drugs and dissolution. For good measure, he falls in love with the wife of his childhood friend and rival, Ozi–beautiful, restless Mumtaz, to whom he is drawn with the obsessive intensity of a moth circling a candle flame.
Desperate to reverse his fortunes, Daru embarks on a career in crime, taking as his partner Murad Badshah, the notorious rickshaw driver, populist, and pirate. When a long-planned heist goes awry, Daru finds himself on trial for a murder he may or may not have committed. The uncertainty of his fate mirrors that of his country, hyped on the prospect of becoming a nuclear player even as corruption drains its political will.

Fast-paced, unexpected, and unfailingly entertaining, Moth Smoke portrays a contemporary Pakistan far more vivid and disturbing than the exoticized images of South Asia familiar to the West. His debut novel establishes Mohsin Hamid as a writer of substance and imagination.

From The Critics
Sudip Bose

Indian writers of English prose are hot commodities these days, having plunged onto the Western literary scene like elephants into a placid pond. In India, the frenzy has caused a writing boom, inspired, perhaps, by the financial success of Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things. But what about literary Pakistan? Fewer writers have emerged from there, and those who have are often overshadowed by, or lumped together with, their Indian counterparts. Though their voices are distinct, many Pakistani and Indian writers do share a concern for the defining moment in their nations’ histories: the partition of the subcontinent in 1947. Mohsin Hamid’s bold and ironic first novel is set long after that seminal event, but in its evocation of the anxieties of modern Pakistani life, the legacies of Partition are everywhere apparent.

Moth Smoke is set in the summer of 1998, when Pakistan detonated its first nuclear weapons in an escalating test-for-test with India. Like the atoms that must be split for a fission bomb to explode, modern-day Lahore is itself divided: between old and new, rich and poor, conservative and liberal. Lost amid this fractured society is Daru, a young man fired from his job as a banker, whose two great passions are hash and his best friend Ozi’s wife, Mumtaz. Daru, an intellectual wastrel, has a kind of underworld existence; unable to afford electricity or air conditioning, he lives alone in sweltering darkness. Ozi and Mumtaz, in contrast, run with Lahore’s urban hip, the sushi-and-mobile-phone crowd.

We are told early on that Daru has killed a boy. But did he really do it? The discovery of the truth leads us along Daru’s downward flight from stability to desperation, from salaried banker to low-life addict. Daru is wracked by devastating hunger, for food and drugs as well as for the radiant Mumtaz. (Think Knut Hamsun writing Pakistani noir.) When Daru departs after a meal at his uncle’s house, he is consumed by the aroma of leftovers: “The smell makes me hungry even though I’ve just filled my stomach with as much as I thought it could hold…I wonder why my body has chosen this moment to give me such an appetite, when I can least afford it.” The food Daru has just consumed is a luxury beyond his means, as is Mumtaz, with her glamorous life of sleek cars and elite parties, though that doesn’t prevent him from pursuing her.

The book’s dominant image is of a moth circling a flame. In the darkness of evening, Daru watches the strange seduction played out: the moth “spinning around the candle in tighter revolutions,” attracted to the fire. Ignited, the moth is consumed. The lingering moth smoke reminds Daru of burning flesh – his own, for this Icarus ends up singed by his own irresistible attractions.

To tell Daru’s story, Hamid employs multiple narrators, each with a distinct voice, none entirely reliable. This variety is, to my taste, a flaw, since none of the others is as finely pitched as Daru’s tragic, ironic voice. When Daru isn’t speaking, the prose tends to the flamboyant, with overworked metaphors and relentless punning, adding up to a bad Salman Rushdie impersonation. All in all, though, Hamid has turned a beautiful trick: He has made an old formula – man, woman and cuckolded husband – into something fresh and luminous. Rather like a moth turned into a butterfly.
— Salon

Publishers Weekly
Hamid subjects contemporary Pakistan to fierce scrutiny in his first novel, tracing the downward spiral of Darashikoh “Daru” Shezad, a young man whose uneasy status on the fringes of the Lahore elite is imperiled when he is fired from his job at a bank. Daru owes both the job and his education to his best friend Ozi’s father, Khurram, a corrupt former official of one of the Pakistan regimes who has looked out for Daru ever since Daru’s father, an old army buddy of Khurram’s, died in the early '70s. As the story begins, Ozi has just returned from America, where he earned a college degree, with his wife, Mumtaz, and child. From the moment they meet, Daru and Mumtaz are drawn to each other. Mumtaz is fascinated by Daru’s air of suppressed violence, and Daru is intrigued by Mumtaz’s secret career as an investigative journalist; the two share a taste for recreational drugs, sex and sports. But their affair really begins after Daru witnesses Ozi, driving recklessly, mow down a teenage boy and flee the scene. Daru decides then that Ozi is morally bankrupt. But as Daru becomes more dependent on drugs, the arrogance he himself has absorbed from his upper-class upbringing stands out in stark contrast to his circumstances. Daru’s noirish, first-person account of his moral descent, culminating with murder, interweaves with chapters written in the distinctive voices of the other characters. One in particular comes vividly to life: Murad Badshah, a sort of Pakastani Falstaff, officially the head of a rickshaw company, but kept afloat by drug dealing and robbery. Hamid’s tale, played out against the background of Pakistan’s recent testing of a nuclear device, creates a powerful image of an insecure society toying with its own dissolution. (Jan.) Copyright 1999 Cahners Business Information.

Library Journal
Set in Hamid’s native Lahore, Pakistan, this first novel provides a pitch-perfect tale of the destruction of a young man. Socialy unconnected, Daru loses his precarious footing among the respectably employed and falls into an abyss of emotional depression, moral turpitude, and criminal activity. He goes from bank employee to drug dealer to holdup man, while falling in love with Mumtaz, the journalist wife of Ozi, Daru’s boyhood best friend and rival. Ozi strips daru of his self-respect, and Mumtaz can never merely be Daru’s lover, for she is both liberated and besieged by her own moral ambiguity. With a sure hand, hamid paints Daru, Lahore, the weight of Western materialist values, and evolving and devolving friendships, giving us near-photographic realism softened by the shading influences of well-turned phrases. Moving quickly but inviting prolonged retrospection, this first novel lays bare a human core that festers in its own unremitting heat. Hamid is a writer to watch. For all public libraries.-Francisca Goldsmith, Berkeley P.L., CA

The New Yorker
It’s Hamid’s achievement that we remained charmed by Daru throughout; the fast paced, intelligent narration pulls us, despite ourselves, into his spiralling wake.

Jhumpa Lahiri
[A] brisk, absorbing novel…Hamid steers us from start to finish with assurance and care.
—The New York Times Book Review

I read this novel a couple of years ago. It's absorbing. I believe there is a movie out based on this book called "Daira".

A splendid novel and all that. but I don't agree with the opinion that it is a portrayal of contemporary Pakistan; because it isn't. At least not entirely. Like when I read the novel I was kind of disappointed, for the kind of image it presented of the Pakistani society is not complete. What if someone has never been to Pakistan, knows nothing about it's true culture, and then they go and read this novel? Anyways, the book itself is really well written and worth reading. Highly Recommended.

Has any of you read Salt and Saffron, by Kamila Shamsie? And your views on it?

*Originally posted by Silver Falcon Of Kashmir: *
What if someone has never been to Pakistan, knows nothing about it's true culture, and then they go and read this novel?

I don't believe the purpose of the novel is to educate non-Pakistanis on Pakistan. For that, there are plenty of reference books. This novel is fictional.

ayayyy hayayyyy khanu bhai this book is just :yukh:

dont even bother wasting ur time…its soooooo twisted and gross and just sickkkkkkkkkkk…left me with a bad feeling for a long time after reading the book…

what was so great about it anyway ke itnay awards mil gayay? :halo:

seriously i think bilkul faaltoo book hae :nook:

*Originally posted by funguy: *

I don't believe the purpose of the novel is to educate non-Pakistanis on Pakistan. For that, there are plenty of reference books. This novel is fictional.

The novels are not their to educate anyone for that matter, but sometimes they do 'help' us form an opinion about a culture and or people. For instance when I think of victorian England say, despite all myefforts to be objective and realistic; the picture which rises in the mind of the era is very, very, very close that which has been drawn up by Dickens.

And lord I do know it is fictional:)

Yes…i agree to the fact that the culture presented in the book may not be what we want to be portrayed..but sad as it may seem…i am afraid its very much true :halo: what i admire is that the writer has courageously came out with it..just my thoughts. :~)

irem: I know what and why you are saying this…chalo kher :stuck_out_tongue: par yeh sach hai bibi! :halo:

NAHEEEEEENNNNNNNN YEEE NAHEEEN HO SAKTAAAAA :crying:

hmmm… this might be true for like a 0.05% of the population khanu bhai…i’ve never seen it with my eyes or heard abt ppl like that in pak atleast…

but even then a person’s life is made up of so many aspects and the writer has chosen to write abt only the very morose parts of each character’s life…

and i am sure M H is a great writer, kudos to him, but why does it take courage to write such books? imho it doesn’t…aiween bas likh daali hae eik book gloomy and morbid see…how is it sucha courageous act…he hasn’t exposed any crime dons or written against some powerful personality ke courage kee zaroorat ho…

just mho…

khayr…toh khatam kar li aap ne ya abhee tak parhee ja rhi hae? :stuck_out_tongue: and how did u like it?? don’t tell me u liked it :hoonh: :stuck_out_tongue:

*Originally posted by Khanzada: *
Yes...i agree to the fact that the culture presented in the book may not be what we want to be portrayed..but sad as it may seem...i am afraid its very much true

Yup, Khan uncle is right. By the time I read Moth Smoke, I was pretty much expecting the depiction that followed.

I left Pakistan some five years ago and I talk to friends who're still there. The sort of stuff that is going on in some areas is quite in line with the description in Moth Smoke. I hear stories from my pals and I can't help but think that I must have been living under a rock when I was there.

Yeah, the movie was called Daira with Adnan Sidduiqi playing Darashikoh's role. I'd be interested in watching it but don't know where to get it from.

It was an interesting and powerful book. I'm planning on rereading it soon.

Sambrialian: You bet. Recently been to Lahore for Basant and believe me…what the pic depicts IS indeed plain truth. Ab to apni aankhon se dekh lia hai yar.

RT: Yup..i love the way he expresses situations…very powerful expressions in the book :k:

Problem of writing for western audience be it English speaking Asians or if lucky some gora might read it .is that that particular group is fixed in its fanatiscism just as fundamentalist hindu or muslim is in his .You cant sell Rushdie to Fundamentalist muslims & similarly you cant sell translation ofKhwateen Mushrique to South Asian english speaking westernised readership :nook:

If you write FOR that group you write what they are familiar in there daily lingo …drug overdose ,reckless life of sex drugs & rock n roll typically ,loneliness of individuality ,ambitious career oriented with brutal ruthless determination s where murder deceit lieing swindling is nothing but opart of climbing up :mudhosh:

So whether Rushdie or Mohsin Hamid can only write of that life unless they were writing non fiction authoritatve books on indulus of Spain ,or pre partion indianmuslim politics .!!! :ahaa:

Moth Smoke - Mohsin Hamid

Finished it last week.

He presents one sides of the high class liberal Pak culture very beautifully. He has done justice to all of his characters, I’d have loved to read more about Mumtaz except the masala.

I really like his writing style, a tiny little book definitely worth reading.

:k: :k: :k:

I believe this is the third thread on this novel/writer.

Anyway, a different read. Also, there is a movie out based on this novel. It is called Daira (Circle). haven't seen it yet.

Sabah: So have you been practising improving on the ‘Ping!’ factor lately…kitne moth aka makhian maari aap ne? :hehe:

I really liked the way he expressed the ping! factor…jahan par kahani apna naam ‘moth smoke’ paati hai. Very powerful! :k:

naqshbandi: i hear you mate!

irem: I finished it. Surprise surprise…i liked it! :smiley: The ‘courage’ part comes from the social pressures that do not allow painting of such bold canvasses for the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Lagge samajh? :~)

naqshbandi: i hear you mate!

I knew light travel faster thanSound but it would take months my SOUND to reach you , rather disappointing :nuch:

khanu bhai there is no social pressure…which social pressures r u referring to? on the contrary, in the world of the pseudo western elite yuppie crowd, such things are considered ‘cool’…who from among those who are going to read this book is going to condemn it? the pressure would come from the lower and middle classes which still value their culture, but which i do not think would have read this book anyway. with exceptions, the book was read by the social or academic elite in pakistan, who are mostly a slave to the west anyway, their mentality is still colonised. no condemnation or pressure would have been exerted by them towards the writer… the author doesn’t face any social pressure as such…IMHO…i dont see anything commendable in his work from the aspect of being a ‘brave journalist’…sure maybe its a great literary work or whatever, though i dont think so, but i do not think he has written something that took resistance against any real social pressures and required courage…

just mho :stuck_out_tongue:

In fact, I know two such Pakistani writers personally who have made it big on the international scene recently…I don’t know Mohsin Hamid so no comments on him…

And seriously, it boils my blood when I think abt it :mad2:

Its not like they are or want to be in touch with Pakistani society, or take any pride in being Pakistani. In their private conversations, they sit and say bad things about Pakistan and Pakistanis to goras. They don’t even like to be called or thought of as Pakistani. They have absolute contempt for anything Pakistani. They have no desire of doing anything for Pakistan, have been brought up in the lap of luxury in Pakistan, always removed from the salt of the earth, and have a condescending attitude towards normal Pakistanis. The only reason they even keep in touch is because they have family and material possessions in Pakistan…

And then they are able to make it big in the west, and become the torch bearers for Pakistani culture here…and it seems to me like its more for their own personal motives to become famous and write something that would appear unique and cultural…rather than to with the sincere motive to spread cultural awareness…And then when the uninformed western literary critics or academia read these ‘cool and different books about the east’ they think they are so brilliant :rolleyes: Its only because of the lack of variety of such ‘cultural texts’ and the misinformedness of the western literary critics, that such literary pieces are able to create such a stir…

Its such a misinterpretation and such a farce…total exploitation…it really makes me hecka mad :mad2:

I’m not saying these are bad ppl, and neither am I a good one. I’m just saying that in this particular issue, I feel they are totally taking advantage and being manipulative at the cost of misrepresentation…And I feel so stronly abt this issue coz I’ve seen it with my own eyes…

The fault could very well be in my perception rather than reality…Maybe I’m biased…I donno…but I’m just sharing my perception here…

Oh well…

sannu ki :snooty: matti pao…

just because u did not like the subject it revolves around:p does not make it faaltu:D… it does talk about some thing that exists:( ironically depicted well *hmph

IREM

Only your last para IMHO you stated the reality

The fault could very well be in my perception rather than reality...Maybe I'm biased...I donno...but I'm just sharing my perception here....

Mohsin Hamid hasnt been more than a published author of Fiction.As you know there are scores of such writers women & even more men from India .Salman Rushdie Arundhai Roy Jhumpa Lahiri are considered better than most b/c they have won Booker or Pulitzer prize.

Regarding writing if you are rich like Tehmina or other society woman you can be helped by other exopert & yuou can be published,Like Benazir or politicakl figures aremade to write b/c there books wlmbe sold not so much on literature but the name .

Mohsin Hamid i know couldnt survive as writer alone .He mahkes his living in Investment banking in LOndon.

I dont kniow what motivates them to write for elite but as i said English is not spoken or read by Lalu Khet crowd nothing against lalu khet just an example .So nothing wrong in targetting your audience moreover THEY DIOO NOT OWE PAKISTAN ANY MORE THAN YOU & I . :)