Most overused phrases among desis

What could be those? I am mostly interested in Urdu words/phrases.

Some that I recall:

• Tsk tsk (the urdu version)
  • Tauba Tauba
  • Acha
  • Hain
  • Theek thaak
  • Buss
  • Uff (love this one)
  • Oh ho
  • Haw hai
  • Chalo jee

Among guppies:

• I wub you/he/she/it
  • Omigod
  • Don’t generalize
  • sammiches
  • Can I see this lengha from left/right/up/down
  • halal/haram
  • Can I get the recipe for…
  • Gora this, gora that
  • West this, west that
  • Marriage this, marriage that
  • MIL/SIL/IL/FIL

Add more, I have missed many.

Re: Most overused phrases among desis

bongiyan

Desi.

I feel like you two are implying that my bongiyan are just typical desi talk. :(

Uff, I wub you! Tauba tauba, haram ain’t I! :blush: Chalo jee, go make me a sammich now. Buss make sure t’is halal, acha?

you are hawt

(This is not for you Conti baby. This is what guppans say, even to most bongiest looking guppan)

Haw hai, omigod.

This is not for you TLK. Its for BBQ!

LOL @ bongiest looking guppan! :hehe: You’re so mean!

Okay here’s another one, Contrarian… mA! Irks me just a little tiny bit.

Boss you are hawt... put more meskara on ...

You mean "mess"kara?

Literally is also butchered by desis and non-desis alike.... even when it doesn't make sense.

"I *literally *froze to death!"... er no you didn't.

The ones that are like nails on a chalkboard in my world:

basically
dear
babes

Daffa ho :mad:

My family in Pakistan has a penchant for “literally” and most of all “only”.

“We were just there only” :hehe:

Also <3 the word “na” hai na :wink:

Maybe he meant muskara. I guess he wants me to smile more.

What about yaar??!! Maybe not here on GS but when speaking in urdu..

U know what i mean? : No I don't

One of my friend.... : Starts almost every sentence with this acting like they have super social life while in real they are lone rangers.

Aur Sunaoo : so that means we do not have anything to talk?

Yaar
Oye

Fitaay mooo

As such