What was the most embarrassing moment of your life.
Here’s mine…When I was new in the US, I was standing outside with a new friend. We were talking when a cab passed by really fast (above the speed limit) in a residential area. My friend looked at the cab and thought of calling and reporting the cab just for fun because we had nothing better to do. So I quickly ran after the cab for a little bit and came back with a smile on my face. So my friend asked me “Well, did you get the plate number”. With a very proud feeling (as if I had acclomplished something), I said “No, the cab was fast but don’t worry, I got the first 2. We can still report the cab”. My friend took out his phone and said “what are they” (i.e. the first 2 numbers). I said “TX”.
You can imagine the rest (I was so embarrassed that I did not show my friend my face for 2 weeks).
Oh I posted a thread about one of my most embarassing moments about a year ago.
So like we’re having this davaat thing at our house and so there’s all these Aunties and Uncles and bacha party and everyone in the kitchen getting their khana. I’m sitting in the room over talking to my sister about something when my mom calls my name and I’m like, “Yea yea hold on Ammi” because I was trying to explain something to my sister. So she keeps calling my name and I’m just like, “whattttttttt isss ittttt??? ” and then she screams at the top of her lungs so everyone in the house can hear:
“BETA AAPNAY APNI SHALWAAR OULTI PEHNIVI HAIY!!”
next thing I know, all the Uncles and Aunties are looking over at me and laughing like crazy and the kids, too
I don’t think I had ever realized that shalwaars even HAD a front/back
Chalo, khair apney atleast salwar tu pehni thee.. I went out to my friends nikaah and while talking to dulhan who was sitting on the stage with dulha, she quipped, “Arrey aap apney pant ke zipper tu upar kar lo” and I was embarrased.
I went to a wedding and I forgot to zip up my kameez. Thank God I had long hair back then, and thank God a friend zipped me up before too many people saw.
Back in about 1997, I went to pakistan for summer vacation. While there, my cousins came over and we were just ‘chilling’ until midnight. After that, all of us fell asleep, except me:hoonh: . So after all my cousins were in ‘Gehri Neend’, I woke one of my cousin up (who I knew would take part with me and help me for sure) and told him my plan. So we decided that when it is like 6 in the morning, we will take like a glass of water and just throw it a lil here and there on the bed of one of my other cousin (who was sleeping) to make it look like…you know…what you did on your bed when you were little…you know.
So we stayed up all night just talking about our childhood and all that until it was dawn. And before I go on, our only ‘mission’ was just to embarrass my cousin (who i knew would get mad for awhile but would settle for lunch at a restaurant). Our second reason for doing it was because my Naani (grandmother, May Allah give her Jannat-ul-Firdous used to get mad when she found a wet bed in the morning). And I mean this cousin of ours was like a teenager so you can imagine how embarrassing it would be to find your own bed wet in the morning when ur not a child. So we waited for the right moment until it was like 6:30. We took the glass and threw the water a little on the bed next to my cousin’s leg and some on his Shalwar. We had a tough time controlling our laughter but we managed.
We then went to the other room and woke up my naani to tell her that its morning. So after my naani woke up and went to wash her face, we slowly woke everyone else up until there was none except that particular cousin sleeping. My cousin looked at me and I gave him “Harri Batti (Signal)”. We then took everyone including my naani and showed her what our Dear cousin did on his bed (who by the way was still sleeping and didn’t know what was coming to him). My nanni first squinted to see what we were trying to show but then she just asked us what we are trying to show. So we took one of our nanni’s hand and placed it on the bed near the shalwar. WE knew it was water but THEY thought it was…you know. My nanni upon touching it got so mad that she just went outside the room and came back with a stick. She hit my cousin with the stick and woke him up. He woke up after the second hit with a puzzled face. When he woke up and saw all of us gathered around him and then felt his bed wet, he was so puzzled and embarrassed that he didn’t know what to do. So he quickly got up and ran out the room telling my naani that he didn’t do it. He was being chased by my naani with a stick while my cousin & I were just standing back and watching the show. I cannot describe the embarrassment on his face and the laughter that we experienced. He was so puzzled that he wasn’t actually sure whether he wet his bed or not.
We later made it up to him by offering him lunch outside. But it was definitely worth it. Hahahahaha
Well, can’t remember any of mine right now, but do remember something that happened to one of my aunts at a wedding we went to recently.
This aunt of mine has a habit of speaking without thinking, so at the wedding she was sitting with the bride talking to her, when a little kid came up on the stage and started talking to the groom. My aunt looked at the kid and said to the bride, “Masha Allah pyara baccha hai. Aap ka hai?” And the bride went, “Jeeeeeee?” My aunt then realized what she had said and went “oh sorry, mera matlab hai aap kay kisi rishtay daar ka hai?”
oh oh here’s another one…this one happened a few months ago…So I’m at Subway and I wanted to get a half foot long sub…so I walk up to the dude at the counter and I’m like “Yea, I need a 6-foot long sub.”
He looks at me like really wierd and he’s like, "excuse me? ="
and I’m like “Yea I need a 6-foot-long sub”…
And he goes, “You mean a 6-INCH sub?!”
I was like so embarassed, kasme. I didn’t even realize I had said 6-foot long sub…what was I thinking??? sooooo embarassing. I just gave him a real retarded smile and was like, "oh, umm yea..tee hee "