Morocco one-day tournament

In today's match SA scored 220/6 of 50 overs and S/L in reply are 125/2 of 25 overs.

Looks like S/L match. I am sure they wont mess it up like we did yesterday.

what makes you think that world cup will be low scoring???

From my side, South Africa is no. 1 for World Cup.

Man, the way they field, bowl, and bad is simply outstanding!

In addition to that, they don't depend on one player as other teams do.

Srilanka won the game by six wickets.

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

what makes you think that world cup will be low scoring???

First of all quote my right post before replying.

Second of all if you haven't heard South Africa is a bowler's heaven, very fast pitch and we all know which team has the best fast bowlers in the world. (coughs Paa ki st aan)

So instead of dead and dull pitches like India where almost every inning total is around 250, the batting will be extrememly difficult against teams with quality bowlers like Pak, SA, SL, Aus, Can, Nam, Bang, Eng, Zim, Ken, Hol, WI, NZ. :)

*Originally posted by Xpress: *

First of all quote my right post before replying.

Second of all if you haven't heard South Africa is a bowler's heaven, very fast pitch and we all know which team has the best fast bowlers in the world. (coughs Paa ki st aan)

So instead of dead and dull pitches like India where almost every inning total is around 250, the batting will be extrememly difficult against teams with quality bowlers like Pak, SA, SL, Aus, Can, Nam, Bang, Eng, Zim, Ken, Hol, WI, NZ. :)

I think I need to refresh your memory.go and see what have been scores in ODIs in South Africa in recent times.You will be surprised.Your comment is based on what you saw when pakistan last travelled to SA.
Dear, people wana see big scores in Onedayers and that is how sponsors make money..so pitches are going to be batting paradise.

So dont live in fools paradise and just go and check how runs were scored in recent matches in SA.

Par best batsmen bhi to hamare paas hain :D.

Exactly - Abhi tangiers me yeh haal hai aapke batsmen ka to SA/Zim me kya hoga ?? :hehe:

what r u talking about, i stay up to just see the score card, this time i was able to see teh game, thanks to Anees Bahi.
I was up for all the games, except this one.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Par best batsmen bhi to hamare paas hain :D.

Wasn't the same best batsman who lost the test series in South Africa a little less than year ago.

What good use of those batsman.

*Originally posted by Xpress: *

Wasn't the same best batsman who lost the test series in South Africa a little less than year ago.

What good use of those batsman.

On the same note - What good are the best bowlers jo abhi abhi tnagiers me itni buri maat khaayi hai :D.

As far as I know and I think many people with agree with me that Pakistan were the best team in the tournament as far as the bowling was concerned.

Once again like always our batting let us down.

So no one should blame the bowlers.

I know your bowlers are used to being beaten badly, doesn't mean that every team loosed because of their bowlers.

Agree tottaly... except the first game... cuz they were new to the pitch and all... the Pakistani bowling has done its best
and if ur to blame, blame the batting.
and the managment.

I'm a big fan of Waqar's captaincy, I think he has made most of his descisions correctly.
Its a good thing that he made those mistakes before the WC.
We shouldn't be too hard on him.
In my mind he has been the best captain since Imran.
Eventhough Wasim had a bit success before the WC99 but whenever Pakistan lost a series, Wasim didn't really motivate his players like Waqar has done since his start of his captaincy.

Positive attitude is extremely important for a winning performance.

The final of the first ever Morocco Cup takes place on Wednesday with Sri Lanka and South Africa vying for the trophy - and a handsome cash prize.
It has been the first international cricket tournament played in North Africa and although the locals have been rather bemused by the spectacle, the cricket itself has been exciting.

Sri Lanka will be favourites to lift the trophy - and $120,000 first prize - after winning three of their four group matches.

**They knocked out pre-tournament favourites Pakistan in the process. **

Sri Lanka have also beaten fellow finalists South Africa twice.

The two teams played a curtain-raiser group match on Monday, which Sri Lanka won by six wickets, but captain Sanath Jayasuriya knows the final will not be as easy.

“I expect them to come out fighting,” Jayasuriya said.

“The South Africans will not be beaten easily again.”

In fact both teams rested key players ahead of the final.

All the Sri Lankan top order have contributed in the tournament, with Jayasuriya in blistering form, hitting a brilliant 97 off 94 balls against Pakistan.

And their varied bowling attack has also excelled, with the off-spin of Muttiah Muralitharan and leg spin of Upul Chandana combining well with the fast-medium pace of Chaminda Vaas, Dilhara Fernando and Pulasthi Gunaratne.

South Africa have been less convincing, making a number of changes each match.

Seamer Roger Telemachus was brought in for Makhaya Ntini after the first match and then promptly dropped.

Selectors are also worried about opener Herschelle Gibbs’ poor form.

Since hitting 114 against Pakistan in the opening match, Gibbs has made 11, 0 and 1.

Captain Shaun Pollock said his side needs improvement but is still capable of winning, adding that it could be an advantage being underdogs.

Pollock: "We know where we have gone wrong and we know where we can improve.

“If we put those right I can’t see any reason why we can’t win.”

S/L won the toss and have elected to bat in the final.

Current score Sri Lanka 193/5 after 41 overs. Not a very good total so far.

Sri Lanka made 235/7 from their 50 overs. SA in reply are 85/5 off 24 overs.

Sri Lanka wins it by 27 Runs.

Man of the Series undoubtfully goes to Sanath Jayasuriya

congratulations to Sri Lanka, Well played. A bad tournament for Pakistan where all its batting shortcomings came to fore. Hope they do better in Kenya.

Abbay who is getting the flat screen TV?

^ I was wondering the same…

:k: to Sri Lanka, they were commited to winning and took it all the way