Re: Moms 2014
Due 16th of August InshaAllah, Baby #2 (after 8 years)
Congratz ![]()
Moms 2014
Congratulation to all the pregnant laddies. May you all have safe pregnancy please keep me in your prayers as I have to take some medication because of health issue but so far everything going great alhamdulila.
I need to ask you something. My 2nd baby is due in august and there is a wedding coming in in-laws family nikah is in june and rukhsati walima in august. My mum in law came to visit me today and asked what I am going to wear on shadi and if I need to order dresses from pak. Honestly speaking I don’t feel like going to nikah let alone wedding. I could not tell her that I just said main dekhon gi bla bla. Actually it has always been a problem with parents in law whenever we (hubby and I) couldn’t attend a family function. What would you suggest me? How to say no even though they know my due date but still asking. I have no issue going to wedding but can’t imagine me with my full term bump and all the aunties starring at me.
Just say you are not feeling well. Dr ney mana Kia hai. Advised me to do full rest. Bla bla bla
I was at a wedding 2 days before I had my baby, but it was the same city. Just wear something loose, in my experience aunties tend to be super nice to pregnant women, esp full term ones!
Hey Sabiha - I’m in a similar situation to you. I’m due beginning of September, and my dewar’s wedding is beginning of August. First thing is you have to judge how close the rishtidaari is: if it’s a close family member, I don’t think it’s fair to outright dismiss it. You should at least PLAN to go, and then on the night see how you feel.
As far as clothes are concerned, I am wearing loose gown type kameez, and just getting lehengas stitched with them. I don’t like the idea of wearing trousers as they’re a bit constricting lol. Also wear flats, no heels. And I agree with what someone else said: everyone will be nice to you cus they’ll see you’ve got a big bump lol.
I went to my husband’s cousin’s wedding once, and his wife’s bhabhi was due with her first baby on THE DAY of the wedding lol. Because she was the bhabhi she couldn’t exactly miss the wedding, so she attended with her big bump and all lol. It was fine - everyone looked after her and was asking about her.
I’d say if it’s a close family member, plan to attend. If it’s not so close then just keep saying dekthay hain and make some excuse on the night lol.
Attendance is important as people said if it is a close wedding. These times don’t come again and your presence will be super appreciated whereas your absence will be “humnay bhi bachay paida kiyay heyn aur shadiyon pe gaye hen” ![]()
A colleague who gave birth with me is not expecting another baby by June. Despite contraceptive coil!!
Fuzzy tongue - anyone got this sensation during pregnancy? It’s kind of metallic… but more a fuzzy feeling. Annoying. I brushed my teeth last night and again this morning but it hasn’t gone away.
Hmm I haven’t had that. Did you ask your OB? Or google lol?
I know your teeth and gums get super sensitive when you’re pregnant. My gums bleed every time I brush my teeth ![]()
joining you 2014 moms! ![]()
I think I know what it might be…
BBC News - Air pollution reaches high levels in parts of England
The UK has been overcome with Sahara desert dust lol… I’ve also had difficulty breathing at night for the past 3-4 days - pretty sure it’s due to this ![]()
Congrats Jhanajariya - when’s your due date? :flowers:
May 3rd. Inshallah
Baby no 2 …
Haven’t had fuzzy tongue but damn that metallic taste ugh. It’s the worst.
^lol oh god I had that metallic taste with my first pregnancy.. I felt like I was chewing pennies for 9 months. It went away as soon as I delivered.
I have another question: why do they say pregnancy lasts 9 months, when actually it’s 40 weeks: 40/4 = 10… so 10 months?
No no it’s not 10 months.. It looks like it because you just divided 40/4. = 10.. In fact 1 calendar month is 4.5 weeks except February. So if you multiply 4.5 x 9 it is 40.5 weeks.
Also remember, the docs decide your estimate delivery date based on the day of your last period not the actual date of conception so technically you weren’t even pregnant for couple of weeks around your period.
Hope this explains.
You can google the months for weeks distribution so it will make sense. My mother always goes with months and not weeks because that’s how they did it back in the day and she is always spot on without the confusion of weeks/months.
Yes it feels like forever but trust me we don’t stay pregnant forever ![]()
Okay 4 weeks = 28 days… by adding 2 or 3 days to make 30 or 31 days, you’re not adding half a week - as half a week is 3.5 days. So 1 calendar month is just under 4.5 weeks… it’s 4 weeks and 2.5 days. I know I’m being pedantic lol… it just made me wonder.
The other thing that I can’t get my head around is how they decide your due date: it’s taken from the first day of your last period. Well, when I was on my period, we weren’t even allowed to have sex Islamically, so it’s physically IMPOSSIBLE for me to have conceived then. So why are those two weeks (i.e. before the time I ovulated, and therefore before we conceived) still counted?
Don’t get it ![]()
Because it’s impossible to know when conception occurs. It’s easier to just count from the first day of your last period as a standard across the board since everyone knows when that happened. Ultrasounds will usually be able to date your pregnancy more accurately but early ultrasounds. The later it gets, the less accurate they are in dating the age of the fetus.
Hi ladies, finally had some time to log on here and see how everyone is doing. Great to see many more success stories
Hi KS! How are you and your girls doing?? ![]()