Mom not willing to talk to my future mother in law

So after years of waiting my parents finally said yes for me to marry the guy I love. My mom actually seems very happy and is excited about us getting married. However, the obstacle is that we are stuck at a yes from both parents but both haven’t even talked once! His parents want to talk but my parents haven’t even mentioned once about talking to them to make the rishta paka.

So today I mentioned to my mom that his mom wants to talk. Right away she dismissed the idea and said "mein kya baat karoon gi…mujhay nahi baat karni. She said she is shy!

I don’t know what to do to get my parents to talk? Should I just get her mom on the phone and give it to my mom, then she won’t have a chance to say no? Please guys tell me what should I do?

Re: Mom not willing to talk to my future mother in law

You’re mom ain’t shy, honey. She’s SLY.

What grown woman is gonna be shy about helping her daughter get settled in life? I don’t think you’ve ever seen mommy get bashful around other aunties and her in-laws. You know what else rhymes with shy and sly? LIE. :flowers:

^ Ouch, bit harsh no? okay she might not feel comfortable talkin to the other lady, but calling her sly and all the rest is um defo bit much.

noshi11 I think ur own idea is not a bad one, try it n c wat happens.

Invite the future-in-laws to tea...she'll have to talk then!

This is weird really. When your mom is all excited about your marriage and all then why does she avoid talking to your MIL. Cannot get it really. Anyway, I assume you both do not live in the same city or could have arranged a meeting together as the official rishta pakka ceremony. Now, I guess you' ll have to arrange it as the way you mentioned already or ask your MIL to make a call and let your mom pick it. Rest should be an easy deal.

Please don't say that. It is harsh.

It is upto the boy's mother to initiate.

Ask your boy if his mom wants to call, give him your mom's number.

Tell your mom boy asked for your mom's number and that since mom has said yes, you have given it to him.

Onus of responsibility is on your MIL then. SHE has to go direct to your mom, that is how things are DONE in desi society generally.

It isn't harsh at all. It is a statement of fact.
BUT I support the girl's mom in as much that the boy's mom should make a call to her, not ask you or ask boy or ask anyone to arrange a call. You only need to provide the number to the BOY who can give it in turn to his mother.

BTW I found your own post to be rather harsh instead of Mirage’s

It's a crime to claim being sarcastic in your signature if you can't detect it in others. For such stupidity, I shall have to resort to the consequence stated in your sig. Yes, sarcasm again. In the form of yet another rhyme. DIE!

^ :hehe:

Apni ammi se kaho...aap baat nahin karengi to kaun karega?

my bad, my bheja is totally fried these days :flower1:

Has HIS parents sent a official rishta to your parents? Traditionally...., HIS parents should initiaite if they want you as their son's wife. Give them your parents address and phone number. From that....his parents should be able to find a way to get in touch with your parents if they're really interesting in pursuing this.

On a total side note: what is your dad's reaction? Have you talked to him about your mom's behavior?

Your MIL should initiate..give your guy your mom’s number..I am sure your mother would talk if your MIL called. She said she is shy because she doesnt want to initiate. Still if things dont work out, u can turn to your father for help. He might talk to them..goodluck:hugz:

well this is not weirdd.. i had to call in my chachi for that purposee coz mom was shy too quiet

i hate it when parnets make obstacles when their kidz r in love ..

I didnt think of this. Thank you. If MIL calls she wont have a choice but to talk.

Well his parents did call years back but my dad said no at that time. Now i think they just want to confirm with me before calling. The first time I gave them the number they called without asking me.