Mohammad Yousuf announces retirement from international cricket

Playing for Pakistan should be treated like an honour and not the other way around. Yousuf has always put himself before Pakistan and this was proven when he joined the ICL. Even then, he was ONLY dropped from the T20 team and in protest he joined ICL KNOWING doing so will result in him being banned from all formats. Did he care? No he didn't. He joined anyway because of money. Since then he has taken an oath to be against Shoaib Malik at any cost at that has caused a lot of problems within the team as Malik has his own group of supporters. This was proven by the Australian fiasco.

And after losing 9-0, instead of being ashamed, he had the courage to come out say he thought we did good in Australia and he should be retained as captain. If 9-0 is good, then I wonder what is bad?

Once again, by retiring 'for now' he has proved his retardedness. If hez so 'sacha' and innocent, then appeal against the ban, take help from the media and prove you didn't do anything to deserve an indefinite ban. But no, he announced his retirement so people feel sorry for him, and cuss at the PCB and therefore, all the attention will go away from what he did to bad mouthing the PCB.

No other cricket board in the world takes crap from it's players and let's them boss the board around. It's about time our board does the same, unfortunetly our people, like our players are too emotional and do not think what's better for the country in the long run.

I wish you could say the same when it comes to Afridi.

Why would I? Afridi has never put money ahead of Pakistan. He was offered the most money by ICL compared to any other Pakistani player yet he declined it. Afridi has been dropped several times from the team, especially in the late 90's and early 2000. Did he ever whine or cry about it?

Whenever and in whichever format Afridi has led Pakistan in, you can see the passion from his body language. What does Yousuf's body language tell u even when he is the captain? His body language is as spineless and gutless as Yousuf himself.

You don't see the crime? He is as much of cancer as Malik is, he can throw away his wicket and not be blamed but then he can bat whenever he feels like it. I don't know whether it means he is playing for Pakistan or he is playing for his self?

How many times has he 'thrown' his wicket away in his career? That's rite, countless times, and if he makes that mistake now all of a sudden he is a selfish bast*rd who is only playing for himself? Pathetic excuses to compare afridi with yousuf.

Re: Mohammad Yousuf announces retirement from international cricket

^ Yes, his throwing away wicket became so habitual so that when he wanted to undermine captaincy of others it was acceptable, and you call it professionalism? Even his crimes become acceptable, wah ji wah.

Seriously speaking did he had much to whine and cry about when he was dropped back then? He bowling is developed in last two-three years and he have to develop his batting...

I would be ecstatic if this retirement was a real retirement...but it's more of a tantrum and emotional blackmail... and it will most likely work... Pakistan will one lose match and Pak fans will be out burning effigies. and maulana sahib will be back. voila. mission accomplished.

the only thing that could top maulana sahib's retirement is Afridi's retirement. I am going to CELEBRATE on that most beautiful day whenever it comes. I get teary-eyed just thinking about it. what a day it will be...

I know you guys are talking about something else but just wanted to to comment on your statement about his bowling.

It is a pretty common misconception that his bowling has improved in the last 2-years. I have been hearing that for the last 8-10 years that his bowling has improved in the last few years and it always amuses me to hear it from people who have been following Pakistan cricket. The fact is that he developed as a recognized bowler early in his career and has been a very deceptive one since early 2000’s.

I would encourage you to read this article on him by Osman Samiuddin. I have read many articles over the past several years on why people never considered him a strike bowler. This is a fairly recent article which I remember reading few weeks ago but I am sure you can find many more from the past on the very same topic.

Well said fkhan2. A lot of people need to read that article by OS as it will open their eyes.

Captain1...the thread is about Yousuf and what he did. Whether what Yousuf did is right or wrong cannot be justified by comparing him to Afridi.

Article does proves my point

I believe Jay Suriya of Srilanka, Ijaz Ahmed & Salim Malik from Pakistan, Tendulkar from India, Phil Simmons from West Indies were called partnership breaker as well , it was only that all of them have/had fame of batsmen…

Afridi may have been hidden under the great names of earlier times, remember we had Saqlain Mushtaq, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Shoaib Akhter in those times…

Afridi to me is in the class of AbdurRazzaq and Azhar Mehmood nothing more than that..

Lets look at his average

Bowling : Test Avg 34.9, Strike Rate 65.7 in 26 Matches, One Day Avg 34.6, Strike rate 45 in 293 Matches

Batting : Test Avg 37. 4, in 26 Matches, One Day Avg 23.2

I don’t know how to call him great player…

Where did I say that he is a great player? Tell me frankly is there a single great player in our current side? The current side is a mediocre side which consist of average and few above average players. Our problem is that we expect super star like performances from these players and obviously get dissappointed every time. Why can't we just admit that this is what we have right now until we get new talent who can hopefully be compared with the greats of past and present.

Afridi is a player who can compete with any bowler in our current side. As a bowling allrounder who can also bat he is an important player of our average side . Lets compare his ODI bowling average (post 2001) with some of our current bowlers

Shahid Afridi - Average 31 - Strike Rate 41
Mohammad Asif - Average 31 - Strike Rate 41
Rao Iftikhar - Average 31 - Strike Rate 38
Umar Gul - Average 27 - Strike Rate 32
Saeed Ajmal - Average 31 - Strike Rate 46

I don't need to do any comparison regarding his T20 performance which is quite significant for our side.

Lastly don't forget that he is aggresive as a captain and has got some leadership skills and under him team appears to play as a unit.

A bowling allrounder like Afridi who can also lead his side well therefore becomes an important member of this current Pakistan side.

:smack: yaar aap log Faisal Iqbal aur Imran Farhat ko kewn bhool jatay ho!

Fkhan2...excellent work man! Even I didnt know he's been just as good, if not better than our so called specialist bowlers since 2001. :)

It is almost time to take the decision back. I say sometime this week :hehe:

This is the state of Pakistani Cricket. Yousuf will come out of retirement for the 3rd time. All the bans will be uplifted and all the fines will be waived. It was a big short-lived fiasco. That's all!

Mohammad Yousuf's absence has let PCB and Pakistan know what he is worth. Team is nothing without him.

the team is nothing with him either. he was there in Australia... and I believe he laid several eggs of various sizes.

Show him some money, he will come back! ( like 10 millions PRs)