Mohali diplomacy: Team India may play in Pak

India considering restoring cricket matches with Pakistan. The Indian cricket team may play in Pakistan soon. BCCI to decide when the matches will be held. The move comes as part of cricket diplomacy initiated during the Mohali World Cup meet.

source:from rediff.com

Re: Mohali diplomacy: Team India may play in Pak

Ridiulous approach by the GOI, particularly in light of the Rana testimony in the US.

**India’s decision to resume bilateral cricket ties with Pakistan is a “welcome step” for world cricket as it will bring the troubled nation back into the mainstream, ICC’s principal advisor and Punjab Cricket Association president, I S Bindra has said.

“It’s a welcome step,” Bindra said about the Indian Government’s decision to resume cricket ties with the neighbouring country.

“Regularisation of ties is a great thing. I hope they fit into Future Tours Programme . It’s a nice thing not only for India, but for world cricket as a whole that Pakistan will come into the mainstream of world cricket,” he said.

Bindra said Pakistan is a “very exciting team” and their absence from the mainstream is a “great loss to world cricket”.

As a follow up to the talks between Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and his counterpart Yousuf Raza Gilani , India has decided, in principle, to resume bilateral cricket ties with Pakistan.

India had suspended all sporting ties with Pakistan following the 2008 Mumbai terror attacks in which 176 persons lost their lives.

With the Pakistani players also expressing their desire to play in the Indian Premier League , Bindra said, “If the cricketing ties resume, Pakistani players can be available next year for the IPL. As the contract is for two years, they can fit in provided there is vacancy.”

The government, however, said timing of the tour, venues of the matches and other logistical issues would be decided by the cricket boards of the two countries.

If everything goes as per the plans, the Indian cricket team will visit Pakistan first and the Pakistanis will then pay a return visit. However, there is no slot available for the Indian team’s visit to Pakistan in the immediate future.

According to the FTP prepared by the International Cricket Council (ICC), Pakistan should visit India for three Tests and five ODIs in March 2012.

Before the World Cup semi-final match Mohali on March 30, India last played Pakistan in an Asia Cup match in June 2010 at Dambula in Sri Lanka .

The last bilateral cricket series between India and Pakistan was held in 2007-2008, when the Pakistani team had visited India.

No international cricket team has visited Pakistan after the terror attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team on March 3, 2009, in which six members of the visiting team were injured and six Pakistani policemen and two civilians were also killed.**

SOURCE

:hmmm: And what’s changed since then for us to resume cricket ties now ?

stupid idea..

with all respect to my pakistani brothers and sisters.. pakistan is not ready to host international cricket yet..

I think if they host them in 1 city with a few matches in the beginning then it may be a good way to re-start things. They maybe able to secure that first instead of a full blow series involving many cities in Pakistan etc.

But in any case, it won't happen this year. ICC already finalized this years schedules.

you do have a strong point in that not much has changed but of very late, there have been signs of some positive changes, so this might be an incentive to get govt of Pakistan cooperate in the investigation. Pakistan released a bunch prisoners too -

If you want to play fine , if not still fine. Pakistan cricket has survived without India before and will continue to do so. Despite all the problem it was only Pakistan which could have bounced back like they did and get to the semis of world cup. No other team and I mean no other team could have done that. So keep all this arrogance to yourself. There was a time when windies dominated the world cricket, than Aus now India, but times change, so keep that in mind.

Agree on first one 100%

For second one - is really India dominating world cricket? they won the world cup. Lets see if they can really live up to that title in all formats.

Why getting so defensive bhai? Player's comment had nothing to do with how well the cricket teams have been playing. It was regarding the political mess between the countries.

Ehsan bhai, lets keep this sense of indignation aside for a while and focus on the main issue here. I know Pak cricket can survive even in isolation but thats not the point here :)

Indian govt cut off sporting ties after 26/11, and not because of the quality of Pakistani cricket/players. They have for some inexplicable reason decided to resume ties now. My question is on what's changed between 26/11 and now for the govt to have changed its posture.

Your post was off-topic, but I would still like to respond :D

It depends on how you define domination. If its off-field, then with the monetary clout BCCI has India definitely dominates world cricket.

If you are talking about performance on-field, India has been the # 1 test team for a couple of years and is the reigning ODI world champion.

Its not off topic, I responded to some one else's post. That makes it very "on". If India plays with pakistan then it will be a meet of not so distant equals in cricket and the domination will be determined by the outcome of the games. So that is what i am talking about.

And thank you for ignoring post no6 which was my original thought.

Bring it on :jhanda:

Yaar, pehle WI se to khel lo :wink:

Khel bhe laingay aur jeet bhe laingay :snooty:

InshaAllah :slight_smile:

wasnt Sri Lankan team suppose to come as well?? wht happ to tht? ....

btw ... ehsan well said! :)

Its better for Pak team to go to India than the other way round. Frankly i would not like any international team to visit Pakistan at present.

Nothing earns money for Pakistan and India like Pakistan vs India game.

Personally, I dont want India to come and play in Pakistan for now because if even a glass broke around any indian player, it will be like all hell broke lose. We can play in some neutral venue.