Nothing earns money for Pakistan and India like Pakistan vs India game.
Playing in multi-country tournaments is fine, but I don't see the rationale behind resumption of bilateral cricket by GOI.
I think its a matter of principle. Either don't declare a suspension of bilateral sporting ties everytime a Pakistani carries out terrorist acts against India, and if you do then stick to that resolve unless something changes.
practically it will take more time to happen but its good if pakistan starts hosting the matches-they r a very good crickting side and they deserve the hosting rights
Personally, I dont want India to come and play in Pakistan for now because if even a glass broke around any indian player, it will be like all hell broke lose. We can play in some neutral venue.
Exactly my thoughts ..... Just the slightest Hint of anything untowards and u know the Media (especially the Masala Media) ..... it could be the final nail in the coffin of Pakistan trying to resume cricket on its soil for many years to come
So if this has to take place (boards/governments agree) then please at neutral venue (UAE, ENG)
Yae hai asal baat...yaad rakhiyaee bhai logo, SUB SAY BARA RUPAEYYA......paisa hee sab kuch ha iss dunya may....that is why cheap PCB is dying to "restore" relationship with BCCI and even cheaper "BCCI" is willing to cooperate fully knowing that THE bilateral situation is still not conducive to normalizing cricket relationships between both countries…shukla jee is issuing contradicting statements every day…
I disagree with bcci being cheaper.
last time when i checked bcci earns around 500 crore per year that is 2006 statics.with IPL it will be almost double or trible the revenue.and bcci belongs to private company not government of india
upcourse they have to pay or regular bribes to state boards.coming to topic it is more to do with government of india then BCCI. from what i have been seeing from news sources especially manmohan singh visiting Kazakhstan,he is desperately looking for oil/uranium pipeline through pakistan,what a better way to start relation through cricket.
BCCI is not dying to restore cricket relationship with Pak, its the Indian govt which is taking this "cricket diplomacy" business a bit too seriously...
A step in the right direction… I’m all for sports diplomacy as long as it goes beyond one-off “ping-pong” meetings such as the one in Mohali. Sports has often been the soft power that can lead to cooperation and exchange between countries with uncertain outlooks and damaged histories.
That being said, I think a phased approach to resuming full bilateral cricket ties is what is needed. For the next couple of years at least, I think the two teams should play in neutral venues or in India – until the situation in Pakistan becomes demonstrably better for inviting and hosting international teams.
Playing in multi-country tournaments is fine, but I don't see the rationale behind resumption of bilateral cricket by GOI.
I think its a matter of principle. Either don't declare a suspension of bilateral sporting ties everytime a Pakistani carries out terrorist acts against India, and if you do then stick to that resolve unless something changes.
That is the whole point. It most certainly was not necessary as the cricketers had absolutely nothing to do with the perpetrators of Mumbai crime however despicable. It was an emotional over-reaction. Severing trade relations with Pakistan for a while would have been an appropriate response
Keep sports out of politics & Keep politics out of sports
My only concern is security and now is not the right time for any country to visit Pakistan although AA's suggestion below makes sense
I think if they host them in 1 city with a few matches in the beginning then it may be a good way to re-start things. They maybe able to secure that first instead of a full blow series involving many cities in Pakistan etc.
But in any case, it won't happen this year. ICC already finalized this years schedules.
That is the whole point. It most certainly was not necessary as the cricketers had absolutely nothing to do with the perpetrators of Mumbai crime however despicable. It was an emotional over-reaction. Severing trade relations with Pakistan for a while would have been an appropriate response
I dont necessarily agree but that discussion if not for KK :)
My point is more about consistency of response by GOI.
I agree with this, however, it is India at the end of the day which has a history of breaking off cricket relationship with Pakistan. Typical Indian attitude of mixing politics with cricket. I actually one of the voices who is oppose of any bilateral playing cricket with India. Until Indians don't stop terrorizing Kashmiris and Muslims in general we shouldn't be even talking about playing cricket with them.
You might be biased in your statement about India within its right to ban cricket with Pakistan just because you're Indian. I personally think India uses these tactics to persuade their population to believe that they are right. Anyway, until any Indian soldier or serial killers are in Kashmir, their should not be any sports ties which is to show solidarity to our brothers and sisters in Kashmir.
i never heard about indian players not wanting to go to pakistan in any of the news channels here in india.
how come pakistani channel got this news
also what do u mean by if there is any prob.
iam sure security levels would be much defferent compare to what sri lankan cricketers got.looking at this thread your own country men are not sure about security,there is a high chance it will happen in neutral venue
i never heard about indian players not wanting to go to pakistan in any of the news channels here in india.
how come pakistani channel got this news :D
also what do u mean by if there is any prob.
iam sure security levels would be much defferent compare to what sri lankan cricketers got.looking at this thread your own country men are not sure about security,there is a high chance it will happen in neutral venue
hahah i dont trust indian news anymore ... :P well let's see the talks are still going on ... but its says that indian players have always been reluctant to come to Pakistan, cuz of security reasons ... which is yh ... a valid reason for them ... but honestly, I would be more happy if they done come ... cuz if anything goes wrong .. dunt ask .. whts gonna happen!! so its better that for the time being ... they should put this matter aside ... and play somewhere else like dubai or somewhere else... and then inshaAllah once things are looking more good and all settled they can come and enjoy our hospitality! :)