"Modern" Desi's Dressing?

In the past 4-5 years, there has been a sudden change in Pakistani’s dressing. Often you see some one wear sleeve less, capris, shoulder less tops, deep neck shirts, short shirts above jeans, tight fitting of jeans/pants, shalwar kameez chaak that go well above where the shalwar starts,Clothes that have such ill fitting that the chest is literally coming out of their clothes,see through clothes, tight fitting of shalwar kameez, skirts to the length of knees, short shirts that even show chuntain of shalwar, and the list goes on…

Although for many of us, its nothing big. For others, we have become used to seeing Indians & Europeans/Americans wear them so then again its no big deal. For the remaining, Yup its still a big issue! How many of you are actually comfortable with this sort of dressing? What is the dressing limit you will allow your own spouse? sister? mother? fiance? to follow.

Re: "Modern" Desi's Dressing?

i think sleeve less shalwar kameezes takes away the grace of shalwar kameez. Even a tiny bit of sleeves make our dress look beautiful for some reason.

and i totally hate capris. They have been very in but if somebody wears them aunty jees looks at them like" wth are u wearing"

In Pakistan, we never see short skirts. But jeans, sleeveless and capris have become very common and they all look cool.

All the aunties I know are ok with capris and most are ok with their daughters wearing knee-length dresses and sleeveless tops.. mini skirts (as in around the thigh), spaghetti straps and cleavage are the only things that are really unacceptable with the parents/elders we know.. most of the girls themselves tho will literally wear anything.. inc bikinis on the beach or in the garden.. my parents are ok with most things, we have a pool so they're used to me walking around in next to nothing but in front of aunties obviously I cover up more.. My mum did used to be quite strict in my early/mid-teens but she has eased up a lot..

I don't see how anyone can find jeans more indecent than churidar.. that's just cultural bias imo..

Re: “Modern” Desi’s Dressing?

Pakistani men can wear any fashion of the world but when Pakistani women wear something slightly nontraditional people feel “uncomfortable”. :smack:
I do not control or put limits on how my female family members can dress, just as I don’t do this for the male family members.

pakistani people r too obsessed with sex..they actively look for its themes n metaphors in every sphere of life..

they make everything a big deal..

here in north america..tank top n shorts is normal..nothing is seen indecent about it..so its all the way u look at things

n perverts n gossip mongerers will always stay just that..whter u wear capris n sleevless or burqa

Personally I'm okay with sleeveless and capris (though i don't wear either) but clevage in desi clothes just looks weirdddddd

yea cleavage is like NO WAY ..NeveR eVeR!

^ Agreed.

Personally i hate women and men who dress immodestly.

Shalwar kameez was the common dress in my homeland area up north.

All men wore hats or turbans and all women wore duppatas.

In my village it was always so but in the cities there are even naked people claiming to be holy folk, and they call us Paindoos :zobo:

although, pakistani men dress more conservatively than pakistani women in general.
I mean what is an equivalent of spaghetti straps, sleeves tops, capris etc? dude just showing up in a short loincloth? :slight_smile:

men dont even have short sleeve kurtas in general, (btw makes no sense, they wear tshirts so why not short sleeve kurtas, saw a few and they looked very cool)

men do sometimes wear see thru kurtas which are offputting and so yeah i guess that is an example of dodgy stuff.

If you wear net contrasting banyans under your see-through kurta, you’ll be a hero :hmmm: :nahi:

I want to hear some fatwa on wearing modern clothes.:)

Thou shalt perish if your armpits and underwear lines are readily seen in daylight without the help of a flashlight. 65 lashes publicly.
-- from ModernFatwas.camm

i dont see the big deal about sleeveless. Its just armpits. who gets turned on by armpits?

People get turned off and that's not good either after al we are all brother brother sister sister :@:

OK, I'm losing it today. Apologies.

As long as a dress is satisfying your religious limits .. .. its fine .. .. rather perfect. now choice is urs, you gona go with the "culture" or with your "religion"

you can't expect pakistanis to dress any more modest than the other person, humans afterall.
having said that I myself, don't wear sleeveless, capris yeah, but only at home.

if my husband, brother, or father start to wear tube tops, we might have issues.

Niceeeeeeeeeee :D I should wear it now :D

For me, covering your entire body is the main thing whether its by full shalwar kameez, full dresses/skirts to the ankles, or jeans pants. For me skin showing to the extent of capris, mini skirts, sleeve less, spaghetti straps, back less, really short tops are all unacceptable.