Modern Baby Boy Names: What names do you currently hear parents naming Baby Boys!?!?

Re: Modern Baby Boy Names: What names do you currently hear parents naming Baby Boys!

What does Eshan mean?

QUOTE=rabia3983;10066545]i love Nyle, told my hubby thats our next son’s same (if its a boy,

even pregnant yet.)

Eshan, Aahil, Aahan, Sarim

Re: Modern Baby Boy Names: What names do you currently hear parents naming Baby Boys!

Looks nicer spelt with a y?
its not just the river nile though- it’s a name on it’s own in Arabic with it’s own meaning as I noted.

Ishaan/eshaan is hindu I think… Ezaan is Arabic. There’s also Zayaan.

Kkf, why are you complicating matters? The name only ‘sounds’ like the English pronunciation of bahr-e-neel. Simply put, “Nyle/Nail/Niall” is nothing but the male variant of the female name Naila/Nyla/Nayla…like Nasir/Nasirah…Abid/Abida… aur kuch nahi. Despite the hype surrounding it, that’s really all it is. The name might be trending these days but it is not modern, or new, or even all that unique.

Fallahu khairun haafizan wa arhamur rahimeen. That should give you an idea of what Arham means and it was answered in post 15.

yes it means rehm karnay vala

Eeshan has a Muslim meaning too, my cousin names her son that. I’ll find out the origin/meaning.

Interesting blog on Eshaan/Ishan/Ishaan! Little Tiger Named “Eshaan” |

I am do next month! I have a large family of cousins, nieces, etc of boys so a lot of the good ones are already gone :(. I like some that you guys have mentioned but they are already taken. Keep it going guys! I hope I can have a name soon.

A few names I’ve come across…

Jude (Palestinians keep this , seem to see many with this name in our community)

Adden/Aiden

Deen/Dean

Niall/Nyle

Zidan

^Zidan is quite popular among North Africans (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, etc.). I’ve met 3 people with this name (2 were from Morocco and 1 one from Tunisia) from that region.

It’s definitely the “in” name in our local desi crowd too. A few people i know have given it to their sons. It’s my kids middle name too :slight_smile:

the rteason why i asked is that there are two similar words…

1. ArHam [alif, re (zabar), baRii He, meem [zabar)] = kind, raHm
    2.** ArHaam** [alif, re (zabar), baRii He, alif, meem] = plural of raHm = womb

the first name is good, second isn’t even a name…just a similar sounding word which must be avoided by using the correct spelling.

I love the name arham/arhum

How is this name pronounced?

Also seen Gabriel/Jibreel in another thread. Do you guys pronounce this the desi way…?

In a lecture by Nouman Ali Khan, he uses the womb to explain Allah’s name, Rahman. It’s Allah who takes care of the baby in the womb, not the mother. The baby is protected and fed and develops without any effort from the mother, so the protection/nurturing provided by Allah in tied in with the name, Rehman. The two definitions are connected. The name Rahman originates from rahm, which means womb.

Another example is the word nifaaq/munafiq which we all know to mean hypocrisy. However, the word nafaqun refers to an underground tunnel with two openings. The word nafaaqah refers to a lizard that would escape from one opening of the tunnel whenever it perceived a threat to its life from another opening. The idea is that the munafiq is one who wants to play it safe, who has a double face…kind of like a double opening/escape.

You can refer to this link :

chitchatovercoffee: Nouman Ali Khan; Lessons from Surah Ar-Rahman.

Gabriel is the kids first name and we pronounce it Gabriel as in the English name, not Jibreel although both are equally strong names. We just preferred the slightly softer sound of the G in Gabriel vs the harder J sound in Jibreel.

Adden/Aiden is actually not the middle eastern name. The Turkish name is spelt Aydin and it’s pronounced EYE-Deen but people have been mispronouncing it as Eh-Dun or Aden/Aiden. Aiden is an Irish name meaning little fire.

“ah-Den” is the arabic pronunciation I think? As in the city in Yemen…Aden