Model for India pak friendship

fg uncle, where you been man?

Good god, talk about creating a mountain from a molehill. Sambi, it’s not I who is becoming prissy wissy but you! Every time Wasim - is- mentioned - along -with - bowler - Indian…why do some of you start jumping up and down so excitedly?

Ok cool…so Irfan is nowhere near Wasim. Happy?? Has the outrage lessened, your highness??:hehe:

I fail to see how Wasim helping pathan is a model for Pak India friendhip when India is about to tour Pakistan. Its like Brisitsh pilots taking lessons from Nazis on flying planes during WW2.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :biggthumb

*Originally posted by lunaticCalm: *
I fail to see how Wasim helping pathan is a model for Pak India friendhip when India is about to tour Pakistan. Its like Brisitsh pilots taking lessons from Nazis on flying planes during WW2.

You beat me to it. i was going to say more or less the same thing!!

When the hell are Gavaskar or Sachin gonna do their part in this friendship and teach Yasir or Taufeeq a few tricks in batting?.

Sambi, been around. you fail to notice my existence, barray loag.

mashallah.. this thred itself is a model for Pak-India 'friendship'

*Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad: *
mashallah.. this thred itself is a model for Pak-India 'friendship'

ok so which cruel cruel bharati crapped in this kid bambi’s cornflakes? :mad:

is that what it is? it did seem he was high on something…:hehe:

Reading the article makes me wonder if getting Wasim as our bowling coach would be a good idea or not. Lets be frank ppl, Wasim and Javed dont get along that well for unknown reasons, so wasim's presence would fragment the team into two groups - Wasim loyalist and Javed loyalist.
On the other hand how about if we use waqar as our bowling coach. If you recall, it was waqar who helped launch shaoib's career duringthe tour of SA in 98 (i think). Also we dont have any upcomming left hand fast so who exactly will wasim benefit. If its swing that you are trying to teach, who better than Waqar.
I know many of you wont agree with my choice, but you must admit that we need a darn good bowling coach if we are to maintain our level of swing bowling.

www.jang.com.pk/thenews

Has Wasim switched loyalties by coaching Pathan?

By our correspondent

KARACHI: It is finally official. Pakistan’s sultan of swing Wasim Akram has played a leading role in coaching the Indian fast bowlers presently touring Australia and his best pupil has been the 19-year old Irfan Pathan.

Pathan, who toured Pakistan with the Indian under-19 team last November and spearheaded his team to the Asia Cup title, has made a big impression in Australia after taking over from the injured Zaheer Khan, who is said to have already benefited from Wasim Akram’s experience and ability.

A report in the Indian media on Tuesday confirmed that soon after India’s critical victory over Australia on Sunday, Wasim spent over an hour in the nets coaching and passing on tips to Pathan who is a big admirer of the former Pakistan captain.

If anything the report noted that while Australian Bruce Reid is the official bowling coach of the Indian team, Wasim has been the unofficial coach and has worked with the Indian bowlers since coach John Wright first invited him to do this last October in India.

The report said that Wasim had spent over an hour with Pathan in the nets even though he had gone to the Gabba ground basically to do a television shoot but ended up coaching the youngster.

The report quoted Wasim as saying: "He is very earnest. "He is a good bloke, with lot of potential. He runs in fast and that’s the first sign of a good fast bowler."

According to the report, it was fascinating to see Akram and Irfan in action: "the master and his pupil. Both have similar frames: same height, same body structure and same good looks."

"Wasim showed him how to hold the ball, how to use his fingers for those special deliveries and how to complete his follow-through. If Irfan had any doubts, he would promptly show him exactly what he meant and how to do it. The king of left-handed bowlers said that he hadn’t bowled a ball in six months, since July; but as he demonstrated his art, it looked like he had bowled just six hours earlier.

He might just be a tad heavier now, but his run-up was as smooth as ever; the new red ball too looked as dangerous and beautiful as it has always done in his hand. It swung away aesthetically, both ways, as he released it ever so slowly. Irfan could only gasp in astonishment."

The report said that for more than an hour, the two went through imaginary situations of bowling to right-handers, to left-handers, to opening batsmen to tail-enders.

Wasim spent considerable time explaining how to use his fingers for the slower delivery: "The key is to deceive the batsman. He should not see any difference in your arm swing," he kept saying," the report stated.

Normally one would only appreciate Wasim for the time he is willing to pass on his art to a keen learner like Irfan Pathan. But in the background of the Indian’s scheduled tour to Pakistan in March-April for the full Test series for which Pathan appears a certain selection, clearly questions will be asked in the Pakistan cricket circles about where Wasim’s priorities should be. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chief Executive Rameez Raja has tried to defend Wasim’s unofficial coaching of the Indian bowlers by stating that being an international celebrity and a retired one he had every right to help out any youngster he wanted too. But even Rameez, as an afterthought, added that perhaps Wasim should be looking at where his priorities lie with the Indian series coming up.

But given that Wasim ethically might not make himself popular with the Pakistan cricket public with his coaching of the Indian bowlers, what is stopping the PCB from announcing officially they want him as coach for their bowlers.

After all the Pakistan team also has a long line-up of young fast bowlers waiting for action and clearly Muhammad Sami and Shabbir Ahmed are also now facing problems, so why can’t the Board officially ask Wasim to come down and help out the Pakistan team?

I don't see why you guys are getting all uptight over this article.

It's not like Wasim Akram has ripped his arm off and handed it to Pathan. Just some guidence, and pointers. Is it wrong to not get help?

It's a good thing that Wasim has ignored the political aspect and concentrated about cricket, in order to teach an Indian some tricks. Pakistan people should be very proud, they have a legend as Wasim, to teach other nations cricket.
If Tendulkar ever taught Taufeeq how to play the straight drive better, etc. I would be happy that at least someone as good as Tendulkar is giving tips to our players. Now how they use those tips, is up to them, but that would mean the player is a good ambassador for the love of the game.

Face it, no one can be what Wasim was. Wasim Akram is one of a kind, and there never will be another. From a young kid

I don't understand how this relates to be offensive. It's like being a little kid, and bowling to your friend at the age of 10 and pretending to be the next Wasim Akram.

Instead of blaming India, or whatever excuse, blame the PCB for not having some coaching clinics with the new bowlers and Wasim.

Btw, article doesn't mention Pathan as the next Wasim. It says it was easier to guide, because of the same infastruture.

I have no problem with wasim teaching indian bowlers. And before you start quoting my Nazis comment, it was meant in that context.
All i am saying is that pakistan is in good hands with javed, and bringing in wasim will upset that balance, promote politicization of the team as i like to call it.

Pak raps Akram's helping hand

KARACHI: The Pakistan cricket establishment isn't pleased about their former fast bowling great Wasim Akram giving coaching tips to Indian bowlers who are currently on a tour of Australia.

The results are there for all to see. Left arm pacer Irfan Pathan has emerged as the find of the tour in the wake of his searing spells and contributions with the bat in the Test and VB one-day series.

Akram has played a leading role in the 19-year old's development as a spearhead of the Indian attack.

Pathan , who toured Pakistan with the Indian under-19 team last November and spearheaded his team to the Asia Cup title, has made a big impression in Australia after taking over from the injured Zaheer Khan, who is said to have already benefited from Wasim Akram 's experience and ability, says The News.

One report even said that soon after India's critical victory over Australia on Sunday, Wasim spent over an hour coaching and passing on tips to Pathan who admires the former Pakistan captain.

That report further went on to say that Wasim, who is on a commentary assignment, has been the unofficial Indian bowling coach since coach John Wright first invited him to do this last October in India.

The report quoted Wasim as saying: "He is very earnest. "He is a good bloke, with lot of potential. He runs in fast and that's the first sign of a good fast bowler."

According to the report, it was fascinating to see Akram and Irfan in action: "the master and his pupil. Both have similar frames: same height, same body structure and same good looks."

"Wasim showed him how to hold the ball, how to use his fingers for those special deliveries and how to complete his follow-through. If Irfan had any doubts, he would promptly show him exactly what he meant and how to do it.

The report said that for more than an hour, the two went through imaginary situations of bowling to right-handers, to left-handers, to opening batsmen to tail-enders.

Wasim spent considerable time explaining how to use his fingers for the slower delivery: "The key is to deceive the batsman. He should not see any difference in your arm swing," he kept saying," the report stated.

Normally one would only appreciate Wasim for the time he is willing to pass on his art to a keen learner like Irfan Pathan.

But in the background of the Indian's scheduled tour to Pakistan in March-April for the full Test series for which Pathan appears a certain selection, clearly questions will be asked in the Pakistan cricket circles about where Wasim's priorities should be.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chief Executive Rameez Raja has tried to defend Wasim's unofficial coaching of the Indian bowlers by stating that being an international celebrity and a retired one he had every right to help out any youngster he wanted too.

so why cant the PCB do one easy thing, try to hire wasim as bowling coach for pak

Narrow minded.

If coaches could make bowlers, every Indian bowler would be like Dennis Lillee and every batsman would be like Javed Miandad. A coach can give you pointers but it is upto the bowler to implement them.

*Originally posted by lunaticCalm: *
Reading the article makes me wonder if getting Wasim as our bowling coach would be a good idea or not. Lets be frank ppl, Wasim and Javed dont get along that well for unknown reasons, so wasim's presence would fragment the team into two groups - Wasim loyalist and Javed loyalist.
On the other hand how about if we use waqar as our bowling coach. If you recall, it was waqar who helped launch shaoib's career duringthe tour of SA in 98 (i think). Also we dont have any upcomming left hand fast so who exactly will wasim benefit. If its swing that you are trying to teach, who better than Waqar.
I know many of you wont agree with my choice, but you must admit that we need a darn good bowling coach if we are to maintain our level of swing bowling.

www.jang.com.pk/thenews

Has Wasim switched loyalties by coaching Pathan?

By our correspondent

KARACHI: It is finally official. Pakistan’s sultan of swing Wasim Akram has played a leading role in coaching the Indian fast bowlers presently touring Australia and his best pupil has been the 19-year old Irfan Pathan.

Pathan, who toured Pakistan with the Indian under-19 team last November and spearheaded his team to the Asia Cup title, has made a big impression in Australia after taking over from the injured Zaheer Khan, who is said to have already benefited from Wasim Akram’s experience and ability.

A report in the Indian media on Tuesday confirmed that soon after India’s critical victory over Australia on Sunday, Wasim spent over an hour in the nets coaching and passing on tips to Pathan who is a big admirer of the former Pakistan captain.

If anything the report noted that while Australian Bruce Reid is the official bowling coach of the Indian team, Wasim has been the unofficial coach and has worked with the Indian bowlers since coach John Wright first invited him to do this last October in India.

The report said that Wasim had spent over an hour with Pathan in the nets even though he had gone to the Gabba ground basically to do a television shoot but ended up coaching the youngster.

The report quoted Wasim as saying: "He is very earnest. "He is a good bloke, with lot of potential. He runs in fast and that’s the first sign of a good fast bowler."

"Wasim showed him how to hold the ball, how to use his fingers for those special deliveries and how to complete his follow-through. If Irfan had any doubts, he would promptly show him exactly what he meant and how to do it. The king of left-handed bowlers said that he hadn’t bowled a ball in six months, since July; but as he demonstrated his art, it looked like he had bowled just six hours earlier.

He might just be a tad heavier now, but his run-up was as smooth as ever; the new red ball too looked as dangerous and beautiful as it has always done in his hand. It swung away aesthetically, both ways, as he released it ever so slowly. Irfan could only gasp in astonishment."

Normally one would only appreciate Wasim for the time he is willing to pass on his art to a keen learner like Irfan Pathan. But in the background of the Indian’s scheduled tour to Pakistan in March-April for the full Test series for which Pathan appears a certain selection, clearly questions will be asked in the Pakistan cricket circles about where Wasim’s priorities should be. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chief Executive Rameez Raja has tried to defend Wasim’s unofficial coaching of the Indian bowlers by stating that being an international celebrity and a retired one he had every right to help out any youngster he wanted too. But even Rameez, as an afterthought, added that perhaps Wasim should be looking at where his priorities lie with the Indian series coming up.

But given that Wasim ethically might not make himself popular with the Pakistan cricket public with his coaching of the Indian bowlers, what is stopping the PCB from announcing officially they want him as coach for their bowlers.

After all the Pakistan team also has a long line-up of young fast bowlers waiting for action and clearly Muhammad Sami and Shabbir Ahmed are also now facing problems, so why can’t the Board officially ask Wasim to come down and help out the Pakistan team?

I can't believe you're forming an opinion based on a story published in The News.

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
I don't see why you guys are getting all uptight over this article.

It's not like Wasim Akram has ripped his arm off and handed it to Pathan. Just some guidence, and pointers. Is it wrong to not get help?

It's a good thing that Wasim has ignored the political aspect and concentrated about cricket, in order to teach an Indian some tricks. Pakistan people should be very proud, they have a legend as Wasim, to teach other nations cricket.
If Tendulkar ever taught Taufeeq how to play the straight drive better, etc. I would be happy that at least someone as good as Tendulkar is giving tips to our players. Now how they use those tips, is up to them, but that would mean the player is a good ambassador for the love of the game.

Face it, no one can be what Wasim was. Wasim Akram is one of a kind, and there never will be another. From a young kid

I don't understand how this relates to be offensive. It's like being a little kid, and bowling to your friend at the age of 10 and pretending to be the next Wasim Akram.

Instead of blaming India, or whatever excuse, blame the PCB for not having some coaching clinics with the new bowlers and Wasim.

Btw, article doesn't mention Pathan as the next Wasim. It says it was easier to guide, because of the same infastruture.

Well said. perople need to grow up and come out of there narrow minded approach. No one blames Chappel in AUS if Ganguly goes to AUS to learn from him.
Its sports. People can teach each other for money for just because they are friends. Its not that Wasim is bowling for India.

ik aur bola :halo: in logon ka kuch nahi banne wala, na khood seekheingay na doosron ko seekhne deingay…agaye bare loyal.

Miandad to Akram: don’t reveal trade secrets

Wisden Cricinfo staff

January 24, 2004

Javed Mianded, the Pakistan coach, has said Wasim Akram should know where to draw the line when it comes to coaching India.

“What I am only worried about is that he does not give them tips on how to play reverse-swing,” Miandad said, adding that his own batsmen had developed a batting strategy to counter the late swing. Miandad was quoted by The News.

Akram is currently working in Australia as a commentator, and has been observed mentoring India’s fast bowlers. This hasn’t gone down too well with many, considering India’s tour of Pakistan is little more than a month away.

But Miandad said Akram was within his rights to teach bowlers how to reverse-swing the ball. “There is nothing wrong in that because a bowler must have the ability to pick up the art.”

Miandad said that since Akram was a professional cricketer, there was nothing wrong if he was paid for his expertise. “Look, he is a retired player and this is his basic right to help out other players with his experience and knowledge.”

He opined that players usually helped each other out, regardless of nationality. “As a former player, I know that in international cricket players do help out each other. Lots of people have approached me for advice if they have been going through a rough time. Similarly, I have also sought some advice at times,” he recalled.

“But telling another team the trade secrets of our team, like how to play reverse-swing, I don’t think he would do it, and I hope he is not doing it.”

**“But telling another team the trade secrets of our team, like how to play reverse-swing, I don’t think he would do it, and I hope he is not doing it.” **

funny comment seeing as indian batsmen r way better than pakistani… imagin how bad pakistani batsmen would be with out the ‘secret’ :rolleyes: