Mob loots, torches Christian colony in Lahore

Re: Mob loots, torches Christian colony in Lahore

I am not aware of this race.

However I remember another mob which set out on restoring the namoos of the Prophet (Sallalahu Alaihi wassalam) after the Norway cartoon issue. They passed near my office, I was watching them from the window as they went about smashing everything that came in their way, cars, motor cycles, hotels (Holiday Inn), banks, traffic signals and shops on Mall road...luckily my own car was inside the office premises that day...that was scary! what had the ordinary people got do with the issue??

wow…this is a dreadful read…situation is much worst than one can imagine…this radicalization cancer is far more deeper than my thoughts…

so many of these violence prone attacks on minorities were organized by an educated guy named Ali Adullah who is MBBS doctor …god, he is a doctor…studied at prestigious allama iqbal medical collge and currently appointed at jinnah hospital…he is leader of hafiz saeed’s jamat dawa medical wing…and actually got military training by hafiz saeed party in kashmir when he was a medial student…

what else to say…

and nawaz sharif party fully on board with these terrorist organizations…

where is hope!

Maybe a bit off topic. Was watching the great Bill Moyer (taped show). Show was about how the Religious Right has hijacked Religion.

The fact that folks with impunity assert being secular (standing for equal rights for all religions and athiests) means being anti religious is an indication of how much we are moving backwards. Unfortunately, politics and religion are intertwined almost everywhere.

Depressing.

Religious Right. Religious Left. Leftists. Rightists. Moderates. Secular. Atheists. Progressives. Backwards. Cheers. Depressing.

Troll.

Lahore episode further blemishes Punjab govt

LAHORE: The anti-Christian violence in Lahore where 100-plus houses and shops were ransacked, looted and finally set ablaze by a group of fanatics has further blemished the already depressing record of the PML-N government which has mostly failed to protect members of the minority communities from the wrath of the extremists and terrorists.

According to careful estimates, during the five-year tenure of Shahbaz Sharif as chief minister of Punjab, over 200 Ahmadis, Christians and Shias were killed in the province in hate-drive attacks, with some of the horrific attacks targeting the minority communities taking place in Lahore. In an almost similar incident, hundreds of hooligans belonging to the Sipah-e-Sahaba Pakistan (SSP) attacked a Christians’ locality in Gojra city on July 31, 2009 and burnt alive eight members of a family besides setting ablaze over 100 houses. The failure of the Punjab government to prosecute any of the 70 accused held responsible for the gory incident had compelled the family head to leave Pakistan after the Punjab police failed to arrest the culprits who were hurling death threats to him for pursuing the case.

The anti-Christian attacks were triggered by reports of desecration of the Holy Quran by some Christians, which eventually proved false. Five of those burnt alive were women and children who could not run to save their lives.

A total of 72 people were nominated in the Gojra attacks’ FIR who were set free one by one because the complainant in the murder case, Almas Hameed Masih, a resident of the Christian Colony, decided against pursuing the case and left Pakistan to save his life. Almas had actually nominated the president of the Toba Tek Singh chapter of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) in the FIR as one of the accused who was held responsible for the July 31, 2010 incident along with the local leadership of the SSP which had been renamed as the Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat (ASWJ). Those nominated in the case registered under section 7 of the Anti Terrorism Act included Abdul Qadir Awan of the PML-N and Maulana Abdul Khaliq, Qari Abidur Rehman Shah and Hafiz Muhammad Imran of the ASWJ.

Ten months after the Gojra tragedy, two fidayeen squads of the Punjabi Taliban targeted two Ahmadi mosques in the Model Town and Garhi Shahu areas of Lahore and killed over 100 people who were offering Friday prayers. Claiming responsibility for the May 28, 2010 twin terrorist attacks, Mansoor Maawia, a spokesperson for the Punjabi Taliban, had said, “No Ahmadi would live in peace in Pakistan. Our war against them will continue till their complete elimination because they are as bad infidels as Jews are.” It later transpired during investigations that the master planner of the twin attacks was in fact a doctor of the Jinnah Hospital, Dr Ali Abdullah, who was also the president of the Jamaatud Daawa Medical Wing. He told his interrogators that while pursuing his medical degree at Allama Iqbal Medical College, he had received armed training in Azad Kashmir at a Lashkar-e-Taiba (LT) training camp being run by Hafiz Saeed’s Jamaatud Daawa (JD). His arrest showed for the first time that the LT was a part of the Punjabi Taliban who have let loose a reign of terror across Pakistan, especially targeting the minority communities. However, none of the accused in the twin attacks has so far been taken to task.

Seven months later (on January 4, 2011), Punjab Governor Salman Taseer was shot dead in the federal capital by Malik Mumtaz Qadri, a bodyguard from the Elite Force of the Punjab Police. The killer later explained that he had assassinated Taseer because of his criticism of the blasphemy law and his efforts to secure a presidential pardon for Aasia Bibi, a poor Christian woman already condemned to death by a Pakistani Anti-Terrorism Court for having committed blasphemy. Qadri had admitted in his confessional statement that he was actually provoked for the murder by the fiery speeches of two Rawalpindi-based clerics Mufti Hanif Qureshi and Qari Imtiaz Hussain Shah. Mufti Hanif is the ameer of a Rawalpindi-based religious outfit, Shabab-e-Islami Pakistan while Imtiaz Shah is the imam of a Rawalpindi-based mosque called Amna Masjid.

Two months later (on March 2, 2011), Federal Minister for Minorities Affairs Shahbaz Bhatti, a Roman Catholic and an outspoken critic of the blasphemy law, was shot dead in Islamabad. The responsibility for the assassination was placed on the Punjabi Taliban because of a pamphlet found at the place where he was killed. Written in Urdu, the leaflet claimed that Bhatti had been killed because of his opposition to the blasphemy law. His killers have yet to be arrested.

The next in line to be killed by the Punjabi Taliban was Bargeeta Almby, a 72-year old female Christian charity worker from Sweden, who was shot in the Model Town area of Lahore on December 3, 2012 for allegedly backing two Christian priests who had been accused of committing blasphemy, the preliminary police investigations have indicated. Bargeeta Almby, the managing director of the Full Gospel Assemblies (FGA), a church fellowship founded in the United States with congregations worldwide, was returning home from her Kot Lakhpat office when two unidentified motorcyclists shot her in the Model Town area of Lahore where she had been living since long. The day Bargeeta was targeted in Model Town, another significant incident took place in the Q Block area of Model Town where over a dozen masked men carrying arms and digging tools, vandalised the tombstones of 100-plus graves at an Ahmadi cemetery. Three months before this incident, Warren Weinstein, a 71-year old Jewish American US Aid official, was abducted from his Model Town home in Lahore (on August 13, 2011) by armed men belonging to the Lashkar-e-Jhangvi (LJ) who eventually sold him to the Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP).

The ugly episode in the Badami Bagh area of Lahore took place at a time when the PML-N government in Punjab was already under fire from its political opponents for trying to strike a seat adjustment deal with the ASWJ in south Punjab for the upcoming general elections. However, a Punjab government spokesman refuted the impression that it has failed to protect members of the minority communities because of a soft corner for the banned militant or sectarian outfits.

Re: Another nonsense - another bad news!

It's always 'tum' par jihad lazim ho gaya hai. Not on the bloody mullah.

I just can't understand why there is no order to shoot the perpetrators? I mean we have photos of people who are torching and destroying property. Why can't they be shot? I'm sure if a few of these mujahids got shot, the rest would run like the cowards they are.

I watched the program 'takrar' that was posted on page one. The lady that was carrying a child brought tears to my eyes with her wailing. She kept saying that her brothers are poor and can't rebuild everything. I would much rather have these mujahids shot than even a single house destroyed.

I sincerely wish that ppls who are victimized in Pakistan may find refuge in India. But govt might not be able to arrange for them as we are already overcrowded.

Diwana saheb, plz come out of ur notion that whatever u mention is true. blasphemy laws are in full effect in India but with a civil and human touch to it.

It wont recommend death to anyone in any case.

India is a secular democracy where no religion is treated as special one, unlike in Pakistan.

There is no special law which prescribe different treatment for one who offend hindus than one who offend any other section of society.

So our blasphemy laws are to ensure that no bloody moronic and dirty mind indulge in hurting religious sentiments of anyone.

Hope this is enough for U for the day. Will keep U educating on India. Keep in touch.

Personally believe we should take all those who took part in the riot, go to their houses and burn their homes in front of their own eyes. Then we burn the mosque where it all started. After which the Mullah should be hanged.

But alas a pipe dream is a pipe dream.

Grammatical mistake diwana saheb, use is instead of are. As one accused, who made obscene paintings which hurt sentiments of a section of society, took refuge in another country.

He must not be fearing to be killed, because no one has been killed in India for his stupidity like blasphemy unlike in Pakistan. He only was avoiding the problems he might have faced in appearing before appropriate courts, owing to his old age.

Still right thinking Indians feel sad for the guy who had to live in self exile for his unintentional stupidity. Its as simple as that. Now things might be becoming a bit clearer to U.

You must be very proud. Gloating over the misfortune of others. Makes you feel big and strong doesn't it?

No it isnt. It is the most brutal, heart-breaking, accusation which bleeds my heart. Feeling big and strong? why?

And plz let me know which part of my this or any other post prompted U to jump on this conclusion? am I supposed not to speak here?

I am not an ultra nationalist by any stretch nor do I defend Pakistan on impulse even if it is doing something wrong as some others do around here coughdiwanacough.

However, it is quite irritating to see a few indians getting in pissing competitions every time something bad happens on our side of the border. I have, in the past, visited pakteahouse blog and the comments section is full of indian trolls. Any pakistani newspaper that allows reader comments also has a sizable, maybe even more than pakistanis, number of indians flaming.

You'd see the same thing in the comments section of western newspapers. If a story is about Pakistan, you'd see plenty of indians hating on Pakistan. What is up with that? It seems to me that a whole lot of indians are obsessed with pakistan.

This by no means is intended to insult the indian posters here. I personally think some of you guys are much saner than our own crazies here. But there are those and they usually don't last long, who just like to piss on pakistan while it's down.

Chacha ji, its a discussion forum, it needs its member to have a civil discussion, than only it can justify its existence. And when there are so many Pakistanis blaming India on different issues like, minority treatment, secularism, democracy, freedom of speech and religion, than its very natural for Indians to defend and present the true picture of India. At the same time its very natural for Indians to show the mirror to their Pakistani brethren and try the mirror themselves too when offered.

If U differ with any of my views above than let me know, I will discuses it with U. Plz dont get irritated if any Indian question U on human rights abuse or blasphemy laws abuse or anything else. Just address his concerns and at the same time show him the mirror too, just like he is trying to show U.

Hamid Mir’s article, must read.
Hamid Mir - kalam kaman - Shahbaz Sharif sai mazrat kay sath - Jang Columns

First of all, most people don't blame india. India pakistan thing usually starts when indian posters start sermonizing. As I have already said, I don't get in those pissing competitions but there are those who don't like to be lectured by people whose own record, while maybe better, isn't great. These people tell the indians to look in the mirror and the back and forth starts.

Secondly, why should I address anyone's concerns? Indians kaya mamay lagty hain hamary jo unn ki concerns address karni zaroori hain? I just hate the kencha taani and the diversion from the topic of the thread. I am pointing out where the problem starts. Let's work on that.

Now back to the topic.

First of all, most people don't blame india. India pakistan thing usually starts when indian posters start sermonizing. As I have already said, I don't get in those pissing competitions but there are those who don't like to be lectured by people whose own record, while maybe better, isn't great. These people tell the indians to look in the mirror and the back and forth starts.

Thanks for discovering the reason why India Pakistan things start. Thanks for acknowledging our better records. Keep finding more on these subjects, our records will appear to become better by each passing day, InshALLAH. Keep using mirrors too often, as its guarantee of self examining at least. Thanks for showing the mirror to us.

Secondly, why should I address anyone's concerns? Indians kaya mamay lagty hain hamary jo unn ki concerns address karni zaroori hain? I just hate the kencha taani and the diversion from the topic of the thread. I am pointing out where the problem starts. Let's work on that.

For instance problem starts when an Indian share the sentiments of their Pakistani brethren. Some Pakistanis feel bad about Indians pointing their finger on them. What should be stopped? Should Indians not comment on issues like this? What should be our modus-op on this problem? plz make it clear.

I assume U are a muslim, so 180 million Indian muslims are ur deeni bhai. and rest are ur brothers in humanity. Plz dont feel bad and take this as sermon or lecture. I only let U know this fact coz U doubted ur relations with Indians. I hope ur irritation ease up now.

Now back to the topic.

Hukm sar aankho par.

Propaganda against this incident…

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/482251_458536977552458_848925899_n.jpg

And that is their opinion! Why don't you understand that? That's what discussion forums are for - A expresses his views, B expresses his views, both engage in a discussion like adults. What's stopping you from refuting these incorrect statements about secularism? This isn't the first time that I'm being dragged into this childish feud between the two groups. We've been through this, in A LOT of detail, and I thought at the end of the day everyone understood that I can't be expected to filter one group out because the other doesn't like them. When it comes to hate-mongers though, that's what the mod team is there for, they'll take care of the trolls as they deem appropriate and you'll just have to respect that.

You're more than welcome to disprove these lying folks but leave me out of it, please. If you want to report someone, you know how to go about doing that. Cheers.