Miswaak and its Benefits

Re: Miswaak and its Benefits

and you're missing the point altogether...

Perhaps miswaak was the best option of its time. Today, the best option is a paste with fluoride.

I think some people are arguing that the sunnah is the cleaning of the teeth, not necessarily using the 7th century (less effective) method of doing it.

I'm not going to argue what's the best toothpaste.

Perhaps there were other methods used to cleaning teeth back in the days. I'm sure some probably worked better than miswaaks. But you won't hear any of them being sunnah.

I use a miswaak but I brush my teeth with toothpaste everyday. The reason why I use a miswaak is to get all the rewards from it because it's a Sunnah. And InshAllah on the Day of Judgment, Muhammad (SAAS) will plead with Allah (SWT) for me just because I followed this simple sunnah.

There's nothing wrong in using toothpaste, but why bash those who use Miswaaks? Why bash Muslims who follow the sunnah of prophet Muhammad (SAAS)? I don't understand.

Well I guess I won't make a good first grade teacher after all.

2:48

واتقوا يوما لا تجزي نفس عن نفس شيءا *
ولا يقبل منها شفعة
ولا يؤخذ منها عدل ولا هم ينصرون
Hence, beware of the Day when all actions will encounter Absolute Justice, and contrary to your thinking, no person will avail another in the least. And neither intercession will be accepted, nor any compensation will be received from anyone. And they will not get any help outside of their own actions.

So no, he will not plead for you for the above was revealed to him... unless you disagree with the Quran.

:salam:

Enough that muslims are in the doldrums of every sanctimonious hoot available today but this thread is just an example of idiotic some people have become and go out of their way to defy tge God given intelligence Allah SWT has bestowed upon them:

I did a search on the USC hadith database on the word siwak so we could have a proper discussion. I have the books at home however you can’t search them (very good service offered by USC MSA, may Allah SWT reward them for that). The results only show ahadith related to SIWAK in Bukhari and here they are:

Volume 1, Book 4, Number 245:
Narrated Abu Burda:
My father said, “I came to the Prophet and saw him carrying a Siwak in his hand and cleansing his teeth, saying, ‘U’ U’,” as if he was retching while the Siwak was in his mouth."

Volume 1, Book 4, Number 246:
Narrated Hudhaifa:
Whenever the Prophet got up at night, he used to clean his mouth with Siwak.

Volume 2, Book 13, Number 5:
Narrated Abu Said:
I testify that Allah’s Apostle said, “The taking of a bath on Friday is compulsory for every male Muslim who has attained the age of puberty and (also) the cleaning of his teeth with Siwak, and the using of perfume if it is available.” Amr (a sub-narrator) said, “I confirm that the taking of a bath is compulsory, but as for the Siwak and the using of perfume, Allah knows better whether it is obligatory or not, but according to the Hadith it is as above.”)

Volume 2, Book 13, Number 12:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah’s Apostle said, “If I had not found it hard for my followers or the people, I would have ordered them to clean their teeth with Siwak for every prayer.”

Volume 2, Book 13, Number 13:
Narrated Anas:
Allah’s Apostle I said, "I have told you repeatedly to (use) the Siwak. (The Prophet put emphasis on the use of the Siwak.)

Volume 2, Book 13, Number 15:
Narrated 'Aisha:
AbdurRahman bin Abi Bakr came holding a Siwak with which he was cleaning his teeth. Allah’s Apostle looked at him. I requested Abdur-Rahman to give the Siwak to me and after he gave it to me I divided it, chewed it and gave it to Allah’s Apostle. Then he cleaned his teeth with it and (at that time) he was resting against my chest.

Volume 2, Book 21, Number 237:
Narrated Hudhaifa :
Whenever the Prophet got up for Tahajjud prayer he used to clean his mouth (and teeth) with Siwak.

Volume 3, Book 27, Number 4:
Narrated Mujahid:
Ursa bin AzZubair and I entered the Mosque (of the Prophet) and saw 'Abdullah bin Umar sitting near the dwelling place of Aisha and some people were offering the Duha prayer. We asked him about their prayer and he replied that it was a heresy. He (Ursa) then asked him how many times the Prophet had performed 'Umra. He replied, 'Four times; one of them was in the month of Rajab." We disliked to contradict him. Then we heard 'Aisha, the Mother of faithful believers cleaning her teeth with Siwak in the dwelling place. 'Ursa said, “O Mother! O Mother of the believers! Don’t you hear what Abu 'Abdur Rahman is saying?” She said, “What does he say?” 'Ursa said, “He says that Allah’s Apostle performed four 'Umra and one of them was in the month of Rajab.” 'Aisha said, “May Allah be merciful to Abu 'Abdur Rahman! The Prophet did not perform any 'Umra except that he was with him, and he never performed any 'Umra in Rajab.”

Volume 3, Book 31, Number 154:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
The Prophet said, “If somebody eats or drinks forgetfully then he should complete his fast, for what he has eaten or drunk, has been given to him by Allah.” Narrated ‘Amir bin Rabi’a, “I saw the Prophet cleaning his teeth with Siwak while he was fasting so many times as I can’t count.” And narrated Abu Huraira, “The Prophet said, 'But for my fear that it would be hard for my followers, I would have ordered them to clean their teeth with Siwak on every performance of ablution.” The same is narrated by Jabir and Zaid bin Khalid from the Prophet who did not differentiate between a fasting and a nonfasting person in this respect (using Siwak).
Aisha said, "The Prophet said, “It (i.e. Siwak) is a purification for the mouth and it is a way of seeking Allah’s pleasures.” Ata’ and Qatada said, “There is no harm in swallowing the resultant saliva.”

Volume 4, Book 53, Number 332:
Narrated Ibn Abu Mulaika:
'Aisha said, “The Prophet died in my house on the day of my turn while he was leaning on my chest closer to my neck, and Allah made my saliva mix with his Saliva.” 'Aisha added, “'AbdurRahman came with a Siwak and the Prophet was too weak to use it so I took it, chewed it and then (gave it to him and he) cleaned his teeth with it.”

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 105:
Narrated Alqama:
I went to Sham and was offering a two-Rak’at prayer; I said, “O Allah! Bless me with a (pious) companion.” Then I saw an old man coming towards me, and when he came near I said, (to myself), “I hope Allah has given me my request.” The man asked (me), “Where are you from?” I replied, “I am from the people of Kufa.” He said, “Weren’t there amongst you the Carrier of the (Prophet’s) shoes, Siwak and the ablution water container? Weren’t there amongst you the man who was given Allah’s Refuge from the Satan? And weren’t there amongst you the man who used to keep the (Prophet’s) secrets which nobody else knew? How did Ibn Um 'Abd (i.e. 'Abdullah bin Mas’ud) use to recite Surat-al-lail (the Night:92)?” I recited:–
“By the Night as it envelops By the Day as it appears in brightness. And by male and female.” (92.1-3) On that, Abu Darda said, “By Allah, the Prophet made me read the Verse in this way after listening to him, but these people (of Sham) tried their best to let me say something different.”

Volume 5, Book 59, Number 722:
Narrated Aisha:
'Abdur-Rahman bin Abu Bakr entered upon the Prophet while I was supporting the Prophet on my chest. 'AbdurRahman had a fresh Siwak then and he was cleaning his teeth with it. Allah’s Apostle looked at it, so I took the Siwak, cut it (chewed it with my teeth), shook it and made it soft (with water), and then gave it to the Prophet who cleaned his teeth with it. I had never seen Allah’s Apostle cleaning his teeth in a better way. After finishing the brushing of his teeth, he lifted his hand or his finger and said thrice, “O Allah! Let me be with the highest companions,” and then died. 'Aisha used to say, “He died while his head was resting between my chest and chin.”

Volume 5, Book 59, Number 730:
Narrated Aisha:
It was one of the favors of Allah towards me that Allah’s Apostle expired in my house on the day of my turn while he was leaning against my chest and Allah made my saliva mix with his saliva at his death. 'Abdur-Rahman entered upon me with a Siwak in his hand and I was supporting (the back of) Allah’s Apostle (against my chest ). I saw the Prophet looking at it (i.e. Siwak) and I knew that he loved the Siwak, so I said ( to him ), "Shall I take it for you ? " He nodded in agreement. So I took it and it was too stiff for him to use, so I said, “Shall I soften it for you ?” He nodded his approval. So I softened it and he cleaned his teeth with it. In front of him there was a jug or a tin, (The sub-narrator, 'Umar is in doubt as to which was right) containing water. He started dipping his hand in the water and rubbing his face with it, he said, “None has the right to be worshipped except Allah. Death has its agonies.” He then lifted his hands (towards the sky) and started saying, “With the highest companion,” till he expired and his hand dropped down.

Volume 5, Book 59, Number 731:
Narrated Urwa:
'Aisha said, “Allah’s Apostle in his fatal illness, used to ask, 'Where will I be tomorrow? Where will I be tomorrow?”, seeking 'Aisha’s turn. His wives allowed him to stay wherever he wished. So he stayed at 'Aisha’s house till he expired while he was with her." 'Aisha added, “The Prophet expired on the day of my turn in my house and he was taken unto Allah while his head was against my chest and his saliva mixed with my saliva.” 'Aisha added, “Abdur-Rahman bin Abu Bakr came in, carrying a Siwak he was cleaning his teeth with. Allah’s Apostle looked at it and I said to him, 'O ‘AbdurRahman! Give me this Siwak.’ So he gave it to me and I cut it, chewed it (it’s end) and gave it to Allah’s Apostle who cleaned his teeth with it while he was resting against my chest.”

Volume 6, Book 60, Number 93:
Narrated Ibn 'Abbas:
I stayed overnight in the house of my aunt Maimuna. Allah’s Apostle talked with his wife for a while and then went to bed. When it was the last third of the night, he got up and looked towards the sky and said:
“Verily! In the creation of the Heavens and the Earth and in the alteration of night and day, there are indeed signs for men of understanding.” (3.190)
Then he stood up, performed ablution, brushed his teeth with a Siwak, and then prayed eleven Rakat. Then Bilal pronounced the Adhan (i.e. call for the Fajr prayer). The Prophet then offered two Rakat (Sunna) prayer and went out (to the Mosque) and offered the (compulsory congregational) Fajr prayer.

Volume 8, Book 74, Number 295:
Narrated Ibrahim:
‘Alaqama went to Sham and came to the mosque and offered a two-Rak’at prayer, and invoked Allah: “O Allah! Bless me with a (pious) good companion.” So he sat beside Abu Ad-Darda’ who asked, “From where are you?” He said, “From the people of Kufa.” Abu Darda’ said, “Wasn’t there among you the person who keeps the secrets (of the Prophet ) which nobody knew except him (i.e., Hudhaifa (bin Al-Yaman)). And isn’t there among you the person whom Allah gave refuge from Satan through the request (tongue) of Allah’s Apostle? (i.e., 'Ammar). Isn’t there among you the one who used to carry the Siwak and the cushion (or pillows (of the Prophets)? (i.e., Ibn Mas’ud). How did Ibn Mas’ud use to recite 'By the night as it conceals (the light)?” (Sura 92). ‘Alqama said, "Wadhdhakari Wal Untha’ (And by male and female.") Abu Ad-Darda added. 'These people continued to argue with me regarding it till they were about to cause me to have doubts although I heard it from Allah’s Apostle "

Volume 9, Book 84, Number 58:
Narrated Abu Burda:
Abu Musa said, “I came to the Prophet along with two men (from the tribe) of Ash’ariyin, one on my right and the other on my left, while Allah’s Apostle was brushing his teeth (with a Siwak), and both men asked him for some employment. The Prophet said, 'O Abu Musa (O ‘Abdullah bin Qais!).’ I said, ‘By Him Who sent you with the Truth, these two men did not tell me what was in their hearts and I did not feel (realize) that they were seeking employment.’ As if I were looking now at his Siwak being drawn to a corner under his lips, and he said, 'We never (or, we do not) appoint for our affairs anyone who seeks to be employed. But O Abu Musa! (or ‘Abdullah bin Qais!) Go to Yemen.’” The Prophet then sent Mu’adh bin Jabal after him and when Mu’adh reached him, he spread out a cushion for him and requested him to get down (and sit on the cushion). Behold: There was a fettered man beside Abu Muisa. Mu’adh asked, “Who is this (man)?” Abu Muisa said, “He was a Jew and became a Muslim and then reverted back to Judaism.” Then Abu Muisa requested Mu’adh to sit down but Mu’adh said, "I will not sit down till he has been killed. This is the judgment of Allah and His Apostle (for such cases) and repeated it thrice. Then Abu Musa ordered that the man be killed, and he was killed. Abu Musa added, “Then we discussed the night prayers and one of us said, ‘I pray and sleep, and I hope that Allah will reward me for my sleep as well as for my prayers.’”

Volume 9, Book 90, Number 346:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah’s Apostle said, "Were I not afraid that it would be hard on my followers, I would order them to use the siwak (as obligatory, for cleaning the teeth)

Now after reading all these who in his right mind cannot see the emphasis is on cleaning teeth with siwak not siwak being some special heavenly toothbrush which carries reward that no other instrument used to clean ones mouth dare have. Siwak is not an action, cleaning your teeth is an action. Sunnah is actions and sayings emphasizing on allowing, prohibiting, discouraging and encouraging actions. Cleaning your teeth is an action and something the Prophet SAW loved to do and he used the best thing available at the time to do it i.e. a SIWAK.

This should be the end of this discussion.

Did you even read the tafsir of this Ayat?

yet again... tafseer is someone's opinion brother. it says no person. I think the prophet was a person, don't you?

Oh heck no. The prophet is not going to be begging for anyone's forgiveness in particular. You are responsible for your own sins.

Now muslims are thinking the prophet is going to bail them out??!!??

I think you're looking for Christianity. They're a few doors down.

You should read up on prophet Muhammad (SAAS) bio. Countless amount of times he begged Allah (SWT) to forgive his ummah.

Agreed.

As a Muslim, anyone's dua counts.

Down where?

I dunno how you think, moving UP and DOWN in differnt position (salah) can give you any spiritual benefit?

darn those lazy thinkers! indeed they have brought this religion down.

Brother, they bash because they dont understand. I think its time to close the thread. The knowledge was given to them, they refused to take it.

Their choice, their life.

No point in arguing.

Actually this thing has come from Jews, In sura-e-Baqra, when Introduction of Jews starts, it is said that, they claim them selves to be the favourite nation of Allah, and He will forgive them.

Same stance muslims hold, that the Prophet (PBUH) will bail them out, which is not the exact story.

for example, according to one hadees, " jis nay milawaat key woh ham maiN say nahi" , now even these "muslims" are expecting a pardon on the Day, how is that going to happen i don't know.

The person eligible for the Pardon on that day will be the one who had spent his life according to rules of the Book and Sunnah, and might have commited some minor sins and have asked for forgiveness for rest of their life.

^ and refusing to accept hadiths on miswaak is not "milaawat" enuff?

Brother,

U have one problem, that u look at things from ur very angle and refuse to see other side of the coin. as per my observation it is our national delima.

anyway, none i have seen here are refusing the hadith of miswaak, it is ur preception which is telling that as we are not using it on "special" occasions, instead we are emphasizing on the cleaness, for which miswaak is a tool.

but u are taking it as something against Islam..

My Dear Brother,

To me any argument and/or debate is done to rectify and increase the level of Knowledge, to every debate and argument i go with open mind, thats why i ask so many questions, thats y i seldom copy paste, not in last 9 years of Web-Forum world i have been accused of copy pasting, i paste only when i had to paste exact Ayat or chain or narrators or exact wording of ahadith. or if have a problem in the article then i paste and start discussing it.

The point is, most of the time our forums ( pakistani forums) have posters, who just post for the sake of posting or opening new threads, and if anyone question the credibilty of the pasted material they take as personal attack and then no matter what is said they just refute it.

Gupshup is not above that behaviour, this shows though we are grownup and may be doing well in our lives but up in head we are still a child who thinks whatever we have asked is right and anyone who is standing in between them and desired thing is their enemy.

If we have to preach Islam then, we need to take Islam out of the petty things like Miswaak and Aftaba ( i hope u know what does that mean).

Islam is way way beyond that, look at the beauty of this religon, no one can question a single aya of quran but they do make fun of us, when we indulge ourselves in this kind of discussions.

Brother, Islam is most flexible and modern religion, e.g. it has not given any particular dress, as dress of Muslims, all Islam ask is to wear decent clothes.

anyway, if u think that Miswaak is the sunnah and our Prophet(PBUH) has emphasised only on miswaak and one who does that have all the above mentioned benefits, then my brother i insist that u must learn the Science of Hadith as well because according to u, it is all the ahadith who are making Miswaak so important ( please be noticed iam not emphasizing on cleaness, focus is only on siwaak) so one of the rule Scholars of Ahadith has made to validate a hadith is

If there is extra-ordinary benefits for a small task or If there is extra-ordinary punishment for a small sin then hadith is considered to be fabricated.
( i once posted all of them on this forum, please have search, it is not too old)

Anyway, the reply has seems to be long and before someone come and agains accuse me for a long reply, i may take a leave. rest is up to u.

Bro,
half the people in this thread have refuted the use of miswaak and have replaced it with toothbrush, Thus interpreting the Hadith to their will. My point reiterated time by time was to use both, however one was more beneficial and the benefits have been presented here.

Its a sunnah, the Prophet pbuh stated we use miswaak, as well as keep our mouths clean, and miswaak held its benefits.

Why dont we just chew down vitamin pills and medicine instead of eating beneficial fruits? Why do we still eat beneficial fruit?

The people back in the day still ate the same fruits, but according to the logic of upgrading, we might as well just chew down vitamin pills instead of eating fruit to gaint them.

The point here is, the word MISWAAK was mentioned for a reason. He could have just said use anything to clean your mouth, but he mentioned miswaak so many times, why? Why dont we study that science of hadith?

The analysis on hadiths are done by scholars, Muhaddiths who spend their life studying hadiths. It is their efforts that I wish to defend, whether I use miswaak or not. Whats right is right, and must be defended, and must be presented to everyone.

I just reiterated my points on why Miswaak is beneficial, both logically and with scriptures. The rest is up to the people.

Allah guide us all.

I agree with you, just wanted to add these scholars and muhaddith were blame less and sinless and beyond any mistakes. If it was not shirk I would call them Godlike.

U r right brother,

Ligher bearer have raised point and i ll add to more to it by saying, same Scholars, Muhadiths have created categories of ahadith as well, do u know at which catergory these ahadith of miswaak belong to? if yes please do tell me as well.
cause the law for validating ahadees ( which i mentioned in my previosus post) has approval from all the scholars and Muhaditheen.

as i said earlier, none of member above i seen has refused any ahadith, they were saying that, Miswaak was in those times and Tooth paste and brush are in current age. and thats all.. so in away they were saying what u were saying with a little difference that their emphasis was more for cleaning.

Keeping all the difference aside, according to u and others, siwaak have all those benefits, Spritual and physical, and as far as i have seen, u and others have strong believe in them, then may i ask do u and others use miswaak as regular tooth cleaner or it is just for the sake of argument? cause to me a sunnah is sunnah for 7/24, 365 days a year, every year till the life ends, and it does meant to apply on some occasions and/or particular days. because if so then it is pure hypocracy and hypocracy is a dieases ( according to quran)

:salam:

Hanibal nice posts. Crescent bhai, you need to see things the way they are written instead of replying to posts on your own assumptions.

JAK. Forgive me if I have hurt you.

Again, let me bring in rationalism and science to explain why bending up and down enhances spirituality.

1. Its a repetetive movement - the entire namaz consists of repetitons. This helps you get into the moment and get centered. Similar methods are used in yoga, for example.

2. Its an excercise. You may laugh at me, but when desi aunties aren't getting any excercise, this bending up and down keeps their knees working well. It gets the lymphatics moving. I always feel more energized after namaz. Couple the actions with the state of clearing your mind and just focusing on God...the meditation has tremendous spiritual benefits. It gets you connected with God.

These things are not mystical and unexplainable all the time. Quite often, a perfectly good explanation is available.

God operates on science. He made science. He uses science. For you to reject this, is a sin, IMHO, because then you're insulting the intelligence of God.

Science is his magic. At least one of his many forms of magic.