Re: Miss America 2014 crowned and Social media erupts with racism!
we would rub tubs of Fair&Lovely on her face every morn and eve.
WHAT THE
How did she won Miss America
And People cant diffrentiate between an Arab and Indian ![]()
Nope, not been to all three of these cities. ![]()
Not just Indian Americans but Asian Americans in general, including Pakistani Americans, are thriving. They are doing really well economically. And as Asian Americans, they are considered by many as “model minority” so to speak so even the stereotypes about them are mostly quite positive and definitely outweigh negative ones. The stereotypes are more like Indian/Asian Americans are really into science and tech; are very studious; have super-ambitious and driven parents (“tiger moms,” anyone?); and are quite good looking too (if you happen to be a female that is :D).
I think you highlighted some good examples of famous Pakistani Americans like Nadia Ali and Faran Tahir etc. who are positive members of society. There are lots of similar great examples too of course. Here, I would especially like to mention Bapsi Sidhwa, who is probably one of the pioneers of South Asian-origin female authors who write in English. (She reportedly described herself as a “Pakistani-Punjabi-Parsi” American woman.
) As far as literature stalwarts are concerned, I would rank her at par with Anita Desai, another great female writer of South Asian/desi background who needs no introduction, of course.
There are currently not one but two directly elected Indian-American governors, Governor Nimrata Nikki Randhawa Haley of South Carolina and Governor Piyush “Bobby” Jindal of Louisiana. Both of them are quite beloved and popular governors, and 42-year old Bobby Jindal, a graduate of Oxford and (Ivy League) Brown University, is a shining star who is already seen by many as a possible future President of the United States. (Although within the Republican Party, he could face stiff competition from Marco Rubio, a Mexican-American Senator from Florida, in the primaries, and many Democrats of course would first want Hillary Clinton to become the American President in 2016. :D)
I don’t think there is really discrimination or negative perceptions as such about Asian Americans or Indian Americans. Not everyone is completely perfect of course so a few bad apples should not be used to characterize any country that has millions and millions of people. (The US population, for example, is over 310 million people!) Otherwise, people can have a field day describing all the problems and fault lines that exist in South Asian countries too!!
I completely agree with your last point about minorities faring and being treated so much better in the West than Asian countries and Persian-Gulf countries. The latter are probably the worst when it comes to that but I was surprised to read some time back that even in Japan, which is a fairly developed country and well-integrated member of the international community, migrants face quite a bit of prejudice, although things are probably getting better there of late I think. ![]()
Ok, back to topic. Nina Davuluri is not only beautiful but incredibly smart too. She apparently majored in Brain Behavior and Cognitive Science in undergrad, won several college and state-level academic distinctions, and is currently applying to medical schools so the $50,000 scholarship she won will definitely come in handy too. All in all, a very positive person. :k:
Thanks for informing me of all that. Had no idea. Personally i like to highlight achievements of all types of asian americans not just my background. out of curiosity are you Indian or Pakistani?
This is what I love about her…yeah she’s pretty but that pales in comparison to what is inside her. She is a good role model and I am glad she won. These competitions may seem like they’re focused on outer beauty…but they’re also now encouraging much more than just that.
i have found proof that Pakistanis have noor. watch at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbTfPNAq4-w
3:30-3:31 even the Indian judges agree with me and say the guy has noor. The evidence is building for my book. hahaha
kyun jee. rang ke waje se to nahi..hmm
hum kale hain to kya hua dil wale..sab ke sab ke chahne wale hain..
Kapil dev thinks you guys have lots of noor at 3:30-3:31https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbTfPNAq4-w umeed hai thoda noor mujhe bhi aayega
there are some goray indians as well
Which ones have you been to and in which order?
special noorani package for Pakistanis (and some khas Indians) to visit all 3 cities in 3 months is being offered.
could that noorani chehra be you?
well those Pakistanis may be correct. You guys do have that noorani chehra..that maybe not all Indians have. Maybe it’s unique. Maybe it’s maybelline.
She does sort of remind me of Vanessa Williams.
I never said anything to black people buddy
Vanessa Williams is quite good looking ![]()
i assumed since you said how could she compared to Arabs. Then what was your reason for saying how she does not look Arab?
SMH ![]()
I felt my IQ drop while reading these tweets