Miss America 2014 crowned and Social media erupts with racism!

Wow!!! So Miss America 2014 is of Indian descent…and this is what some ppl’s thoughts were on Twitter :

**I swear I’m not racist but this is America.

Miss Arab wins Miss America and the score of the Seattle/SanFran game is 5-0 at the half? What is life?

Asian or indian are you kiddin this is america omg

And the Arab wins Miss America. Classic.

Miss New York is an Indian.. With all do respect, this is America

9/11 was 4 days ago and she gets miss America?

Miss America right now or miss Al Qaeda?

A Lot Of People Are Very Upset That An Indian-American Woman Won The Miss America Pageant

Ofcoz there are more comments on the above link…I don’t know why they have to be like this…do they really think a real American has to be WHITE?! Do they think THEY are the real Americans? Are they forgetting that their forefathers too came to America? The real Americans are the aboriginals…

It is quite sad…

Re: Miss America 2014 crowned and Social media erupts with racism!

These Americans can’t even differentiate between Arab and India.

and the native americans are called American Indians. Lol. these people need education. Miss UKs in the past have been from diverse backgrounds. I have a feeling its also because she is darker complexioned rather than fair looking which makes people prejudiced. I am happy that beauty in different colours is being appreciated. i hope people in subcontinent learn something. and i hope she goes on to win Miss Universe.

I mean the Aborigines of the land were brown colour. Did they not read in history class Christopher Colombus was looking for golden bird India and he found America hence the name?

Pochohantus was not a white girl.

I see this racism as a mixture of racism against Indians, Pakistanis, Asians, Arabs plus with a bit of Islamophobia due to the 911 comments. Its a reminder that it wasnt just Muslims, Pakistanis, Bangladeshis, Arabs that were targeted after 911 but also Sikhs, Hindus and Indians as well.

I posted about this as well on FB…I am not sure if I should be offended or not…considering the source

yeh otherwise they’d know how the name Indians came about for their native people. Waise India mein there are very fair people who get confused for Arabs. We also get confused for Italian, Spanish, Chinese, African depending where you are from. All those races have beautiful people too. Colour does not determine beauty.

Is it fox news? lol if it is im not surprised. if it was ny times i’d be perplexed.

Hasn’t there been an Arab Miss America in the past? I thought US was over this stuff.

Im just interested to note the comments on subcontinental sites where they comment on her “dark” complexion. Newsflash: dark skin can be beautiful as well. Although the dark is beautiful campaign should help things.

^ I think we should send you into the depths of social media to spread the message of the brown girl’s noor. Ambassador Delhiji.

this kinda pageants/contests [no matter how well known or prestigious they are] is an insult to ALL the women of the world. these must be STOPPED and stopped NOW!

Those biloody injuns, first they take our jobs and now they take our pagent

hahaha…kiuN goroN ke zaKhm par namak chhiRking? :smiley:

haha thanks for the compliment El topoji. You are too nice. Once our book gets published they will all be informed of Pakistani girls. Then sequel to it will be on Indian girls.

I like to focus on other desi girls..doing my own tareef doesnt sound good. I’m trying to give KKF bhai some ideas so he can write something poetic about desi girl’s noor and find his jeevan saathi on gs.

True humne likha hai desi girls ke baare mein chahein woh ho brown/fair/wheatish/yellow desi girls but doosri types like Pakistani, Bangladeshi aur Sri Lankan.

El topo ne sahi kaha. Its time for you to write some urdu shayari on brown girl’s noor. I’ll give you a start…noor hai itna tez ke chand ki chandni ko peekha kar de. Likhiye na kisi Pakistani pari ke liye so then we can go to your shaadi in Lahore. :slight_smile: I want to visit Lahore..i’ll be part of the barat

Only way we can make that is to let them know how beautiful they are through some poetic shayari on their behalf. I am currently writing a book with my dost El Topo on Pakistani aesthetics. This will have all reasons you can use for convincing. We’ll give you a signed copy discount pe.

How will you feel if an African wins miss Pakistan award?

^ Theys would not be happy. If the African lady was Pakistani but of African descent, I would not care. Okay, I do not care in any case.

Crikey. I seem to have made a new bff. Diwana is no longer my number one. Delhi, have you seen the movie Single White Female? : |

el topo’s noor will blind the judges :-/

We are also now business partners. OUr book will break harry potter and lord of the rings records. Diwanaji and TLK can do a review of it here on gs.

Uff…no i havent yet but i will watch it el topoji recommends.Can you also tell me when is the best time to watch it-morning or afternoon etc? Is there one on single brown desi girl?

slims, uff yeh noor. :confused:

delhiji, i getting the scary now, you to please informing who you really is so i can bowing to comic genius.

D2LK, you are the Glenn Close to topo’s Michael Douglas <3.. please hide the bunny asap tops