Miss America 2014 crowned and Social media erupts with racism!

Re: Miss America 2014 crowned and Social media erupts with racism!

It will indeed shine so bright like a thousand stars in Lahore…or like her noor has stolen all light from lightbulbs..leading to electricity shortage and hence leading to loadshedding across subcontinent. :confused:

That is the solution to loadshedding. El topo aap apna noor thoda kam kijiye.

PS. Can you review our book? Wait, you’re a contributor so it might be conflict of interest.

Aap ka kya hoga janabe ali :confused: Let us not tell the common people you are cause of loadshedding. This power of yours must be hidden from the masses.

i cant find the bunny, slims, i think delhi already has it. :frowning:

bunny biryani :frowning:

am i getting you the scary and the creepy like on my thread :frowning: goes to her room to cry like a little girl haha

hmm..hum to yahan ek hain. :slight_smile: jaise bhi hain unique hain. if you contribute to the book might tell u some raaz ki baats.
your noorani chehra is cause of any comedic genius so you must take a bow.

that arab is kinda dark, must be pakistanian arab hmm..

Why?

Discursive incivility in social media and the Internet is quite common all over the world. But controversy sells. So perhaps some media person spotted a few nasty comments on Twitter and decided to make a juicy story out of it, blowing things out of proportion.

Let’s not get carried away. Those few Twitter comments are hardly representative of people. Communities like Indian Americans, for example, are among the most prosperous in the US, which just goes to show that the US and Americans remain among the most welcoming, tolerant, and embracing people. Go, for example, to Silicon Valley or visit American colleges, including Ivy League universities and you will find lots and lots of Asians and Indians and Indian-Americans. Of course, their work ethics and hard work-- I think Indian American kids, for example, have won something like 12 Spelling Bees in the last 13 years or so-- pays off too but the opportunities a country gives its people to excel and achieve their potential should not be discounted either.

goodname, have you been to delhi, lahore, karachi at all?

dammit its been 2 min 30 seconds. We have to release our book before the next fantasy movie series gets launched (i.e. harry potter).

well he wants to keep all the desi female beauty, intelligence etc hidden for only people within the country

Perhaps he has not heard Lara Dutt’s answer to this famous question.

im sure there is some abuse, it sounds superficial and the clothing etc might not be appropriate but as a concept it can also be used to showcase more than beauty of women around world. How will stopping beauty pageants make guys on the street in the subcontinent more respectful and less likely to stare or eve tease women? Unfortunately even women who are covered in hijabs, burkhas are not spared? 5 yr olds are not spared such malignant intentions? What about mr america/mr universe and body building competitions which showcase men?

How is what Lara Dutta is wearing here worse than what can be found in desi music videos, bollywood/hollywood, tv channels etc which more people watch?

That’s a patriotic american reply which i am sure is true. However, it is still concerning the comments coming out. They may be uneducated and America is the land of opportunity no doubt but it still should be highlighted. There is still some racism in america towards south asians whether they be Indian or Pakistani. Indians may generally be darker than Pakistanis but how many non-South asian americans can pick that out?

No doubt Indian Americans, like other Asian Americans, have made a positive impression. There have been accomplished Pakistani Americans like Nadia Ali (grammy nominated singer), Faran Tahir (actor), Huma Abedin (politics),Saqib Ali (politics), Michael Chowdry (forbes 400 businessman), Asma Gull Hassan (award winning writer) and Dr Ommaya (famous neurosurgeon) so its not something Indians have a monopoly on.

Still Indian Americans, like other Asians, have issues highlighted about them in the media whether that be domestic violence, mistreatment of bride by family and preference for boys etc There are still negative stereotypes around Indians of being call centre workers, running 711s, having certain behaviour towards women no matter how untrue they may be. (didn’t some US politician make a 711 joke). What about that elderly Indian Hindu American guy who got pushed by a hispanic lady onto an incoming train because she wanted to punish “Muslims or Hindus responsible for 911?” Or discrimination against Sikhs. Maybe there aren’t that many examples of discrimination but they do exist and when it does people don’t always remember the shining examples in their community of that background, they remember negative examples.

I agree with you though that the West offers minorities overall better opportunities then middle east and asian countries. Unlike middle eastern countries, an Indian or Pakistani, can be seen as a first class citizen in the US.

KKF bhai before you judge all pageants as only being disrespectful please watch video above and this link. I think it’s nice how she got to talk about her background and culture to a global audience. The national dress showcases the sari well, a dress which looks good on all women not just desis.

Miss India Universe 2000 Lara Dutta top 5 interview - YouTube

How is this clothing any worse than a desi music video, bollywood or channels like MTV? Don’t more people watch those? Also should we ban contests where males show off their body like mr universe or body building competitions?
I agree miss america/miss universe has become more glamourised these days and highlights little more than beauty these days.

I can understand they are getting to be superficial, only focusing on external beauty and this may affect some young girls. But how is that any different from desi magazines having females on front cover?

did you know mrs universe (married women’s miss universe) winner in 2001 was Dr Aditi Gowitrikar who featured in Adnan Sami’s kabhi to nazar milao song. So its not all about beauty..it can be beauty and brains :)This Miss America, of indian background, is also from a family of doctors and aspires to be a doctor for which she will use her $50 000 prize money. She also gave sensible answers to the questions and performed a bollywood/bharatnatyam fusion dance for her talent. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UCQXQInA2E Winning pageants alone isn’t for those who rely on looks- as the docs above show. Lara dutta also has a degree in economics with minor in communication. She speaks 4 languages as well.

lara dutta is so gorgeous and confident!

Meh … Let the bigots simmer in their chosen ignorance and bigotry. If it weren’t for social media you would not have any dealings or interest in interacting with those types anyways. There are enough same people around to keep these idiots what they are, a buncha whiny losers grasping on to some sort of misguided pride in not who they are and what they have accomplished but what they are by a random chance.

na inko yeh pasand aati hy

na yeh wali

Abayy..ye tu .kahen say bhi khobsorat nahi lag rahee.

Lol, the funniest part of this is that Arabs are being mistaken for Indians.

And here were Arabs always telling everyone at on the US Census they are considered white but yet they are still mistaken for Brown Skinned Indians.

Too Funny.

If Pakistanis are mistaken for Arabs in the US it’s not surprising that Indians are as too (well apart for those Pakistanis who think they look sooo different to them lol).. Arabs can sometimes be be quite brown anyway.. Miss USA Rima Fakih was, wasn’t she..

There have been quite a few other non-white winners (and finalists) in the past as well.. Vanessa Williams being the most obvious one (howgorgeous was she:wub:)..