Mismatched Undergarments

Last time I visited Pakistan 3 years ago, I was going somewhere when I saw this motorcycle on the road ahead of our car waiting at the red light. There was a couple sitting on it, the wife/gs/sister had one of those thin THIN lawn suits on in a light pink color and the shalwar was white. She had no shameez on under and you could see the black bra that she was wearing. Moreover, her shirt was those short ones and with the bottom/daaman of it flying around, you could even see her bright red underwear through the shalwar. I understand people feel the need to wear the thinnest lawns in the heat of karachi but such sights are so hugely embarassing!!! With all the men waiting at the red light in their cars, I am sure alot of them were very much enjoying the sight. If you don’t want to wear a shameez under your light colored outfits, atleast wear a matching bra and underwear! I saw sooo many women wearing all these light colored, tight lawn clothes around shopping areas in karachi with different colored/mismatched bras where you could even see what color their skintone is. Obviously, if you’re walking around dressed like that, you will most definitely draw attention from all sides. If not purely out of lust then definitely out of surprise and amazement at your color choices i.e, ^bright red stuff under white shalwar.

Re: Mismatched Undergarments

Haha, well i think its because as we talked about it in the other thread that so many girls buy from theyla walas where they have bras and no panties and if they do they aren't kept together so they just buy whatever they get and even at triumphs shop there are only limited panties so girls just get it for the sake of it and don't think its necessary to match them...many also probably think that who do we have to show so why bother. To few underwear is just a necessity so that if the cloth is a bit see through the underwear would do the job its not counted as fashion or anything for which they think about the colors and match them up, so they just take stuff thats their size.

nude coloured stuff is the best deal under sheer clothing. undergarments matching with ur outfit don;t work either cos they still stand out against your skin. Wearing skin-toned stuff is the least conspicuous. There was actually once a vaahiyaat trend in Pakistan of wearing bright coloured stuff under white outfits, intihai behooda , fortunately it didn't get too popular. I think people outside of Pakistan are generally more conscious about wearing slips and chemises under shirts etc. esp cos we have centrally air-cniditioned homes and offices so we can tolerate the extra layer of clothing and as a result get used to it. In pakistan when I got matching slips made with the very few lawn bareeze suits that I got stitched my cousins thought I had lost it, who wears slips underneath bareeze! I was like u guys enjoy it, there is no way I am wearing see-through clothes without slips/lining. I also absolutely hate it when you can see the belt of ur shalwar ending and the skin beginning.

I know most girls do it consciously in Pakistan, wearing black or dark coloured undergarments under light coloured clothes.

I don't agree with the part i underlined...It sounds so much more like this "gori" who asked my mumani, who wears abaaya, if she doesn't get too warm under all the clothing...Though i agree that karachi can get very, very hot but one cannot use this as a justification if women start going topless tomorrow... You gotta do what you gotta do regardless of the temperature...Plus, shameez's fabric is ,most of the time if not all, cotton or muslin which is light and breathable and thus perfect for wearing during very warm temperature... It's not that big of a hassle if you really WANT to not show-off your under garments to the whole wide world...

I swear, how much does it bother me...I have seen fat and stout women with huge bulky hips wearing those short lawn shirts and boy, does it look disgusting and behooda...and people in pakistan pick on Desi girls who are abroad for wearing "PANT SHIRT" and say Islam doesn't allow you to wear such clothing...You know what i think is if you are in pakistan, you can do absolutely anything and can get away with it because it's an "ISLAMIC" state and God forbid, if people back home hear something about us, without giving it a second thought, they would say YEHI SAB KERNE KE LIYE BAAHAR GAYE THE...bloody hypocrites, they are!

^lol.. i soooo agree! just because you live abroad, all the blame goes directly for living in an unislamic country. for example, my khalas blamed everything i did on me being american desi. if i spoke english with my cousins, they would say things like, ziada english bolnay ki zaroorat nahi hai, we know you're from usa. then one time i was trying to tell my khala how important going to a dentist is and said, apne aap ko ziada nahi samjho just because you live in usa. and i am like ???!!! how does that even make sense? we abroad don't think we are superior than anyone, i don't know why people just don't get it.

i think people's mentality is such that as long as you have shalwar kameez on, nevermind how besharam and wahiyat it is, it's completely okay because it's SHALWAR KAMIZ! except that people tend to make a big deal if it's sleeveless but what's surprising is that some sleeves are barely 2 inches long but they are STILL considered more acceptable than no sleeves whatsoever. if you're wearing a long sleeved top with pants, some people there will still taunt you about wearing the 'western pant shirt' compared to wearing a tight kamiz with short sleeves and a shalwar which would be okay with them.

i read one of teelo's threads where these aunties made a huge deal about sleeveless shirts. it's funny that the same aunties roam around in big galas, their back deep necklines hugely inspired by the bollywood and short, short sleeves. yet, they cannot digest a young girl wearing similar clothes. this one aunty i know lives on gossiping about young girls. 'aray us ne yeh pehna, us ne woh pehna' and then she blames it all for us being here in the states that oh woh sab kitni bigarh gayee hain. at a wedding recently, her hair updo revealed her almost backless blouse with the saree she was wearing. such hypocrite!

Yeah, unfortunately such is the case…and this is what makes my blood boil..and if this isn’t enough, my mom asks me to shut up and just sit there and keep getting all kinds of stupid and idiotic comments because God forbid if you try to reason something out or try to explain them what you actually meant, it would just make the matter worse because then they would think you are disrespecting them :smack:

It's still there during Summer seaons... not to mention with chicken ke suits.. we wear slips with such suits but it's considered "paindu" to wear a slip under that!! I like that fabric but I am not a big fan of it anymore. :-(

I also absolutely hate it when you can see the belt of ur shalwar ending and the skin beginning.

I have seen girls with pretty sparkling laces on the belt and then short qameez with long slits so you could see it all!! I wonder if their mothers look at them just ONCE before they leave the house!!

Yup! I dont see how any one can think.. they can wear a BLACK BRA UNDER WHITE CLOTHES! :smack: how freakin stupid can someone be? Looks like pakistani girls aren’t THAT innocent and naive as ppl here like to believe.

PS: nobody in my family dresses this way. Actually one fo my cousins was gonna wear a capri outfit but then my mom butt in and said “meri beti aisay kapray kabhi bhi nahi pehni amreeka mein reh kay aur tum laug yahan” wahtever watever… u get wat im saying..lol if any one else wud do that i’d be soooooooo mad lol.

Oh and I think the title of thsi thread is knida misleading... bigger problem should be WHY their underwear is showing. Not that its mismatched...lol.

once a few yrs ago, i was in the gym (in pak) and a girl walked in wearing a white shalwar kameez...with hot pink underneath. I was like... "ew" but it was an all girls gym, and she did have a huge duputta that she took off (lots of women dressed in abayas/niqabs took em off there obviously) so i wudnt say it was really wrong or behooda....

hahaa...the thing is the black bra under a white shirt is considered fashion..I think:D

And the red panties...well I would say that the logic would be the stains wont show:D

ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!

^Remember once I pointed out some thing similar, and so many ppl start arguing with me?
One guy told me I was being disrespectful. I mean its girls who do it in lahore, nothing to do with me.

I am just very observant.

^what did you say KA?

Back than I said, "its a known fact in pakistan that girls in lahore , wear very thin and very light color cloths and then they also wear dark color under garments. " And few ppl didn't like it.

I think that how exposing is done in pakistan. We use to call it deadly combination or some thing.

^:hehe:

i think it’s not just limited to lahore.. it has spread to other areas as well :stuck_out_tongue:

I agree with u...having matching undergarments perhaps should matter only to those who have plans to show them off 2 somebody...so i think thats that...but ya havin the undergarments shown is not a pleasant site and i hope most of those who have their showing are just ignorant of it and not doing it on purpose cuz its such a pity. I also dislike how the shirts r goin really short and the whole hips get so prominent...

I also agree that at times pant/shirt can be much more sophisticated than shalwar kameez which is made with 25 inches kameez n shalwar with cuts n all those stupid fashions. However lets not make this pakistani girls vs abroad desi girls cuz on average i think the girls here are still better whether it be cuz of society pressure or whatever. And before you jump at me... i have lived in canada for a part of my life and now in pakistan...so i am not being biased here:)

ok topless is not even a comparison yaar so lets not stretch it too much. but other than that I have no way of justifying the absent slips in Pakistan. I don;t know of any one who wears slips under cotton/lawn, and I doubt its cos they all have a desire to show off what they r wearing underneath, it probably doesn;t even occur to them maybe? :confused: or maybe they think that they are doing a good job of hiding it with their lawn dupattas? maybe they think only covering the front is ok so the dupatta is phailofied, peechay ki khair hei :smiley: was just giving beneift of the doubt.