Misbah to remain as captain for Asia Cup

Sanity prevails at last

**‘Misbah to remain as captain for Asia Cup’

**LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has no plans to strip Misbahul-Haq of the captaincy in any format of the sport in the near future, in the wake of the ODI series whitewash against England. “Misbah is going to be retained as captain for the Asia Cup and there are no immediate plans to sack him as captain of the one-day or T20 squads,” a senior PCB official was quoted as saying. He also ruled out any major overhaul in the national selection committee before the Asia Cup.
“All this talk about Misbah being replaced as captain for limited overs cricket is not correct. So far he is captain for all three formats and this issue is not even on the agenda of the governing board meeting that is due to be held on March 1,” the official added. He said the governing board meeting would mostly deal with passing the audited budget report of last fiscal year, release of funds for under construction projects and the Woolfe report on the governance of the ICC. “If any member wants to discuss the team performance or related issue that can be done but it is not on the agenda,” the official said. The PCB official also confirmed that the national selection committee would not be changed after the England series.
“Only the coaching staff will be changed before the Asia Cup, that is decided. The rest will remain the same. Then it is up to the chairman to decide what he wants to do after the Asia Cup,” the official said. Misbah lashed out at some sections of the Pakistani media in Dubai on Friday at a press conference and blamed them for creating conspiracy theories about him being changed as captain for the Asia Cup. The official said that Australian Dav Whatmore would reach Lahore in the beginning of March to take charge of the team, which will leave for Bangladesh on March 7 for the Asia Cup tournament.

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

Re: Misbah to remain as captain for Asia Cup

Good, sensible decision. :k:

Nice move :jhanda: as we don’t ve any other choice :cobra:

Good decision.

Now can we also drop Younus from limited over format. Please?

Ittni sarri khushiyaan aik sath :cobra:

Wah Wah

Jo Kaptaan hai uski jagah khud nahi banti ODI mein aur Younis ko drop kr do

Lets see how many of you agree after today.

I still agree.

Yani u want another loss against India :(

When you can see beyond Afridi we can disucss

Misbah should still lead but batting order is not right IMO. Umar Akmal and Hammad should bat up the order before him

My top 6 in ODI

Hafeez (atleast for now)
Ahmed Shehzad (better than Awais and Shahzaib IMO) Time to give him another chance
Asad
Umar Akmal
Hammad Azam
Misbah

Afridi

When did i say make Afridi captain

Mein to bus yeh keh rha hon atleat Misbah should not be captain kisi aur ko bana do not even Afridi

Oh boy :bummer:

I still agree. In ODI you STILL need to bat out 50 overs and with fragile batting lineup, we need some stability in the middle but in T20, all you need is 2-3 overs and a batsman like KP, Afridi, Hammad, Razzaq, etc

Bhai Stability ke naam pe dekh liya kiya hua aj

We'll most definitely lose the Asia cup if he remains captain. For a guy who loses a match where there's 35 runs required off 30 balls with 6 wickets in had, definitely doesn't deserve to play let alone be the captain in the limited overs game.

Fine for ODI but perhaps for T20, there shud be another captain.

Really annoying.

even australia has a unique team for limited overs, thye learned this lesson after the era of their greats was over...pakistani legends are gone and no more soon to be seen, so why can't pakistan also have a unique limkted overs team. Even razzaq would make a good t20 captain, he is a limited overs player for sure with experience and better all rounder than malik.

no misbah in one day he just add pressure n run rate n he dont know anything about captancy i vote afridi he is much much better than misbah n if today afridi was captain i bet v have won the match