Mira - A Rebellious Rajput

Mirabai, or Mira Bai or Meerabai, was a 16th century princess whose life is known more through legend than verifiable historic fact. The following biography is an attempt to report those facts of Mirabai’s life which are commonly accepted.

Mirabai’s Rajputi grandfather, Rao Dudaj, created the fortress city of Merta, where Mirabai’s father, Ratan Singh, ruled. Mirabai was born in Merta about 1498. **The family worshipped Vishnu as their primary deity.**Her mother died when Mirabai was about four, and Mirabai was raised and educated by her grandparents. **Music was stressed in her education. **

**At an early age, Mirabai became attached to an idol of Krishna, given to her (legend says) by a traveling beggar.

**At age 13 or 18 (sources vary), Mirabai was married to a Ranjputi prince of Mewar. Her husband died only a few years later.

Rebel**

His family was shocked that, first, she did not commit sati, burning herself alive on her husband’s funeral pyre, as was considered proper for a Rajputi princess (rani). Then they expected her to remain secluded as a widow, and to worship his family’s deity, the goddess Durga or Kali.

Instead of following these traditional norms for a widowed Rajputi princess, Mirabai took up enthusiastic worship of Krishna as part of the Bhakti movement. She identified herself as the spouse of Krishna. Like many in the Bhakti movement, she ignored gender, class, caste, and religious boundaries, and spent time caring for the poor.

Mirabai’s father and father-in-law were both killed as a result of a battle to turn away invading Muslims. Her practice of Bhakti worship horrified her in-laws and the new ruler of Mewar. The legends tell of multiple attempts on her life by Mirabai’s late husband’s family. In all of these attempts, she miraculously survived: a poisonous snake, a poisoned drink, and drowning.

Mirabai returned to her home city of Merta, but her family also opposed her turning from traditional religious practices to the new Bhaki worship of Krishnu. She later joined a religious community in Vrindaban, a place holy to Krishnu.

Bhakti Movement**

Mirabai’s contribution to the Bhakti movement was primarily in her music: she wrote hundreds of songs and initiated a mode of singing the songs, a raga. About 200-400 songs are accepted by scholars as being written by Mirabai; another 800-1000 have been attributed to her. Mirabai did not credit herself as the author of the songs – as an expression of selflessness – so her authorship is uncertain. The songs were preserve orally, and were not written down for a long time, which complicates the task of assigning authorship.

Mirabai’s songs express her love and devotion to Krishna, almost always as Krishna’s wife. The songs speak of both the joy and the pain of love. Metaphorically, Mirabai points to the longing of the personal self, atman, to be one with the universal self, or paramatma, which is a poet’s representation of Krishna.

**Mirabai was a “loyal wife” according to her people’s tradition only in the sense that she devoted herself to her chosen spouse, Krishna, giving to him the loyalty she would not give to her earthly spouse, the Rajput prince. **

Mirabai wrote her songs in Rajasthani and Braj Bhasa languages, and they were translated into Hindi and Gujarati.

After some years of wandering, Mirabai died at Dwarka, another place sacred to Krishna.

Mirabai’s willingness to sacrifice family respect and traditional gender, family, and caste restrictions, and to devote herself completely and enthusiastically to Krishna, made her an important role model in a religious movement that stressed ecstatic devotion and that rejected traditional divisions based on sex, class, caste, and creed.

http://womenshistory.about.com/od/hinduismandwomen/p/mirabai.htm

Re: Mira - A Rebellious Rajput

Nice read :k:

na main dharmi nahi adharmi na main jati na kami ho
na main kehta na main suntan na main sevak swami ho

na main bandha na main mukta na nirbandh sarvangi ho
na kahu se nyara hua na kahu ka sangi ho

na hum narak lok ko jate na hum sarag sidhare ho
sab hi karam hamara keeya hum karman ten yare ho

**ya mat ko ki birla bujhe so satguru ho baithe ho
mat kabir kahu ko thape mat kahu ko mete ho
Can anyone translate this beautiful poetry sung by Lati Ji. I’m loving it so much. Apparently its the poetry of Kabir Daas, but why they titled it ‘Meera Kabir Soordas’ :konfused:

I am not righteous and I am not unrighteous.
I am not an ascetic and I am not full of desires.

I do not speak and I do not hear.
I am not a servant and I am not a master.

I am not in bondage and I am not free.
I am not free from worldly attachments and

I am not indulgent in them.
I have not been separated from anyone,

and I am not a companion to anyone.
I do not go to hell, and I do not go to heaven.

I perform all works, but I am free of all karmas.
Hardly does anyone contemplate on this philosophy,

in which I remain steadfast. Kabir says, "I do not
install any deities for worship, and I do not remove any".

**na main dharmi nahin adharmi
na main jati kami ho,

na main kahata na main sunta,
na main sewak swami ho;

na main bandha na main mukta,
na main virat na rangi ho,

na main kahu se nyara huwa,
na kahu ke sangi ho;

na ham narak lok ko jate,
na ham swarg sidhare ho,

sabahin karm hamaro kiya,
ham karman ke nyare ho;

ya mat ko koi birla bujhai,
so atal ho baitha ho,

mat kbir kahu ko thapai,
mat kahu ko mete ho. **

Thanks BM :hug:

But why they call it ‘Meera Kabir Soordaad Lata’. Is it they comparing ‘Meera with Lata’ & "Kabir with Soordas’?

Its Just An Title Man Nothing Else !! She Sang With Bhimsen Joshi Some Of The Bhaijans !!

Means there is no connection between Meera and Kabir Daas. :hmmm:

Very interesting - I did not know her Rajput connection and rebel nature. Vey nice. Good translation by the honorable Boredman.

On a side note, decades ago, my cousin who was abt 8 at the time, had a Hindi lesson Meera Bai. His father would keep asking him - are you reading Mera Bhai (my brother). And the boy would respond:No, not Mera Bhai, Meera Bai". Always worked.

MeeraBai was daughter in law of Rana Sanga, who succumbed to injuries in the battle of Khanva. She was a prominent Bhakti Saint, Mewar is Sisodiya Suryavanshi Rajpoot House generally they worshiped Maa Durga, but meera always identified herself as Wife of Bhagwan Shri krishn

Mero to giridhar gopal dusro naa koi, Jaake sir mor mukut mero pati sohi.

She was contemporary of Guru Nanak. Entire Bhakti movement was counter to Sufi movement.

^ Rana Sanga fought against Babar?

Yes in battle of Khanva, it was Rana Sanga who intially invited Babar to invade delhi, Babar's use of artillery decimated entire army of Ibrahim Lodhi, Ibrahim Lodhi is the only king that died on the battlefield, Rana thought babar will simply loot and go back, Babar established himself in Delhi and Agra. Rana Sanga was known for winning 80 battles in his life never loosing one. Babar and Rana's army met in Khanva where with the better use of artillery Babar won and Rana got mortally injured, Babar, out of respect of Rana did not allow Humayun and his army to raid the mewar city, later Rana's wife Karmawati sent Raakhi to Humayun to save against king of Gujarat, His son and Karmawati moved to Udaypur name after his son Udai Singh whose son was Great Rana Pratap

I kinda remember this lady also helped Humayon afterwards probably when he was in trouble due to Sher Shah.

While Humayun moved to save her sister, SherShah moved towards Delhi. humayun defeated king of Gujarat but he lost to Shershah in battle of Chausa. even Rana sangha sided babar in battle of panipat and babar was very impressed by his bravery. Rana was one eyed person like Maharaja Ranjeet Singh. She has sent her army with humayun in both expedition. it was her grandson Rana Pratap who never accepted Akbar suzerainty but his son Rana Amar Singh accepted supremacy of Akbar, Infact entire mughal rule was due to Rajput relatives of theirs, Rajput kings of aamer were always commander of Mughal Army, and brahmins like Todar mal designed tax and revenue collection system. Rana Sangha's army had muslim rajput king of mewat and defeated Lodhis against Babar's army. It was never Hindu-muslim war like right wingers in our respective countries try to make it.

This shows that Mira Bai live in an era which was very happening as to military expeditions and political turmoil and the movement of Mira Bhai from one place to another must be difficult for her. I think there is a Indian movie where Hema Malini played the role of Mira and it depicts some scenes related to Mughal Darbar.

I don't think that there might have been much trouble, both Hindu and Muslim kings were very tolerant of each other. though only Guru nanak had tough time with Babar, but later babar's was impressed by his mystic capabilities and Nanak blessed that his seven generation will remain king of hindustan. Now this exemplify that the kings were tolerant to each other's religion.

Lovely poetry with many Gujrati words embedded.

When you say Bhakti movement was counter to Sufi movement. Does that mean these were parallel movements or conflicting movements?

Movie directed by Gulzar on Meera. The movie gives a totally different poetic and mystic touch of Mira’s life. I’ve to watch it completely, but it had been shown at the end that she was sentenced to death for not obeying her husband and not clarifying her position as to having two husbands (his real husband and Krishna).

Excellent read guys

Looks interesting I will read it soon.:)

Yes please. aap ke paas boht backlog jama hogaya hai.. If you can't get time, do watch the movie on Mira. Its amazing.