Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home 'Pakistan' to get married)

Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home 'Pakistan' to get marr

raheela beauty parlor in brooklyn! haha theyre not all that professional. my cousin went there for a facial and i swear to you..they touched her face with biryani smelling fingers and theyre so stinky. yuuk

Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home 'Pakistan' to get marr

i don't get it... can you rephrase that please? :)
and what does "dayinay" mean?

i understand that liberal attitudes are an internal thing and one way of expressing that attitude is through your clothing, but thats neither here nor there- what does this have to do with the discussion at hand?

as for my comment about my mom, yeah, she's more conservative than i am, so when i'm around her and my dad and other elders in the family, i dress accordingly. otherwise when i'm with my fiancé and my friends, i dress however i want. but just cos im wearing a shalwar kameez when i'm at my parents house doesn't mean i think any differently than when i'm in a dress at a restaurant or at work.

sorry if i'm rambling but i'm still confused about what point you're trying to make.

It is ture anyone who settle abroad have their value/culture as the parents tries so hard to maintined them thinking that as out here kids tends to forget their culture but they do not realise that in Pakistan people are more advanced than those who have moved away from there.
Especially these day with internet and computer they see the outside world and copy them so they think they can be COOOOOOOOOL too.

im also shocked that they have a male makeup artist at depilex, i could expect it from other salons but depilex had a really wholesome, family salon type of atmosphere.
i also totally agree with your friends reaction, i would have FREAKED if i had to deal with that on my wedding day
also someone mentioned something about why wear a short, deep necked kurti in the first place if you dont want a man to see you in it---- well the kurti looks very different when you are getting your makeup done than when you are finished and in front of your guests: you are totally exposed, whereas when you are done you have you lengha, dupatta, and jewelry covering you

Pakistanis think American Pakis are liberal and don't mind that kinda stuff. When I went to Pakland once, a cousins guy friend sat next to me while wacthing a movie and I felt uncomfortable and sat on the floor! He didn't get the hint and did it the next day talking so close to me he breathed on me. He thought it was okay b/c I am from America! Idiot!!!!

Pakistanis think American Pakis are liberal and don't mind that kinda stuff. When I went to Pakland once, a cousins guy friend sat next to me while watching a movie and I felt uncomfortable and sat on the floor! He didn't get the hint and did it the next day talking so close to me he breathed on me. He thought it was okay b/c I am from America! Idiot!!!! Also, at a clothing shop, they found out we were from America somehow and showed us a few "liberal" outfits like very low neck and sleeve less.. and then the darzi sat next to my Mom up in her face and she was so uncomfortable she moved but hence again like other Pakis he did not take the hint and thought she wanted to go to other side of store to see other clothes and sat again next to her...!

Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home ‘Pakistan’ to get marr

^:rotfl:

Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home ‘Pakistan’ to get marr

wooohoooo my post deleted by mod :stuck_out_tongue: :confused: but kyunnnnnnnn

At times, even if its for few secs; it does feel like that. i think its cuz our parents have this ‘image’ of the pakistani society which is also called ‘purana zamana’ (even if it was early 90’s) and so they have brought us up or at least have tried to, in a certain way; whereas ppl back home now think its required of them (and is very important) to adapt ‘western harkataain’ =( which is kindda sad…

aksar log kahtay hain chalo yeh to gay hai magar hai to mard na,yeh nahi sochtay.

there is way too much extremism in Pak...either one is total out of control being modern or a conservative fanatic. On the other hand most american and canadian families try to keep a balance in life here, which is most difficult thing to do.