Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home 'Pakistan' to get married)

So my dear friend Alia goes home ( Islamabad) to get married, this past month. Both Alia and I grew up in Peshawar and were in the early-20’s when we immigrated to US about ten years ago. We knew by watching Pakistani TV and Magazines that things have become quite liberal but having said that, poor Alia wasn’t prepared for what greeted her at Dupilex (sp?) beauty saloon when she went there for her bridal makeup.
Alia’s folks have already paid Rs.8,000 in advance and on her wedding day Alia arrives at the saloon in her Kurthi. Now we know that bridal dress Kurtis have kind of deep necks ( to show the jewelry) and are generally stitched in a figure hugging manner.
When Alia arrives at Dupilex she is escorted to a young Male dude and told that he will be performing her bridal make up. Poor Alia freaks out and declares there is no way in hell she is sitting in front of a male in her short kurthi having him touch her face, neck and having him breath on her face.
Everybody is gap mouthed at her reaction, the booking girl doubles check “You are Dr. Alia from U.S ,Right visiting Pakistan for your wedding?”
“Of course, I am but it doesn’t mean I am OK with a man doing my makeup”
Alia was then informed that the only female available to do her make up is the owner of the salon and there would be an extra Rs5,000 charge.
So Alia had to call her father and tell him to make sure to bring the additional cash when he comes to pick up the bride.

Alia tell me she felt like she was some kind of ‘Paindo’ who comes to visit the big city for the first time in her life. :rotato:

Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home 'Pakistan' to get marr

hmm i think it very unlikely that they had only 1 female available, me thinks your friend got conned.

Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home 'Pakistan' to get marr

and usually thoses dudes r u know wat:D..Hai Allah ji's:D:D

what? gays?

^^ yea..ofcourse...

Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home ‘Pakistan’ to get marr

Arent they the best designers, makeup artists…etc etc and might I add a girl’s best friend:cb:

Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home ‘Pakistan’ to get marr

But Yaar, even if he was gay, still a Na-Mahram, right? Oh wait, he could have been a bi :rotato:

yup yup when we go back from here we are the paindu there…:cb:

:rotfl:…and huffing and puffing stinky breath on the bride-to be:D…gross!!:D…

Now this was the depilex in Peshawar or another city?

^^ there is a depilex in Peshawar di city????

^^ Islamabad...

I can understand why she freaked out, I myself am not comfortable with a male beautician. Though I am not a hijabi but it not something I am comfortable with. I recently had to change my hair dresser, the one who used to do my hair moved to another city and the desi saloon aunty hired a guy in her place.

Croquet is right, they surely had people at hand, they just wanted to get more money from your friend...ya it is shame....

you know what I find most hystarical in the entire story:

So Alia had to call her father and tell him to make sure to bring the additional cash when he comes to pick up the bride.

You can’t make up crap like that..:hoonh:

aww that sucks for your friend, i wouldn't the extra 5000

so what about tariq ameen? i doubt he is gay.

actually owners mostly charge more...

Hahaha that’s funny. I have a totally opposite beauty salon story.
When I was last in Lahore I went to New Look parlour to accompany my cousin who was getting her bridal make-up done. All the customers there have to wear a sort of a tube, halter top thingy when they come in, so all the girls were walking around like that. Then all of a sudden a male came in and oh my god you should’ve seen the drama! :smiley: Everybody panicked and ran away the guy was almost kicked out by the receptionist. Later on we heard he was a male model and didn’t know he wasn’t supoosed to come in! :cb:

Cool! good to know there is still some ‘Sharam n Hiya’ left in the old country
:biggthumb

yea when i went 5 yrs ago.. i felt completely paindoo too ..

Exactly hum paindo lagtay hain ,,,my tailor always say kai je app apna naam dayain, if u remember hina there is a tailor in sadar name NAEEM tailor,,his father was my eldest sis 's tailor..per mai bhee dheet naap diya he nahee us ko,my sis took my naap,,he said kai kamal hai app amrika say ayee hain lagta he nahee,yahan tou suub naap daytee hain,,aur aik woh premier hair dresser..kabhee us say eyebrows nahee banwaye hameisha woh aik larki thee dubli patli see us say kaam kerwaya,,abb yeh tou nahee na kai male say ker waliya tou modern hogaee naaaa.