Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home ‘Pakistan’ to get marr
Whoopi!!! finally found someone from Peshawar. Yes! I know Naeem tailor, had to climb a bunch of stairs to get to his shop in Ghora Bazar. He was my best freinds’ Ayesha’s tailor. And yes I do know Premier hair saloon close to Grindleys bank in Cantt area, my mother used to take us sisters there for our
‘boy cuts’ when we were little girls ( to this day I refuse to have my 4 and 6 year old daughters to have a boy cut). Last time I set foot in that place was 1993. my sister Huma was getting engaged and I went there for a hair do. No, please don’t ask how it turned up
Anyways my last trip to Pakistan was in 2003 and I went to Sanooba parlor by the company bagh for facil. Man thaey weren’t cheap cost me close to $100 bucks to get a fraeking facial.
Ahhh Good ol Peshawar!!! You can take a girl out of Peshawar but you can’t take Peshawar out of the girl
Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home 'Pakistan' to get marr
i honestly don't see the fuss... i do understand that your friend should have been informed before arriving at the salon since it is pakistan and maybe they should be more sensitive to women being in a conservative country - that was unprofessional of them. but at the same time, did they promise her a lady for her makeup? did she make her preference known and request one specifically?
and if her shirt is so deep-necked and fitted, then isn't it a little bit over the top to freak out cos a man's doing your makeup but be ok with having a shirt like that? unless she was having a segregated reception or something and its ok to wear that cos there are no men there?
i'm assuming they saw she was from the US and figured she'd be ok with having a male make-up artist. stereotypical on their part, but also a little bit of it is her responsibility too, especially since she feels so strongly about it, and she should have specified what she wanted. even in toronto, a lot of the spas and salons i've been to ask whether i prefer a male or female, or if i'm really bothered, i request one and they're very accommodating.
as for breath on her face, the guy has to breathe, doesn't he?? women breathe too! :p if he was good enough to be there to do your makeup, then isn't it safe to say he's a pro at it and therefore wouldn't really have bad breath or rude manners or be all over you. its a makeup session not a feel-up one!
Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home 'Pakistan' to get marr
I can understand why she got freaked out..personally i hate when there are men in a desi salon...like err hello the only reason I go to a desi salon is so that there'd be no men there..if I wanted a dude to be doing my facials or waxing me i'd go to a gora parlor!
Re: Mini shock at beauty salon ( as told by Alia who went home ‘Pakistan’ to get marr
I went to a salon in Lahore, I forget what it was called , I know it was located on Cavalry ground…I was getting a facial, so i had to take off my top and they wrapped a towel around me, also, everything was secluded..they were pretty professional, i dont believe i saw any guys there at all…
NOw compare to Raheela’s (in Brooklyn), all the waxing and faicals stuff is done downstairs, but there’s barely any partition…so if ur getting ur legs waxed u gotta pretty much spread em in front of everybody But thankfully no men ever go down there (to the basement I mean)..
i honestly don't see the fuss... i do understand that your friend should have been informed before arriving at the salon since it is pakistan and maybe they should be more sensitive to women being in a conservative country - that was unprofessional of them. but at the same time, did they promise her a lady for her makeup? did she make her preference known and request one specifically?
and if her shirt is so deep-necked and fitted, then isn't it a little bit over the top to freak out cos a man's doing your makeup but be ok with having a shirt like that? unless she was having a segregated reception or something and its ok to wear that cos there are no men there?
i'm assuming they saw she was from the US and figured she'd be ok with having a male make-up artist. stereotypical on their part, but also a little bit of it is her responsibility too, especially since she feels so strongly about it, and she should have specified what she wanted. even in toronto, a lot of the spas and salons i've been to ask whether i prefer a male or female, or if i'm really bothered, i request one and they're very accommodating.
as for breath on her face, the guy has to breathe, doesn't he?? women breathe too! :p if he was good enough to be there to do your makeup, then isn't it safe to say he's a pro at it and therefore wouldn't really have bad breath or rude manners or be all over you. its a makeup session not a feel-up one!
i agree with this. i think its pretty common for guys to be part of major salons these days and your friend should have informed them in advance if she preferred a woman to do her makeup. it is true for all good salons that the head makeup artist charges more than the junior makeup artists so i dont think the extra money was a ripoff. i bet she looked hot on her wedding!
once i was in karachi and that leslie hair dresser cut my hair(on tariq road) he was girly but very very good hair dresser,,but stil i dont like guy (gay) hair dressers..yesssssssssssssss hina actually iam from nowshera..i miss my UNI(peshawer) ,,ahhh my fine arts dept..saree dept ki larkian jaltee theen .hahaha..kai daiko zara perhna warhna kuch nahee bus painting kerteen hain ,,in ko kia pata kaikitnee mehnat kertay thay humm,,i miss dahi bray of arbab road,,,next to london book stall..haiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
One should always find out who will be doing the bride in the first place (owner or woker) male/female is a preferance as these days the owner does not even do the job they charge the client, alway better to finilized everything before the big days arrives.
Imagine on your wedding day things goes wrong then you are all tensed, and somtimes things can go wrong.
In Pakistan they keep too many worker to do the job, they can infact do the other work rather than the main work. unless the person is very experienced for the job.
once i was in karachi and that leslie hair dresser cut my hair(on tariq road) he was girly but very very good hair dresser,,but stil i dont like guy (gay) hair dressers..yesssssssssssssss hina actually iam from nowshera..i miss my UNI(peshawer) ,,ahhh my fine arts dept..saree dept ki larkian jaltee theen .hahaha..kai daiko zara perhna warhna kuch nahee bus painting kerteen hain ,,in ko kia pata kaikitnee mehnat kertay thay humm,,i miss dahi bray of arbab road,,,next to london book stall..haiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
Leslie is very famous in Karachi, he a gay but very feminnen does most of girly things.
I can understand why she got freaked out..personally i hate when there are men in a desi salon...like err hello the only reason I go to a desi salon is so that there'd be no men there..if I wanted a dude to be doing my facials or waxing me i'd go to a gora parlor!
Very true desi salon (especially in Pakistan) lady salon and men salon are seperate.
I guess these day with life so advanced they want to be like western people and make the salon as uni-sex salon.
As the culture in Pakistan is no more compare to people who live abroad they've more culture than those desi living in pak.
I remember my friend who was born in Canada went to do shopping for her wedding and thinking that she can find her culture there, but was shoked to see that everyone is so modern and they even wear halter top rather than shalwar kameez., so who is to blamed? to have a guy in a desi salon.
ufff pakistan ki loogon ka kiya banai gah…i heard ather shehzad charge 50,000 rs for the makeup and photo shoot:eek: and galz are crazy kai makeup WOH karai:smack:
Exactly that’s what they (people in Pakistan) think, as they are so modern then people living abroad and think that they are very backward.
Some say that thinking whoever lives away from pakistan must be funky with styles and modern look.
Infact whoever lives away from Pakistan, they’re taught and kept with their culture rather than forget about them.
Exactly that's what they (people in Pakistan) think, as they are so modern then people living abroad and think that they are very backward.
Some say that thinking whoever lives away from pakistan must be funky with styles and modern look.
Infact whoever lives away from Pakistan, they're taught and kept with their culture rather than forget about them.
i went back to my mom's village one summer, and i was growing my hair at that time, and didn't want to wear my contacts, and so i was up at the rooftop, and my mom's cousin-bhabi came over to visit us, and ammi called me downstairs, and i come in my chappal and dupatta and my braid, and the aunty just looks at me, i dunno what she expected from a girl from canayda...she said something to my mom i don't remember anymore, but my mom just laughed and she said something like she's a girl who knows her roots and isn't going to walk around all weird and stuff. khair, other members of my family back home think that too...just not to that extreme :p
So you aunty thought you were a girl? no wonder you mom had to laugh.