MILs come for an extended holiday to UK and is staying with us. i don’t want her here and she knows it but that’s another issue. The point of this thread is that she doesn’t wash often enough and she smells also, the worse thing is the state that she leaves the toilet in! why should i clean her [EMAIL=“sh@t”]sh@t!!! Now, my question is how do I introduce her to the toilet brush!!
Re: MILs got personal hygiene issues
Gift her some perfume. When she screams in delight…that’s when you also gift her the toothpaste, breath mints, and toilet brush.
More seriously…you can’t change her. If the visit is temporary…then be patient. Your children use the toilet…your husband uses it…guests that visit might also use it. You’ve cleaned the toilet bowl before when it has been used by several people…it’s no biggie. Other options include…cleaning her toilet bowl when you know that she’ll see you. The sight of you might make her feel self-conscious enough to take care of the bathroom a bit better…and that way you won’t have to be mean about it. OR…you can casually ask MIL if she’s finding everything okay in her bathroom…and gently explain to her where the toilet paper, the shampoos, the q-tips, the toilet cleaner is kept. That’s another subtle way of doing it without being mean. There are indirect ways of confronting an issue where you either don’t have to say anything…OR…you bring up a matter in a very calm and casual/non-confrontational manner so it’s more like a hint.
Ok here’s an idea. If you have little kids…have them go into Dadi’s room and pretend to clean the toilet bowl with the brush. Dadi comes in and says “What are you both doing?” That’s when they “innocently” say…“Dadi, we came in here to get something and saw the toilet was yucky, so we wanted to help you out and clean it for you.” Kids…don’t they say the darndest things? :halo: Maybe she’ll get the idea. That way she’ll also learn about the toilet brush. Seriously, it’s much more cute and fun to learn from the kiddies than the evil DIL.
I am confused. What kind of a toilet is this? Don’t you have that flush system?
One press or click and the crap is gone from the bowl?
Also as for the smell in the loo, use that toilet fresheners, either stick it somewhere in the loo or use the one that attaches to the toilet seat, so whenever you flush, it will disinfect and give off nice fragrance at the same time.
Get a handy air freshener bottle and place it prominently in the loo and whenever your MIL uses the loo, use the spray in front of her. If she asks why, tell her you like your toilets smelling nice all the time. LOL. I would love to see the reaction on her face.
Yeh, do get her a perfume. Gift her all beauty and hygienic stuff. Tell her what an awesome experience taking a bath is. With bath oils and stuff. Tell her that you do it all the time and you feel relaxed etc all the time. It makes you feel better. Hopefully she would get the idea that she needs to take a bath or shower, hopefully she won’t smell or as much.
LOL RV!!
I like the idea:rotfl:
^LM........I think she means where even when you flush..........erm.....some of the gunk doesn't flush away perhaps and just sticks to the toilet bowl. (Sorry for the image) It's a sensitive subject...i can see how it can be awkward.
But agree with Aisha above. Use air refreshers. Scented candles. You can even use the glade or Bath and Body Works scented wallflower plug-ins (those are awesome).
Maybe you can do the laundry for MIL. Or tell her to put her clothes in the hamper and then you can toss em in the washing machine...so the clothes are fresh.
Could the toilet issue be the result of a stomach problem? Don't know how you'd approach that.....but medicines can help with that..so can dietary changes. Think of other ways to handle the problem as opposed to confronting her about a very delicate matter.
She’s in the UK, so I think instead of Bath and Body Works it would be Body Shop or Boots. I would say, deck out the loo so much that she feels guilty even using it! ![]()
Get towels, candles, keep it looking and smelling nice, slowly I hope she would think that it’s her responsibility too to see if it’s clean and looking proper.
Err oh okay. Yeh that does happen sometimes. I guess if nothing works, and she is here just for a short while, then bear with it. Just think you are doing this for your husband.
Wear a surgical mask and then go in to the loo lol.
"pretend scold" your kids about leaving the toilet dirty in the presence of your MIL. what has life1 done to me : O
MILs come for an extended holiday to UK and is staying with us. i don't want her here and she knows it but that's another issue. The point of this thread is that she doesn't wash often enough and she smells also, the worse thing is the state that she leaves the toilet in! why should i clean her [EMAIL="sh@t"]sh@t!!! Now, my question is how do I introduce her to the toilet brush!!
have a grownup to grownup chat with your husband, and have him talk to her.
MILs come for an extended holiday to UK and is staying with us. i don't want her here and she knows it but that's another issue. The point of this thread is that she doesn't wash often enough and she smells also, the worse thing is the state that she leaves the toilet in! why should i clean her [EMAIL="sh@t"]sh@t!!! Now, my question is how do I introduce her to the toilet brush!!
Kia UK main rehnay walay sub log hi unfriendly n uninviting hotay hain or its just u n nadz?
^There should be an emoticon with a smiley...... the kind of awkward smiley where you know zabardast patakhay might take place soon.....but you don't know what to say.....so you just hum a random tune....or look at the floor.....or clear your throat......or look at the ceiling......before reaching for the bag of popcorn.
^LM........I think she means where even when you flush..........erm.....some of the gunk doesn't flush away perhaps and just sticks to the toilet bowl. (Sorry for the image) It's a sensitive subject...i can see how it can be awkward.
But agree with Aisha above. Use air refreshers. Scented candles. You can even use the glade or Bath and Body Works scented wallflower plug-ins (those are awesome).
Maybe you can do the laundry for MIL. Or tell her to put her clothes in the hamper and then you can toss em in the washing machine...so the clothes are fresh.
Could the toilet issue be the result of a stomach problem? Don't know how you'd approach that.....but medicines can help with that..so can dietary changes. Think of other ways to handle the problem as opposed to confronting her about a very delicate matter.
i dunno abt UK but she can use toilet tablets w/ bleach that automatically cleans with every flush. also bowel cleaner n deodorizers come in spray form. u just clip them on the toilet n they do the job..
I reckon Nadz is not even going to see this thread.
^There should be an emoticon with a smiley...... the kind of awkward smiley where you know zabardast patakhay might take place soon.....but you don't know what to say.....so you just hum a random tune....or look at the floor.....or clear your throat......or look at the ceiling......before reaching for the bag of popcorn.
i dunno abt UK but she can use toilet tablets w/ bleach that automatically cleans with every flush. also bowel cleaner n deodorizers come in spray form. u just clip them on the toilet n they do the job..
^Those are good ideas...as far as the toilet is concerned. I haven't used the bleach tablets...we use the bleach solution instead. As far as the "she smells" issue goes......there are air refreshers or plug-ins that people use all the time just to keep the home smelling nice and not because someone has an unpleasant odor. It could be a laundry issue...maybe she's not washing her clothes often....or doesn't want to cause Ajuba or her son any trouble and is not washing them....who knows? In that case, even doing the laundry regularly can help. Could it be that MIL is using skin and hair products (such as oil) that has a pungent aroma? Or perhaps it's a digestive/stomach issue. People can even emit an odor when they're sick. As said before, it's a sensitive issue, do what you can around the house, and approach the matter tactfully. If MIL's own son (husband) was to discuss the issue with his mom......even that can be a sticky situation, there's a chance that might not go down too well.
OK as for smell issue some ppl smell naturally. no matter they take shower daily or even use deodorants ( now elderly ppl don’t use that do they?) they smell after a while as soon as they perspire. all ajuba can do is use a lil lovey gesture and ask her to change using some excuse( lets go out, or i’m doing laundary or guests r coming etc ) or she can be blunt n tell her ( thou not rudely) that she smells n should change ![]()
On a side note stay away from mil, don’t hug her too often n sit 5-6 inches away.
double post
^Yaar, Mabs…You can take a hold of MIL’s hand and lovingly pat it…and tilt your head and look at her with so much tenderness as if she were an adorable fluffy kitten…and say to her with the sweetest smile, “Ammi aap se budboo aa rahi hai…kyoon na aap kaparay change kar lain?” Patakhay will take place…and I’m going to be so bummed that I missed the scene. ![]()
I’m not sure if there is even a “nice” way to say this. You can b the most loving soul in the world…you can fart rainbows and hearts. Lekin phir bhi…the other person might take offense.
she will not like it obviously but it will be just one time. if she has some pride she'll take care next time, if she's stubborn like most mils she'll try her best to knock ajuba down with her smell.
Wahi to! And if the husband gets offended...that two people you have to deal with who can knock you down.
since today i’m in devilish mood ajuba can tell her mil that she had a fight with one of her friends coz she was making fun of mil’s smell so ajuba has cut off ties with that lady for ever. ![]()
This is one nasty ass thread. Gotta give you props though for even putting up with your MIL like that. Some wives just leave to go stay at a friends house, or lock themselves in their room until the dudes parents leave.
LMAO…that’s awesome. This can work. Only one glitch though. The friend would have “see” MIL in order to complain about her smell. And MIL would have to “see” the friend. If it’s a fake friend, then MIL might say…“Mainay to tumhari kisi bhi friend ko nahin dekha. Mujh se to koi milne aaya hi nahi.” So, she’ll have to pick a friend that MIL has seen.
Other problem is that if husband gets involved…then he might break all contact with this friend.
Soo…I suggest using a friend that both husband and wife don’t like. Pick a dushman instead.
OR…wouldn’t it be eaiser if MIL went to hug the kids…and the kids squirm away from her and say “Dadi you smell funny”…bachay man k sachay…so innocent they say anything (especially if you pay them.,…shhh)