Military officers cancel trip after humiliation at US airport

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/front-page/06-military-officers-cancel-trip-after-humiliation-at-us-airport-190-rs-08

WASHINGTON: A Pakistani military delegation became the latest victim of the paranoia permeating US airports on Monday night, when US security officials detained a brigadier at Washington’s Dulles airport on a complaint by a passenger who said he did not feel safe sharing the flight with the delegation.

The brigadier was removed from the United Airlines flight, and others in this eight-member delegation were also detained after they disembarked. They were later released.

The dispute became a major diplomatic row as the delegation, offended by this treatment, decided to cancel an important meeting at the headquarters of the US Central Command in Tampa, Florida, on Tuesday, and return home.

By the time the US Department of Defence apologised to the delegation, their leader, a two-star naval officer, had already informed Islamabad where officials approved his decision to return home on Tuesday night.

The delegation included senior officials from all three services, the army, the navy and the air force.

Dawn contacted the US Transport Security Administration, whose officials had detained the brigadier, and the Department of Homeland Security but failed to get a response.

Mathew Chandler, a DHS spokesman, and Lauren Gaches of TSA, however, asked Dawn to contact the airline.

**United Airlines officials, however, told the US media that the brigadier, whose name was not disclosed, had misbehaved with a stewardess and told her that “this would be her last mission”. **

**Information collected by Dawn showed that the incident that led to the cancellation of the meeting happened at Washington’s Dulles airport on Monday night when a passenger on the flight to Tampa complained that a Pakistani brigadier, while talking to his colleagues, had made remarks that he found threatening. **

Officials of the airline informed the Transport Security Administration who detained the brigadier and later other officials as well.

A Pakistani official, when asked to comment on the airline’s claim, said: “This is a delegation of senior officials, led by a two-star officer, not unit captains and majors. Such responsible officers do not indulge in such behaviour.”

Information collected by Dawn also confirmed the Pakistani claim as the plane was delayed for 40 minutes before the airline’s mentioned the alleged altercation between the brigadier and the stewardess.

Later, an official of the airline came with a TSA security officer and asked the brigadier to disembark. She gave no reason.

The head of the delegation asked the brigadier to get down and cooperate with the TSA. The brigadier disclosed his identity.

There was no response for about 15-20 minutes and then the airline and security officials asked the entire delegation to get off the plane.

The leader of the Pakistani delegation showed TSA officials an invitation letter from the Centcom, confirming that they were going to Tampa for a meeting. He also showed them all the passports that identified the delegation as senior military officers.

He then requested to talk to a senior TSA official or the person in-charge of security at the airport but his request was turned down.

“They did not let them speak and treated them like terrorists,” said a Pakistani official. “The investigators were unprofessional, junior officials.”

The official said that the TSA and airlines officials kept telling the delegation that a passenger found the brigadier’s remarks threatening but did not say what those remarks were.

“The delegation was detained for two hours, telling them nothing, not allowing them to talk to anyone,” said the Pakistani official.

“They received no response even when they showed them their passports and the Centcom letter,” the official said.

“At the end, they realised their mistake and apologised but by then the delegation had decided it did not want to take that flight.”

Explaining why the delegation decided to cancel the meeting and return home, the official said it was basically because of the humiliating treatment by the TSA and airline staff.

“They could not prove any of the allegations. What we gathered is that one of the passengers became paranoid, so they decided to detain an official delegation. This is an issue of paranoia,” said the official who said the Pakistani forces will hold their own inquiry to determine what caused this humiliating behaviour.

In Islamabad, the Inter Services Public Relations said: “A Pakistani military delegation on a visit to US (on US invitation to attend a meeting at Centcom) was subjected to unwarranted security checks at Washington airport by US Transport Security Agency. Later, the delegation was cleared and US defence officials regretted the incident. However, as a result of these checks, military authorities in Pakistan decided to cancel the visit and call the delegation back.”

Brigadier uncle yeh PIA ke stewardess nahi hai jo aap ke raub mien a jaiye gi… :cb:

Usual paranoia from amreekans and usual arrogance from brigadier saab

Re: Military officers cancel trip after humiliation at US airport

so, the unit captains and majors DO indulge in harassing stewardesses ?

Brigadiers and above misbehave with rest of the civilians?

where there is smoke
there has to be a fire somewhere :hmmm:

Don't worry, america only has to extend his shoe and this same brig sahab would gladly polish it as long as us allows it to enjoy a visit of us again.

Most of these brigadiers have extreme ego issues, free ka ticket tha is leiye wapis agaya.
What was he expecting? a 21 gun salute and protocol?
If this had happened to mr brigadier in pakistan i wonder how many people would have lost their jobs.

btw what a retarded thing to say to a stewardess “this would be her last mission”

And people wonder why I say you edited have no faith in the Pakistani people. That is one line in an entire article and that is all you focus on. ABCDs no faith in Pakistan or Pakistanis.

This is the 4th incident I have heard of in the past 2 years. So maybe you deleted who post in political affairs should focus on that.

Feel free to give me points for this, but this deleted is beyond belief. deleted

WTH.. all posters in this thread just focused on one line said by the air liner and have no comments on the case of paranoia...

Sorry asses, believes whatever gori chamri has to say.. wonder how would these sorry asses would react if they are in line of fire???

I am just glad it happened to a brigadier getting dissed by 3rd grade security officials, most of them are used to treating pakistani civilians like crap, army elite refer to commoners as 'bloody civilians'...
And whats the big deal, stand in the line like everyone else unless there are special arrangement especially for you.

Abay deleted. You ever been to a US military base? We are bloody civilians there as well. Hell we are treated worse than civilians. It is standard for any military. edited
Hand over your Pakistani passports if you have them. You don't deserve them.

If you have one then we can talk...

anyway good to see the brigadier got his ego checked...

This is the 4th incident I have heard of in the past 2 years

how many more time will it take for them to understand that they are not welcome there so no need to go...

the mere fact that there was an apology issued by the US dept of defense to the delegation, goes to show this was a major blunder indeed. rest is hearsay and conjecture, excellent decision to return.

Instead of gali galoch, I think this matter be thoroughly investigated by defence ministry, actually what happened? Wasting Pakistani hard earned foreign exchange was absolutely not justified. They should have attended the meeting and brought this matter to senior officials in the meeting for an appropriate action. The cancellation of meeting was totally uncalled for. In America they have full authority to deny entry of ANY person for the security reasons, whether you like it or not. If you don't like it NEVER come to America.

Looks like another sticky poll in the offing by the moderators. Right Decision or Wrong Decision. :)

^ it may, which nick are you going to use to vote?

considering there was zilch proof against the treatment they received, it was an excellent decision. what needs addressing is this ridiculous fear mongering and paranoi by moronic passengers.

“They could not prove any of the allegations. What we gathered is that one of the passengers became paranoid, so they decided to detain an official delegation. This is an issue of paranoia,” said the official who said the Pakistani forces will hold their own inquiry to determine what caused this humiliating behaviour.

Later, the delegation was cleared and US defence officials regretted the incident.

PatriotX,

I am refering to post #6 and post #9, nothing to do with the news ariticle.

then stick to the topic

I have only one nick which is my real name too. Don't be personal and stick to the topic.

Blue once upon a time. Now Green. That is what I travel on. Now hand it over.

sachaydino banned how many times now? Seriously some people have self-respect even over the internet.

Did you read what the 'Pakistani official' said?

I am a personal witness to disgusting mistreatments to Ticket Collectors in Pakistani trains and Traffic Police officials by our dear Captains and Majors. I am a witness to a brigadier threatening to close down a private university in Lahore if his daughter was not admitted and he did manage to obstruct construction of additional campus building of that university because the admission was rejected. The stories go on. Did you read about Army demanding compensation for use of helicopters for flood relief? Where did the money for those helicopters come from?

They do believe they are above any law. When you are **outside military base or GHQ, you obey the laws **of the land.